We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

This hotel is fantastic. On arrival we where greeted by friendly, efficient staff; including a very helpful concierge desk. The rooms were exceptionally clean and all had full or partial ocean views. Rooms were fully equipped with Ipod docking station (nice touch), large LCD TV, safe, separate sink from the bathroom to make dressing easier and clean comfortable beds. Large bathrooms, with an abundance of clean fluffy towels and toiletries made for a comfortable start to the day. Fresh fruit and water were left in the room each day and there was a fully loaded mini-bar, if needed.
They offer free wine by the pool for one hour each day (mid-afternoon), which is a great opportunity to meet your fellow guests. The small pool is clean, with sun loungers available and the view overlooking the Pacific Ocean is gorgeous.
Would not hesitate to return if in San Diego. Top tip: Take the tram (train) to the border for a day and visit Mexico. The journey is only 40 mins and the trains are very frequent.

  • Liked — Location on the sea front
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    230
    51
    38
    25
See reviews for
501
516
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grafton, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

After reading the reviews on this site, we changed our reservation from the Dell to the Pacific Terrace. The hotel was as wonderful as the reviews say, and we highly recommend staying there. The hotel is right on the beach with lots of good people watching opportunities on the jogging path right next to the property. The pool was the perfect temperature and the hot tub was hoooooot!! Go and stay there!

  • Liked — Great pool and hot tub
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

This may be the best located hotel in all of San Deigo- we had an Ocean Front room with a balcony and it was fantastic. Wine every afternoon was a nice touch. The room was very nice the decor high end- but the view and the pool are unbeatable. LCD TV was not working right- kepted turning itself on and off- but we did not really need to watch TV.

  • Liked — The ocean view, great decor, and nice pool next to the beach
  • Disliked — broken tv
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, nm
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

Great Value for a King, Queen, and Princesses. We stayed at the Pacific Terrace with our two daughters (3.5 and 8 months old) for five nights in early March. The hotel was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. It looked even better in person than on the hotel website. Everyone was friendly. We really enjoyed our patio and even the view was great from our "partial-oceanview." The room was roomy. I wish the beds weren't so high off the ground since I have two young children, but the rooms were beautiful. There was a big flat screen T.V. The sink and mirror were separate from the tub and toilet which made it easier for us to all get ready. There was always a fresh basket of linens outside the door the next morning in case we needed an extra towel. The included breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, juice, coffee, water, and yogurt. The afternoon wine reception was very relaxing. We sipped our wine by the pool. The pool area was beautiful and comfortable. Our 3.5 year old daughter loved the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon and adored the turn down service because she got chocolate on her bed at night! I enjoyed the free internet access in the lobby. We walked to dinner many nights. The hotel did a fantastic job of referring us to different dining spots. We really liked being able to push a stroller all along the beach on the sidewalk above. The area is difficult to pinpoint exactly. It is a 50s beach bungalow type location. There are alot of college kids that live in the area. As with any busy/large town, there were occassional homeless people along the Pacific Beach boardwalk. That being said, we were never uncomfortable. Right across from the hotel are condos that are starting at $750,000!!! The hotel was really convenient to La Jolla and to Seaworld. We loved that we stayed right on the beach and could hear the ocean. We paid $15 day to park in their garage under the hotel. They even had music playing in the garage that was relaxing. I found the convenience of the parking well worth the $15. This was such a great value. We would definitely go back in a heart beat.

  • Liked — All of the little extras: Breakfast, Wine Reception, Turn down service, cleanliness, friendly
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

My family of four stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel 3/11/07 - 3/16/07. I only wish we had been able to stay longer. We'll certainly be going back soon.

Our room was a 'deluxe ocean view'. Two queen size beds with lots of space for the entire family. We were rarely in the room, however, as the view from the balcony was magnificent and its location only feet from the boardwalk made for lively people watching while enjoying a beverage.

The staff is friendly and helpful, the included continental breakfast is quite good and the reasonably priced self-park facility is extremely convenient.

In short, I've simply never had a better experience at any hotel in my (too many) years of traveling.

  • Liked — Ocean views
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

Drove to San Diego from Vegas, stayed for 3 nights based on all the great reviews on this site. We did a lot of research to find a nice beach-front hotel & so glad we chose this one, we won't stay anywhere else in San Diego! Everything these other reviewers say were true for us too.. Helpful & friendly staff, great service, good location. Hotel decor was great, no complaints with the room at all. Loved coming back from dinner to find our beds turned down, chocolates on the nightstand & the radio playing some nice 'ambiance' music... Nice touches like that make this hotel unique. I couldn't get enough of the beautiful view from the room. Also the Continental Breakfast room opens up to the pool/patio area , so we ate breakfast outside looking out over the ocean every morning, it was a lovely way to start every day!

Wasn't sure at first about paying extra for the parking garage, but glad we did. Parking seemed kind of limited & we were driving a larger-sized truck that was much easier to park in the garage, since it was never more than 2/3 full, and it felt very safe & secure.. Loved our visit, will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Housatonic, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

We chose the Pacific Terrace based upon the reviews and were not dissapointed. We stayed for a week and had a great experience. The room was ample size and clean with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The room was "ocean view" and we could sit on the deck and watch the surfers and the sunsets. The 41" HDTV was an added bonus.
Nice bathrobes were suppled, morning paper, nightly cleaning and turndown service, fresh towels at the door every morning, a nice breakfast included with bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, cereal and coffee. Every afternoon at 4pm there was a wine reception included, this was a great chance to meet others at the hotel. The pool was heated and the hot tub was clean. There were many restaurants we could walk to in a 10-15 minute walk. We could drive to most attractions in only 20 minutes, an excellent location. Pacific Beach is full of the boistrous twenty something crowd but that does create any problems. This is a great choice and great value for the quality of the facility.

  • Liked — Great room with awesome bed, ocean view and HDTV.
  • Disliked — No fitness room.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.