We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Romantic ocean hotel!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“Best Romantic ocean hotel!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the coziness AND first class service. The decor was superb and the 'turn down' service was beautifully done. Even though the weather was foggy and cloudy the ocean was perfectly viewed from our room! We also liked the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to go 'above and beyond'.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    230
    51
    38
    25
See reviews for
501
516
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Just spent a week here with my wife. Unbelievably relaxing place to hang out. Hotel service friendly and efficient. Location on the beach is perfect. Beautiful rooms. Highly recommend the ocean view king suite The pool great. Could not find one thing to complain about except $20 a night for secure parking. Make sure you rent a cruiser bike around the corner with a discount coupon from the front desk. Lots of free parking on the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Location, location, location. This is perfect if you're looking to stay right on Pacific Beach. Walk out the door by the pool and there you are. Our room was spacious and clean with a balcony that opened to the pool, hot tub and beach. The front desk and maintenence personnel are outstanding! Special kudos to Pat and David. (Mtnc came up to put in a new lightbulb- we didn't notice it was out). We will certainly be back to this one!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

From check in to check out we had great service. The staff always had a smile-all of the staff. Front desk answered all questions, got us where we wanted to go without one problem. By mistake we left expensive jewelry out in the bathroom one day, not touched, trusted the maid like no other we have experienced.
Beautiful room, Great view. Only problem was the weather, but we're not willing to blame the hotel.
This is the only place we'll ever stay in SanDiego! Exceptional! Thank You Pacific Terrace.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were able to stay for 2 nights and received the 3rd night free. When we arrived, it was raining, so we upgraded to the jacuzzi suite for an extra $30/night...great value! The rooms were huge and even the partial ocean view rooms had a great view. We spent quite a lot of time on our covered balcony...such an awesome view. The bathrooms are huge with a beautiful tile shower and huge vanity area. The pool was warm and had a great view from its location - unfortunately it was too cold to use it. We did splurge on a couples massage. They felt wonderful, but the location of the "spa" area was right off of the workout room and right inside of the parking area...so it was incredibly noisy, which did take away from the relaxation. We did have to close our sliders in the morning as well as there were lots of garbage trucks, sirens, car horns, etc. so, way too noisy to sleep with the door open. However, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Pacific Terrace defines itself by its four star rating, however, the condition of the hotel, lack of fitness facilities and mediocre front desk staff might be found in a Best Western and not a property defined by four star luxury. The views are quite nice and the pool facilities are not as nice as the Marriott in San Diego but nicely maintained.

The rooms are what you might expect in a Best Western but have disguised the inside with plank boards on the ceiling and furniture so large that as a six foot guy I literally have to jump down from the bed onto a carpet that has seen better days or a few homicides...not really sure what that pattern is or if it is a collection of brown stains on what was a golden carpet with palm trees or something...

Point is, the rooms are barely adequate and could use a significant updating and please would somebody take-out the stinky 1970's carpet!

All gratuitous, however, rightly deserved comments aside the assistant manager has been very accommodating and the service staff has been very kind and clearly takes a lot of pride in their work.

I was hesitantly recommend this Hotel for the views, sounds of the ocean at night and generally fun place for a family to hang-out for a few days. Business travelers will not find this Hotel akin to the Omni, Marriott or Hard Rock in town with its slow internet access and lack of a (real) fitness facility....and no a 12 by 12 foot room in the parking garage is not a gym just because the placard on the wall states, "fitness facility!"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and for your valuable feedback. In addition to the overwhelming amount of positive reviews, our team enjoys reading the constructive comments as they are very proud of the Four Diamond award they receive annually from the AAA Association.
The equipment in our Fitness Center including the treadmill, elliptical and stationary bike along with 2 versatile weight machines stability balls and full rack of free weights are actually new from our most recent renovation. We’re so sorry you had problems getting in and out of the beds; we do keep a 2-step staircase in each closet for our guest's use.
The guest room carpet was replaced this year and is maintained after each departure.
Thank you again for your sharing your concerns and we appreciate the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We chose to stay at the Pacific Terrace based on the numerous accolades I read on TripAdvisor. It is everything we hoped for and more! It's difficult to say what the best part of the hotel is - the staff, the location, the amenities, room comfort, the service, housekeeping, secure parking, concierge, grounds/landscaping, pool/hot tub are all fabulous. We had only one suggestion upon checkout - they really could use more hooks in the room to hang towels. We would definitely return to the Pacific Terrace and are happy to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.