We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach and Breakfast Pkg
Ranked #4 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Pewaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Ocean Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Great place to stay right on the ocean. Good waves for boogie boarding and lots of surfers to watch. Rented wet suites and boogie boards from Pure Life for $10 per person. Needed the wet suites as the water is cold. Excellent service and very nice staff. Stayed in a Junior suite for a family of 4 which had plenty of space. Great counter/vanity space separate from the bathroom. Kitchenette area helpful for breakfast and snacks. Heated pool nice for night swimming. Boardwalk fun to walk and people watch. Underground secure parking but $20 per day. Lots of restaurants in walking distance. Great food at Nick's on Mission Bay Blvd. Good day trip to San Diego Zoo.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    251
    55
    38
    25
See reviews for
524
551
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

The hotel was very clean and in a perfect location. Staff was very friendly. I've read reviews of people complaining about parking. There is some street parking available at certain times of the day. We paid for the parking garage during our stay and happy we did. Some reviews also complain about no restaurant on site. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance and breakfast can be ordered in the hotel for a charge. Most people walk to a coffee shop down the boardwalk where the food is good and cheap. Overall we loved this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I found this location on TripAdvisor when searching for a great location in San Diego to bring my mother for a "girls weekend" I cannot say enough about what a great stay we had at the Pacific Terrace and how great the folks at the Hotel made our stay in San Diego! Rachel at the front desk was amazing: always cheerful, loads of information and super helpful. Danny, the all around go-to-guy and bellman, couldn't have been more helpful. When we noticed the back gate to the beach wasn't locking on its own, service personnel were on it immediately.
We had a junior suite. It was beautifully furnished in a tropical style with a living room, comfortable sleeper sofa with an air mattress, furnished mini-kitchen and a large flat screen tv. The bedroom had two full beds very pretty furnishings and another large flat screen tv. Bathroom was updated and very nice; lighting could be a little better but very pleasant over all.
The location is incredible; it is right on a bluff on the beach with steps down to the beach and a boardwalk along the beach. Every night there was a large gathering to watch the sunset.
I would return to the Pacific Terrace in a minute. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very very nice boutique hotel whether for a getaway with a family or a comfortable upgraded weekend with a spouse or partner.
The pool was heated and the jacuzzi at a great temperature. Breakfast was included in our room; after breakfast was cleared coffee or tea is available in the breakfast area. Later in the day, complimentary tea and lemonade was available. There is a computer near the lobby available at no extra charge and a large bookshelf where you can borrow reading material.
The Pacific Terrace is a hidden gem!
The only downside that I have to say is that parking, sadly, was not included in our room rate; $20.00 a day was a a bit steep.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We chose this hotel because it had had such great reviews. It was nice and had the weather had been better Im sure we would have enjoyed it more but we felt overall it was just ok. Notes of caution... There are very limited facilities in terms of food and drink on the premises. There is no bar, no snacks and the breakfast area is badly designed and not able to cope with the volume of people. Food is available to order but comes from a local restaurant and is therefore expensive and takes a while. Pool are is ok but quite small. On the plus side the rooms are clean and well maintained - although furniture is a bit weird! The staff however were excellent and couldnt do enough for you. Its probably the best of what there is to offer in Pacific Beach but not sure if it represents value for money unless you get a good deal. Also we had an adjoining room and could hear everything next door were doing and their TV etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

This place sits right on Pacific Beach. The view and sunsets are awesome. Great staff. Had a wonderful week. Dinner at the Green Flash (twice), and JRDN's(twice). Breakfast, Lunch, and Coffee at Kono's Surf Cafe (five times)...all were great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

In a time when customer service is poor, this place goes out of there way to make sure you are happy. This is my second time staying here and once again. They knocked it out the park. The ocean view is fabulous. Sleeping with the ocean waves right outside can't be beat. Even though there was a frig problem, they replaced it immediately. Folks can by the room just to see if we needed anything further. If I ever go back to San Diego, I will definitely stay there again. Honestly, the ocean is the star. I really couldn't tell you much about other amenities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Loved this hotel. The employees were all very helpful and nice. The room was very cute and overlooked the ocean. The location was great to get out and walk along the beach and within walking distance of many restaurants. My husband and I have only good things to say about this hotel, and we are some of the pickiest people around. We will probably stay here again on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and BookIt.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.