We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Wedding night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach and Breakfast Pkg
Ranked #5 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Wedding night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Presidential Suite for our wedding night and it was nothing short of amazing. The wonderful staff left us a complementary bottle of Chardonnay with a card congratulating us and thanking us for our patronage. Not to mention giving my mom and I a short tour of the room the week before, when we stopped by to make sure it was a decent choice for the big day (Having only read reviews online about it). The front desk staff is young, cheerful and very accomodating. When my husband and I arrived after our wedding, we were greeted and given fresh baked cookies and some fruit to snack on. After a quick check-in we headed to our room. It's a smaller hotel than we've stayed in before, but it had a nice "private" feeling to it, perhaps due to the size and more upscale decor. We had a perfect view of the pool area and the ocean from our top floor, centre room suite. It was incredible falling asleep and waking up to the gentle sound of the Pacific Ocean right outside our large balcony window. In fact, the way the room and bed are positioned, we could actually watch the ocean as we lie in bed. It was far enough into the room, however, that there was no worry of anyone outside looking in. The spa tub in suite was huge and extremely comfortable, easily fitting my 6'2" husband and my 5'2" self with room to spare. The toiletries were nice and they provided toothbrushes and toothpaste in addition to the usual upscale soaps, hair products and lotions. Our toilet did stop working after one use, but after a quick call to the front desk, an "Engineer" came and fixed it within minutes. We were very impressed.

For all the bigger name hotels we could've picked for our wedding night in San Diego, we're both in agreement that we made the best choice going with a smaller, but perhaps more detail-oriented hotel such as the Pacific Terrace. We'll certainly be back next November to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    255
    57
    38
    25
See reviews for
534
555
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel for 5 nights. We chose this hotel based upon the reviews in Tripadviser. It was a superb experience. The room was spotless; the service was incredible. We stayed in an oceanfront room and enjoyed sitting out on the balcony watching the sunrise and sunsets. We like to take public transportation; the bus stops one short block from the hotel. Also, for those of you who like to swim, the pool is extremely well kept and warm; the jacuzzi is fantastic. If you like to walk, there is a long boardwalk adjacent to the hotel. I will always cherish my memories of this hotel and the beauties of San Diego and environs.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

The Pacific Terrace has THE BEST staff of ANY place we've EVER stayed. They are sincerely warm, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and they remember you -- not only from the day before, but from years previous! And that's just the icing on the cake -- you can't beat the location -- literally a stone's throw from the beach, easy access to freeways and San Diego tourist sites -- and the town of Pacific Beach itself is a very friendly, laid-back, AFFORDABLE place to vacation. Will we be back?? You betcha!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We came to the Pacific Terrace hotel with the extended family. It worked out perfectly for us. The staff was very helpful -- the concierge Katherine set up terrific restaurant reservations, a fun whale watching trip, and had other recommendations of things to do. The suite was a little small, but it worked to have a place to meet. We loved having a pool and hot tub. The hotel was quiet, but very close to downtown San Diego and other local attractions (like Torrey Pines). All in all, we had a great sunny Christmas holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

When you drive up to the hotel you can't miss it, since it is at the beach. The room was very, very tastefully decorated and did not seem like a hotel room, more like a room you might have in your house. Our room had a balcony facing the beach and, except for occasionally when people walked by, was quiet.
The staff was exceptional. They were very friendly throughout our visit and reminded me of the sort of service you get at the highest end hotels.
Pacific Beach is not exactly close to much, but if you want a couple of nights away from it all this is an excellent choice. We go to San Diego quite often and definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River Wyoming
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Pretty good place, not the best place ive ever stayed, but its pretty good. The staff there was some of the best ive saw in a long time as far as American hotels go. Everyone that works there did a great job taking care of us. Service goes a long way there!

We picked this place because we wanted to be on the ocean with the waves, vs staying in some bay. Location is great as far as that goes, its a bit of a hike to any store that sells beer, smokes, soda, and snacks, or place to sit down and eat.

Pool is a bit smaller then the pictures make it out to be, big enough i guess. Breakfast there was great, good food and great coffee. Great place to come back to after going to Seaworld and the Zoo. Our two year old daughter had a good time while we were here. Good place for family with young kids.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

This is the third time I have stayed at The Pacific Terrace Hotel. It has been consistently pleasurable. The location is convenient to shopping, restaurants, of course the ocean, all the happenings on the boardwalk, yet peaceful enough to return to for rest and relaxation. A car is not needed for the immediate area. The hotel is more than helpful in regard to any aspect of a person's stay. What I found most amazing and impressive, was that the staff, regardless of the shift or position of a staff member, each one was genuinely honest, friendly, caring and always ready to make your stay even better! They know you on a first and last name basis within a day! I have visited other establishments, but returned to the Pacific Terrace and will continue to do so. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for an enjoyable visit each and every time! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and BookIt.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.