We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would absolutely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach and Breakfast Pkg
Ranked #3 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would absolutely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

The rooms are spacious and clean and lovely. The service is amazing- we were always treated well, all staff was friendly and they went out of their way to make sure things were going well for us. The view was beautfiul and this may be the only quality hotel that is actually on the ocean. My 4 year old daughter loved the complimentary beach toys and heading down to the waves to be splashed and play in the sand. We left San Diego for Disneyland after a 4 day stay at the Pacific Terrace and my husband and I were missing the Pacific Terrace immediately upon walking into our rooms at Disneyland! You cannot beat the quality of the rooms, the beautiful scenery...and the complimentary breakfast you can eat poolside with the view of the ocean!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    256
    59
    38
    25
See reviews for
542
562
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. This was out first family trip to San Diego. The location on the beach is amazing. The sunsets just steps away on the boardwalk breathtaking. The room was beautifully decorated. The complimentary breakfast more than satisfying.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Everything at this hotel was very clean and tastefully decorated. The staff were all very friendly and eager to be helpful. I would stay there again for sure. Had a great time!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Just recently stayed there for four nights and we loved every minute. We had planned to stay in a partial ocean view room, but received a call from the hotel before the trip with an offer to upgrade to the Executive Suite. It was a little extra per night, but SOOO worth it. The room was incredibly spacious with 2 very comfortable queen beds, huge flat screen tv, dvd player, sound system, sofa, dining table and small kitchen area with a mini bar and fridge. We even commented that the suite was probably bigger than our small townhouse at home. There was also a spacious private balcony with a partial view of the ocean which was close enough to hear the waves crashing and watch the surfers. I highly recommend the 3rd floor rooms for best view and least street noise. The bathroom was beyond belief with a HUGE jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower, spacious closet, dressing and makeup area AND a TV!!! Watch a movie from the tub or while you're getting ready. An array of toiletries were provided including shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bath salts, shower gel, mouth wash, toothpaste and tooth brushes. The maid service was amazing; they respected our privacy and as soon as we left just for a short time, we came back to a made up room without ever seeing the staff responsible. The front desk and all other staff were all very helpful and accommodating. The heated pool and jacuzzi were very nice and the hotel location cannot be beat. It's just off the ocean and a very short walk to many restaurants, bars, nightlife, and shopping. As for the rates, they were pricey and parking is extra, but sometimes you get what you pay for and we left feeling like this stay was worth every penny. Could not ask for more and wouldn't stay anywhere else the next time we're in San Diego. Thank you Pacific Terrace Hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We wanted to spend my birthday in San Diego again, but wanted to stay on the water this time.Well we found the Pacific Terrace Hotel.It was just like the pictures but with sound,the waves were crashing on the beach.It was great.The staff was very helpful and friendly. I can't wait to go back.
Carol

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Wow- after reading all of the amazing reviews I don't think we can come up with anything more flattering than what has already been written!

There must just be something "magical" about Pacific Terrace. In our times, with everyones busy lives, for all of these happy guests to sit down and take the time to write multiple paragraphs praising this hotel must say something great about this jewel of a hotel.

We are rate shoppers! Never once in negotiating our room rates, comparing with other hotels, etc., did the staff ever make us feel "cheap" or badly for trying to get the most room for the money- quite the opposite in fact. Paul, Danielle and Carli were all wonderful to deal with as we changed rooms (different views and sizes) three times before deciding on one!

When we arrrived at 7:00 am (after a 6 hour drive from Phoenix) they took our number and promised to get the room ready early for us...they also recommended a restaurant up the street called Hennesseys. The concierge Katherine overheard us looking for a place to eat breakfast, called the restaurant and arranged for us to get a two for one breakfast:) Hennesseys also is a wonderful, casual place to eat- equally friendly and accomodating staff... low key though, so if you are looking for "fancy" this is not your place! Great food, great drinks- and a very lively football watching group was their clientele!

So, true to their word, we got our room early... having booked a full ocean view and coming out to see palm trees blocking our view- we asked to switch rooms.... again- NO PROBLEM:) They rushed a bellman up to us- he helped us pack up the room we had just unpacked and they moved us down the hall- the whole time assuring us that the room we had was the only one with the palm tree "blockage" and not to feel badly about wanting to switch. We did this and got the most AMAZING view!!!

After a long day of sun, drinking and eating, we decided to rent a movie on the PPV they offer at the hotel- being technologically challenged, we had to call down a few times to figure out how to get it to work- again- no problem... every request, small or large was met with a smile, and NO PROBLEM- that should be the theme for this hotel- WE HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH AMAZING SERVICE AS IN THIS HOTEL! We have stayed in resorts in many cities- many of them more expensive and "high end" with less amenities, and certainly worse service. Its as though the entire staff goes to customer service seminars on a nightly basis to keep it so consistent:)

One last thing we would like to point out, and yes we are going to mildy bash a couple of the other beachfront hotels here- Ocean Park Inn, Tower 23, Beach Cottages, Best Western Blue Sea Lodge..... We have stayed at these places. We have occasionally made reserverations and then called the cancel them... well, before staying this time at Pacific Terrace, we had also booked a room for $30 less at Ocean Park Inn. When we booked the room at Ocean Park I called Pacific Terrace to cancel- they didnt just say "ok, heres your cancellation number"- they asked why? And they asked if there was anything they could do so we didnt have to break the reservation....it worked! Even though Pac Terrace was higher by $30 a night, we stayed with them- number 1- because they made us feel that our visit mattered- number 2- they offered us a nice bottle of wine! So, I then called Ocean Park Inn to cancel and got "heres your cancellation number"- not even a why.... that kind of service with our kind of take on it could mean thousands of extra dollars a month for one hotel over the other!

Our special thank yous to Katherine, Paul, Kyla, Carli, Danielle, Angela, Ted and the bellman- sorry guys we do not remember your names! Even the housekeeping staff who were always smiling and friendly- who also left animal shaped towels on our bed!! Little things are everything at this hotel!!! Everyone should experience it at least once!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed in the Partial ocean view suite and had a 2 year old with us. The room was great! Quiet and beautiful at night. The bedding was nice and comfortable. Continental breakfast was awesome! Starbucks coffee was available all day also tea and lemonade...For FREE! If you must have a nice hotel when you travel this one is great especially with kids.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.