We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfer Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Surfer Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Ronan, Montana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

For the price, this is the best bet at Mission Bay. Right on the beach, this is not my favorite beach, lots and lots of kelp/seaweed in piles on the beach and in the waves, kind of gross. But close to everything. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. NO air conditioning so make sure to make use of the fans at night available in the closet. We were there in June and it was already getting pretty hot. Housekeeping cannot count though. Every time we could only get 3 towels for the 4 of us. We left them on the rack to preserve water...they took them all and left 3 (twice). We always had to ask for more and they promptly brought us 3 more (only needed one), next day housekeeping took even the clean ones and you guess it left us 3! Parking is a nightmare. PAY FOR PARKING, we saw many cars being towed that did not have parking passes, whether they were guests or not, not sure. But trust me $15 a day is worth it when there is no parking. We paid for parking but there was none available in their lot! Daniel said he would comp us a day and it would pay for the underground parking next door until a space came available. Then an employee gave us his space, until one showed up. Daniel and the parking lot fellows DO NOT get paid enough to work here. Talk about rude customers and parkers without passes freaking out about getting towed when signs everywhere said they will get towed. We actually took some guilty pleasure in watching the cars get towed that didn't pay. Daniel was obviously stressed out, but was great with us and helped us out a lot. Good job man! If you don't have a reservation for the on ground restaurant, good luck, you will wait 2+ hours. We opted for street tacos at a local vendor (super yummy and way cheaper than the restaurant) and watched a man juggle fire on the beach. Great stay and will be back! Thanks!

Room Tip: PAY FOR PARKING, there is none if you don't. Get reservations if you want to eat at the on prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Iscordis,

We appreciate the kind comments and your thoughts about the Surfer. I will pass along your compliments to Daniel. I will also be addressing the concerns about the towels with the Housekeeping Department. It is with detailed comments like this that we constantly look to improve our standards at the Surfer.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    109
    66
    38
    45
See reviews for
91
97
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night and wish we would have stayed longer. We had a blast! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location can't be beat. There are tons to do close by which is a huge plus. We loved it and will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear TLogue1,

Thank you for the five-star review. Our beachfront location is the reason guests first choose the Surfer but our staff and their service is how we get guests to come back again and again. We hope you become one of our favorite repeat guests! Thanks again,

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I wanted to be on the beach with an ocean view and easy access to dining for our recent San Diego trip. This hotel definitely delivers on that! You are literally steps to the beach and boardwalk, and there are several dining and bar options in the area. If you want nicer rooms and amenities and are not so picky about the ocean location, there are other options for that nearby. This was our first time staying on Pacific Beach and while there is certainly a young, party crowd, there were also plenty of families and we never felt out of place (we are in our late thirties).

While the room showed some wear and the effects of ocean air, it was clean and functional, with an ocean view from the bed and balcony! The accommodation is pricey for the quality, but it is a trade off for location and we were comfortable with that. There are no AC units in the rooms. One night the room got pretty warm (and we are from Phoenix so no exaggeration). We put the provided box fan in front of the screen door with the patio door open and this was more than enough to cool the room. Obviously this might pose a security concern for some, particularly on the 1st floor. Also there was a young man shouting a very charming party invite to some girls across the pool which we heard quite clearly with the door open. We just chuckled, but if I had a sleeping child it might not have been so amusing.

The service was... decent. There was a bit of confusion on our reservation and I did not get the feeling anyone was too concerned with accommodating us (as is typical when you use a booking website), but it did get resolved to our satisfaction in the end. The $15/day parking spaces are small, but it was not a problem for our Prius. I will review the restaurant separately, but be prepared for some service mishaps and delays during peak season there as I think they have a lot of unseasoned staff. However, if you can get a patio table at sunset, do it! the beach view and people watching cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have easiest pool and beach access, but may make it difficult to keep the door op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Bkosten,

Thanks for the positive review. We appreciate you sharing your trip and memories with potential guests. I am happy that the situation with your booking was resolved to your satisfaction. Thank you for choosing the Surfer Beach Hotel.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I am a repeat customer because of the location but also because of the staff! They are very friendly and helpful!the rooms are clean and they all seem to have a view! The pool area was very clean and I liked the limited access

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Michelelittle21,

Thank you for the five star review. We really appreciate your compliments about the staff. We have a strong team who are very proud to share the Surfer with our guests. It is wonderful that they make such a positive impact each time you visit. We thank you for your repeat patronage.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We ended up at Surfer Beach Hotel after we canceled our suite at a different hotel close of Marine World, as we decided to be closer of the beach. I was impressed at the beginning , the clerk who answered the phone was very patient with me as we decided at the breakfast table in Los Angeles with the whole family when, and what rooms we need for our stay and for how long . I found out later that his name is Umit, he kept the same patience with us at the checking in. A second surprise was the front desk lady, Laura, which was the nicest hotel clerk that we met. She was helpful with our accommodation , as we decided to extend our visit with two days and every time we asked for a restaurant or surroundings to visit she helped with the best recomandation , she offered an excellent service. The room's view was breathtaking , at the ocean and we plan to come back in September , we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Doisavin,

Thank you for the five star review! The Front Office Manager, Umit and our Front Desk Agent, Laura are fantastic members of our team and are always providing exceptional service to our guests. Thank you for recognizing them as we do share all of the reviews with the entire staff and it is great to see our associates being called out. I am glad that you were able to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My family stayed at the Surfer Beach Hotel for a long weekend stay and really enjoyed ourselves. My first time; repeat visit for my daughter.

Things we loved:
*LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - walk out the pool gate and you are on the beach : ) with many restaurants and shops nearby including sharing property with World Famous and Woody's next door
*Staff - staff was very friendly and helpful
*Humor - ear plugs on nightstand with a note about using the ear plugs if you find the crashing waves keep you up at night : )
*Sink/counter outside of bathroom (as a family traveling we love this ... more of us can be getting ready at the same time)
*Refrigerator in room (always handy)

Things to be aware of:
*This is an older property on the beach - subject to salt/water/sand every day (same as the other properties in the area) - if you are looking for a 5-star hotel you'll be disappointed.
*No A/C, but a fan is provided. We visited the first weekend in June and were very comfortable.
*Standing shower only (and a bit dark)/no tub

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear dhyink01,

Thank you taking the time to share your memories of the Surfer Beach Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am especially happy to see that our staff made such a nice impression on you. They work hard and it is great to see them recognized for their efforts. Thanks again for staying with and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the last week of May 2014. Having a large family with small children we made reservations for two rooms and we asked them to be next to each other. When we got there we found out the rooms where not anywhere close to each other. We knew this was just a request and they were not obligated to honor it, but we hoped we can get the adjacent rooms so we can keep an eye on the kids. It turned out that the hotel was booked 100% and it was next to impossible to get rooms next to each other.
Luckily for us the receptionist (Laura) did everything possible and while we spent the first night in rooms far away from each other, the next day Laura moved us in two rooms next to each other. As an added bonus, these rooms were nicer with a better view. We are clients for a long time now and we know these rooms were the best in the hotel and for that we thank Laura. You made our stay. Thank you:)

Room Tip: Talk to Laura when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear DanaMarius,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are very thankful as well for the care and concern that Laura shows to our guests. She has been a part of our time for a long-time and embodies what the Surfer offers to all of our guests: true hospitality and excellent service. Thanks for coming baco to the Surfer time and again and we look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfer Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.