We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - perfect accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sommerset Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sommerset Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sommerset Suites Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Washington St., San Diego, CA 92103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
East Peoria, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location - perfect accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed in May with my 3 adult daughters and granddaughter. The suite was perfect for our 5 day stay, especially for my special needs daughter and her wheelchair. The staff were accommodating from check-in to check-out. The pool & patio provide a refreshing retreat. Our favorite feature was the location. We were able to walk to shops, bars, eateries. I recommend the Sunday Farmers Market for a taste of local farmer's goods. Also recommend Martini's Above 4th for drinks. Tommy the bartender is the best!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aron G, General Manager at Sommerset Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dearjbaby62,

Exceeding expectations is our goal at the Somerset Suites Hotel! Our team takes great pride in providing services and amenities that allow our guests to have a nice relaxing and enjoyable stay. I am so glad you were able to experience this! We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Best Regards,

Aron Gokhan Gunver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    162
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
193
90
44
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place was perfect for our family stay. Only 5 minutes from the zoo and kobey swap meet. It also has covered parking. They had a bbq on Friday night with great free food and free beer! And then with the continental breakfast it saved us a bit of money. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. We will definitely be staying again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Sommerset is centrally-located, close to the most diverse and trendy restaurants. Easy access to the Gas Lamp area, theatre, Balboa Park, baseball, football and all levels of shopping. The place to stay is you want a quiet, restful stay or if you're going for a weened to party hard. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our family loves this hotel and its wonderful staff. Bonita is a treasure to the front desk, however, that said all the front desk personnel and staff were always upbeat and truly helpful. When we checked in we were upgraded to a large corner suite. The extra room was greatly appreciated. The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean and airy.

Even though the hotel is between two hospitals, we were never bothered by the sound of the ambulances. We felt the rooms had good sound proofing, however our room was in the back away from the street. I have to say that for varying reasons that the staff went to great lengths to accommodate us. Kudos to all of them. The young lady who manages the dining room does a great job. She kept everything well stocked and always had a smile for guests. My only preference for food would have been scrambled eggs, not hard boiled eggs.

The hotel is located in a wonderful area. I loved the fact that it was within walking distance to the Whole Foods Store and Rite Aid when I needed them. There are so many different styles of restaurants within walking distance. It was hard to make up our minds where we wanted to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there twice and loved it each time. We will defintely come back in the future. Their maids were nice, and their service was fast. We loved the pool and spa. Good resturants, and fun attractions surround it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

As a family we stayed here in two separate suites and wow! Huge, like a one bedroom apartment..If you're planning a family trip to San Diego for things like: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, USS Midway Museum...This is your base of operations. Very close to all attractions and great for the family. They even have gas BBQ's available to cook your own steaks..
Go here, you'll be happy...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I have written more than a few reviews of prolonged stays at the Sommerset because, it is such a sweet deal, the best value we have found in San Diego. The constant features remain in place: excellent location, friendly atmosphere, professional hostelers in every important way. Yet somehow they manage to continually sharpen their approach to accommodating guests. The key to this success, I believe, is that they listen to and learn from their clientele. What's more, they have remodeled the most trafficked areas with (to my mind) superb taste. A very restful stay. I have rated the restaurant "only" as very good, so as to not appear robotic in my praise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aron G, General Manager at Sommerset Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear AshlandBob, Thank you so much for your glowing review! I am so glad to hear you have a memorable experience each and every time you visit. Our team greatly appreciates your review and being a loyal guest. We look forward to seeing you very soon!

Aron Gokhan Gunver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sommerset Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sommerset Suites Hotel

Address: 606 Washington St., San Diego, CA 92103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sommerset Suites Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy a variety of complimentary services and amenities, like Wi-Fi, deluxe continental breakfast each morning and access to our refreshing outdoor pool and spa with BBQ pits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sommerset Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sommerset Hotel San Diego
Sommerset San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sommerset Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.