We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach and Breakfast Pkg
Ranked #4 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights.The staff were so friendly & helpful especially the concierge,Gary.The location of the hotel is great,right on the beach & for those with no car there is a bus stop at the end of the road that takes you to the gaslamp district!

The rooms were lovely,very big & nice comfy beds.The continental breakfast was very nice & you can sit outside & enjoy it in the san diego sun.

I am very well travlled & the service at this hotel was superb!

  • Liked — the nice big beds!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    247
    55
    38
    25
See reviews for
523
546
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Pacific Terrace Hotel. This place is just amazing. We had a premium ocean view room with 2 queen beds. The room was very spacious and well decorated (the wood shutters and big screen tv added a nice touch!) They offered a free continental breakfast, wine hour by the pool from 4-5 pm., and freshly baked cookies at 4 pm. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. If you want to utilize the use of their parking garage there is a $15/day charge (it's not a lot if you want a secure place to park your car at night). We didn't have to do a lot of driving since there are eating places and grocery stores within walking distance. My kids (ages 4 & 2) loved the fact that we didn't have to walk far to go to the beach - it's right outside the pool area.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

My friend and I discovered the Pacific Terrace Hotel while looking for a well priced place to stay in PB. The rooms were decorated to make you feel like you were in the tropics. The beds were huge and so comfy! The bathroom was marble and spacious. The pool overlooks the beach and they even serve free wine from 4-5pm. The staff was extremely pleasant. It was a pleasurable experience all in all. I will definately go back!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, MN
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

When we heard our son decided to join the U.S. Marine Corps and that he would be graduating bootcamp in early September of this year, we decided to plan a one week trip to California. We really wanted to treat ourselves and stay somewhere near the ocean with a nice view, but were unsure of which hotel we should select. When we stumbled upon the Pacific Terrace Hotel and read all of the reviews about this "diamond in the rough", we decided to give it a try. I have to be honest...we thought the reviews might be a little too good to be true. However, let me tell you...WE LOVED EVERY MINUTE of our stay. When we checked in, the staff was very friendly and truly went out of their way to ensure our stay was as wonderful as possible. Upon entering our suite...and I know my mouth dropped wide open...the bellman said, "Enjoy your stay with us". Our room was just BEAUTIFUL! We loved the turn-down service and chocolates at night and the 4-5 p.m. wine at the pool. The continental breakfast each morning was very nice with a plentiful selection and great coffee. We talked about planning our next vacation around our stay at this WONDERFUL hotel. I can't wait!!! Thank you so much Pacific Terrace...you are a 5 star in our book!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

Our family just returned from a 4 night stay at the Pacific Terrace Hotel...WE HAD A GREAT TIME!!!

First of all, my wife and I were vacationing with our two children ages 4.5 and 6. A 'Welcome' email from the hotel was received a day prior to our arrival, suggesting we prepare for relaxation…a nice way to begin.

Our 5 pm check-in was smooth, especially for the busy holiday weekend. The staff at the front desk was courteous, professional and efficient. The bellman, Rich, was particularly helpful in pointing out all of the features of the property (pool, breakfast/wine hour, parking, etc.) and our stunning room.

We booked an executive suite as it was the only way to GUARANTEE that we receive a room with two queen beds. Premium ocean view and Jr. suites are offered with both King/sofa bed or 2 queen configurations and while the hotel tries to accommodate all requests there are no guarantees.

The room exceeded our expectations. Out third floor suite was very spacious and nicely appointed. Notable amenities: 42” plasma TV, large double sliding doors w/ plantation shutters, ocean view patio w/ seating for four, wet bar w/ microwave. The bathroom was exceptionally large and had a jetted tub. The room was clean and well cared for.

Our room was located on the north side of the hotel facing the Capri and the ocean. Rooms on the south side look out toward Crystal Pier. There was enough noise at street level that we chose to close the sliders at night. I’m not sure if the rooms that directly face the ocean would be quieter as they are adjacent to the pool, beach and beach walk.

The pool facility was appropriately sized for the hotel. Pool and hot tub were heated to 85 and 104 deg. respectively. There were no age restrictions for the hot tub. I believe the hours were 7-10 a.m. Seating was adequate and towels plentiful. Additional shade seating would be nice. This is NOT the ‘send your nanny down in the morning to reserve a lounge chair’ pool scene. Very relaxed and laid back.

Deluxe continental breakfast is served from 7-10am and is well stocked and plentiful. Pastries, bagels, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts, juice, coffee, tea and milk are offered. Seating is cozy inside or one can dine outside near the pool. It seemed that most guests took advantage of the complimentary breakfast.

Iced tea and lemonade are available throughout the day as are an assortment of board games. Complementary wine hour is from 4-5 p.m. by the pool.

The hotel DOES NOT have a restaurant or pool side bar service, however, there is fare from two local restaurants to choose from for room service or pool side delivery. Guests are also able to charge back to their room at several other nearby restaurants.

Location is ideal. The hotel is located in Pacific Beach just north of Crystal Pier and shares an oceanfront location next to the Capri By The Sea condominiums. Beach access is just out the secured gates. Activities are plentiful. There are several restaurants nearby and worthy of mentioning:

The Fishery, PB at Cass and Opal (.8 mile from hotel), an inland neighborhood eatery (no ocean view) delicious, FRESH seafood.

Station Sushi, Solana Beach, if you’re up north (and returning to the hotel from Legoland) it’s well worth the stop. Great hotel staff recommendation!

Taco Surf, PB, Mission Boulevard between Felspar and Emerald, GREAT taco eatery just a block away. Take-out for pool-side dining.

I would not recommend Taylor’s. Service was slow, food mediocre and ambiance just so-so.

The fitness room was under construction and was going to be ‘very small’ according to staff. We did not utilize any offsite fitness facility.

Parking located beneath the hotel was adequate and secure; I believe it was $17 a night. The hotel also provided 10 first-come first-serve spaces in the alley behind the hotel at no charge. Surface/street parking is difficult due to the desirable beach location.

Hotel checkout is 11 a.m. I had inquired about a late checkout when I booked our room two months prior to our stay and was told it would not be a problem, so I booked a late returning flight to Reno to maximize our stay. However, this request was denied the night before our departure due to the ‘unusually high amount of room turnover’. In the end, we were extended until noon and were able to use all the hotel facilities (less the room) until 3 p.m.

So what cold be done better? Tough question. There were a few noticeable exterior ‘wear and tear’ marine environment issues (peeling paint, rusty metal) that could be repaired. A small pool side bar might be nice to aid in relaxation. One or two of the staff seemed overwhelmed by the demands and volume of guests and were neither helpful nor responsive to guest requests…find replacements ASAP that are truly dedicated to guest service.

Overall, a wonderful long weekend and we’ll be back again in the spring for more enjoyment and relaxation!

  • Liked — Loacation, location, location, pool, rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing outstanding
  • Tips/Secrets — Want the freshest seafood in San Diego? Try The Fishery.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

The Pacific Terrace Hotel was exactly what we were looking for. A tropical beachy feel with an awesome view from the ocean front room! Landscaping was beautiful. They offer continental breakfast with room. Ice tea, leomonade, ice water, and coffee were available all day in a common room. Cookie hour and a wine hour also. They also had board games out on the patio tables...very thoughtful on their part. The area was great too, not too noisey and not too quiet. A great breakfast all day and coffee cart right down the street called Kono's...to wait on the line is worth the wait!
The only problem was when we got there, the room had no air conditioning on, it was warm, buy they lent us a fan until the room cooled down. It also wasn't vacumed that great, but when I complained, they took care of it right away.
If you are from the East like I am, they ocean water is very cold! We had a great time anyway...

  • Liked — The little extras like the cookies, lemonade and cold water at your finger tips!
  • Disliked — They could have cleaned the room a little better.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ocean front room a must!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

My family (2 children under 10 and husband) and I really enjoyed our recent stay. The room was spacious and newly redecorated with a great view of the ocean. We booked a partial oceanview and were very pleased watching the surfers in the morning. There was a small kitchenette (refrigerator, sink, stove) in our room. The continental breakfast was good, although we did venture down to Kono's two mornings and loved it - great coffee!! My children enjoyed the free cookies and lemonade and the complimentary wine hour was a very nice touch. Our room was kept very clean by the room attendant. The hotel is not directly on the beach but on a bluff above it. There are stairs and a ramp fairly nearby. We only had to park in their lot one evening and used the street parking whenever possible.
There is also a computer on the first floor for internet access with a printer where you can print out tickets to local sights (many offer discounts). There is a public restroom to the south of the hotel building which does attract the homeless, however, we were never harassed or bothered at any time. The area is well used by surfers and fitness buffs (runners, walkers, and bikers).
Overall, a great hotel. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — public restroom facilities next door that were open all night long
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room away from the public facilities
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.