We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sommerset Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sommerset Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sommerset Suites Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Washington St., San Diego, CA 92103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
“Very good located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Sommerset is very good located. In the heart of Hillcrest, Several good restaurants, caffee shops and bars in the area. Rooms are good, very clean and a very good and friendly staff in all areas. I have been there several times in the last twoo years and I do recommend if you want to experience the spirit of Hillcrest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viridiana z, Manager at Sommerset Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post this lovely review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. We are looking forward in assisting you when your travels brings you back to San Diego.

Yours in Hospitality,
Viridiana Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    158
    39
    18
    8
See reviews for
186
87
44
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Aron runs a well lubricated staff from the front desk to housekeeping. It was centrally located for my purposes. The beds are great! I went due to a family emergency. Ian, in particular, kept me laughing. The rooms are clean and absolutely everything I needed was provided for. This was a plus as I was post op knee surgery. Mucho mahalo Sommerset staff. Job well done. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viridiana z, Manager at Sommerset Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Bonnie S,

We Appreciate the wonderful review. Our staff works hard to ensure each guest has an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We appreciate your feedback and appreciate your loyalty to Sommerset Suites. Please contact us when your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Yours in Hospitality,
Viridiana Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great Value, Great Location and exceptionally great staff. We were pleased at how clean and comfortable the suite was. Well maintained property and everyone we encountered was so nice and willing to go extra steps to make our stay pleasant. Even the laundry facility was well-lit, spacious and extremely reasonably priced for washing and drying. We even received a very detailed walking map of the area to find local restaurants. While the property might not be new and fancy, the suite was clean, well-stocked and the bed very comfortable. If we ever get back to the area, we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed 4 nights on a trip from Australia. We found all the staff very pleasant. From an early check in to the cheerful breakfast attendant and cleaning staff. We booked the suite which was very comfortable.

If you want to explore Hilcrest and Balboa park this place is for you.

This hotel is close to the hospital and a busy rd, but we found the soundproofing to be excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location is perfect for Hillcrest, and was suitable for us to walk to Balboa Park (a couple of miles). The room was spacious, with exceptional facilities (range, oven, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, plates, cups, utensils). Also, as one of us has a spinal cord injury, we were in a handicapped accessible room, and it was truly very accessible. The pool and hot tub also had their own wheelchair lifts--have never seen this anywhere else. Staff were very courteous and helpful. We would definitely enjoy staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great place to stay, excellent location, love, love staying here. Always my first choice when I visit San Diego. Will definitely stay here again. Very nice suites, like home away from home. Great kitchen, has everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great Location!!!! Well Maintained Rooms, Desk Personnel Incredibly Pleasant and Helpful. Yes, it is near a Medical Clinic and Hospital Complex, and there are OCCASIONAL Sirens, but they do diminish substantially around 10:00 p.m. It may not be as "fancy" as some of the more "Modern" or "Incredibly Fancy" Hotels closer to the Marina or the Landing further south, but it is FAR More Reasonable regarding Affordability, and it is adjacent to the really pleasant Hillcrest Neighborhood, which has a LOT of Really Great Restaurants, Cafes, Bistros and Bars w. Live Local Music. Feels like I am Really Part of S.D., not just at another Large and Expensive "Convention Hotel". I would strongly Encourage Travelers to Consider This Location, Unless they find they REALLY NEED to Stay "On-Site" at the Hotel Nearest Their Meeting. Thanks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sommerset Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sommerset Suites Hotel

Address: 606 Washington St., San Diego, CA 92103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sommerset Suites Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy a variety of complimentary services and amenities, like Wi-Fi, deluxe continental breakfast each morning and access to our refreshing outdoor pool and spa with BBQ pits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sommerset Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sommerset Hotel San Diego
Sommerset San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sommerset Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.