We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront Location + Great Service = Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Oceanfront Location + Great Service = Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Pacific Terrace was outstanding. My mother and I sadly only stayed for one night in January 09. We paid $119 on hotels.com and were upgraded to an oceanfront room upon arrival for an additional $50. The room normally is about $250 in the off season.

Our room was lovely - 'princess and the pea' beds, very high and cozy. Full mini bar with sink, but also with an empty fridge to stock your own goodies. We were happy that they had actual glassware - coffee mugs, wine glasses, and cocktail glasses. The room was clean and modern with a HUGE television. A nice layout with a more private bathroom / changing area - especially useful with the oceanfront boardwalk right outside your window.

The surrounding area included quite a number of restaurant choices - mostly pub / grill type places, which looked casual. We were only there one night and ordered room service, which was fast and yummy. The hotel offers a number of room service options from surrounding restaurants.

The only downside is that they charged $20 per day parking fee, but included 'free valet', which was efficient and friendly. I suppose they get away with charging this in the summer months, but in the winter, it seems a bit high - and I'm from Chicago.

Overall though, worth every penny and would highly recommend this lovely oceanfront hotel!

  • Liked — Oceanfront Location
  • Disliked — Parking Fee
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    231
    51
    38
    25
See reviews for
501
518
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, CO (suburb of Denver)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

All of the wonderful things written by other Trip Advisor reviewers are echoed by us. The BEST things, of course, are the location and the incredible view and sound of the Pacific Ocean. The facility is fabulous, and the staff bends over backwards to please their guests. They sincerely seemed to want to do whatever they could to make us happy.

When we checked in on Sunday, 1/18, the consierge, Katherine, made us feel like we were the most important people in the hotel with her attention to detail, patience, and efficiency in meeting our requests. On the last day of our stay, the front desk gave me enough post cards so that I could give one to each of my students back home. Everything inbetween was exceptional, too.

We were fortunate to stay off-season, when the room prices were discounted by 50%. So the price wasn't extremely expensive, just very expensive. Still, we felt that we got our money's worth and then some!

We stayed in a 600-square-foot junior suite on the thrid floor with a full ocean view, a King bed, and a breakfast bar. Here are some tips that I don't recall reading in the other reviews:

**We discovered that the view was even better when we took the tall breakfast stools out onto the balcony. Then we didn't have to look through the bars to see the ocean.

**There is a silent but very effective ceiling fan in the bedroom area that helped to keep the air circulating. The temperature was perfect so we left the patio door open all day long.

**The sliding shutter doors can be closed to give you absolute darkness & privacy, or can be moved completely out of the way to provide a totally unobstructed view out the patio door and windows. The shutters can be moved to allow just the amount of light or darkness desired.

**Separate from the toilet & shower area, there is a large vanity area by the sink, with a giant mirror and a large plug-in makeup mirror. Lots of room to spread out.

**The bed is extremely elevated, probably so you can still see the ocean while you're lying down. There are stairs provided in the closet that can be placed by the bed if you need help getting in and out of the bed! It is unbelievable comfortable, and we slept extremely well.

**We slept best with the patio door shut tightly at night. It was very quiet, but you could still faintly hear the beating of the waves.

**The $9 breakfast was actually about $27 for two people, when you add in the required gratuity, tax, and a tip for the server delivering it to our room. But it was large, hearty, and very tasty. Great to eat breakfast on the patio as we watched the ocean & the people passing by on the boardwalk!

**We observed daily testing and/or cleaning of the pool and hot tub by pool professionals. My husband felt that the chemical balance and temperatures were perfect.

**Even during the off season, the $20 per night for parking was well worth it. Easy in, easy out, safe, secure, and convenient.

**The best part of the trip was our time at the hotel or on the beach. Why go anywhere else when you're in the perfect location with comfort and luxury all around you? During the day, the ocean, beach, boardwalk, and nearby shops and restaurants were all we needed. Watching the sun go down as we sat on our balcony was breathtaking every evening. After dark, the in-room movies were nice entertainment, for a fee of course.

**We purchased pop & snacks at a nearby store to stock our refrigerator so we weren't tempted by the goodies in the mini-bar. In the Carribean Room, coffee & tea were always available, there was iced tea and lemonade in the afternoon, and freshly-baked cookies are at the front desk at 4:00 p.m. Yum!

**Twice we ate at the Crab Catcher in La Jolla, about 20 minutes away by car, but you'll need good directions to get there. The hotel concierge can make the reservation and will get you great seating. Delicious food, beautifully presented. See if you can get Michelle to be your waitress -- she was delightful!

The worst thing about being at the Pacific Terrace Hotel is when you have to leave. I was actually seriously depressed for about a day after we left! We're already starting to save for our next trip.

Comfort and elegance combine to make this place a haven for the weary soul. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean, and the sound of the waves, elegant & comfortable.
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Not only tastefully decorated, but very comfortable as well. Of course, you can't beat the location and the view. The hotel staff was friendly, professional and very accommodating. Don't fuse with taxi service, contact the hotel and hire Carlos. He is a great driver, reliable and knows the city well.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We wanted something a little special for a family reunion and chose this because of the location on the beach, good reviews, and nice off-season rates. Compared to the other hotels in the Gaslamp Quarter it was a great deal. THe hotel upgraded us for our special occasion. The rooms all overlook the pool and the ocean. It was still a reasonabley short drive to the Gaslamp, Sea World and the SD Zoo. You can rent bikes and ride along the beach. The only criticism of the hotel was that the air conditioning units were loud, and the floors/walls were a little thin. We were on the ground floor and every morning at 6am the people above us stomped around and woke us up.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apodko
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in January and we both loved it. We are both 24 I am not picky but my friend is and she loved the Pacific Terrace Hotel. There are no restaurants on site but there are diners, bars, and many other restaurants within easy walking distance. They do provide Starbucks coffee in the morning and throughout the day, an actual Starbucks is less than a 10 min walk away.

The staff was always extremely nice, the rooms are excellent, we used our robes a lot especially to walk to the hot tub at night. The rain shower heads could use more pressure but an extra minute or two in the shower really shouldn't be something to whine about.

Weekend rates are expensive but if you travel during the week search rates often because you can find a great deal. The only legitimate complaint that I think anyone could have is the parking fee but if your not lazy and don't mind a short walk you can find a place to park.

  • Liked — Beautiful beach location.
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Stayed at Pacific Terrace during a recent road trip out to San Diego. The location is nice, right on the beach front, and far enough away from the bars so you don't get too much of the traffic and noise associated with it.

Rooms were very clean and spacious - I got the economy room with no view (although there is a slight view from the balcony). The mini fridge and microwave was a bonus.

Beds were comfy, and the plasma TV's are a nice touch, especially with the large number of high def channels they had available. It's one of the few times I've actually wanted to stay in my hotel room instead of going out.

As another reviewer had mentioned, I was expecting a continental breakfast since I had read somewhere that it was provided. Unfortunately, it's not offered anymore, and breakfast is now a $12 option. Dennys and iHop was close by so I didn't bother with the in house stuff, and just went to one of the many local restaurants nearby for breakfast. The $20 parking was a bit steep too, but with the limited on street parking, you'll probably want to pony up the $20 for it if you're going to be there during peak season. I was there during the winter, and parking was still a little scarce at times.

The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. They greeted me by name when they saw me which was actually quite surprising and a nice personal touch. They also offered to help with my bags which was also nice. Turndown service every evening is a nice touch that you only find in higher end hotels.

Overall, a nice hotel. Very modern, comfortable, and nice location. Stay there if you get a chance.

  • Liked — Great views, nice rooms
  • Disliked — Wireless internet access was somewhat spotty
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We have been coming to the Pacific Terrace for medical reasons every other month since 2000. In the past couple of years, "renovations" have occurred which "justify" rate increases. What are those renovations? Huge, bulky, dark sleigh beds which make the large rooms small and make it difficult to get into and out of bed; terrible pea green paint on walls which also make room appear smaller; They replaced the regular shower heads with Rain shower heads which hit you on the top of your head and make it impossible to shower without drenching your head; the final straw is they used to have a wide variety for a super continental breakfast available in a main floor room. That is done now. No more. Finito. Now you have to order the night before for delivery at a specific time and choose from basic boring options. The hotel manager seems to have made every effort to take a great hotel and ruin it with "renovations" to justify rate increases. We are moving to the Embassy suites.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.