We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in Mission Beach hands down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Weston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Best spot in Mission Beach hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our second time back to Pacific Terrace. We had a junior suite on the second floor with a nice balcony looking out to the ocean. The location is directly facing the beach, the pool is great and fun for everyone, and the staff are very accommodating. This is a smaller hotel with probably 75 or 80 rooms at most. You can walk right down to the beach and there are dozens and dozens of restaurants and shops within walking distance. I would say this is a very good family spot, but would fit the needs of just about anyone. I wavered between rating this property very good, or excellent, and chose excellent because of the location and friendly staff. It is not super fancy, but more than nice. If you are looking for super high end rooms in the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton category, this is not it, but I would still give it an excellent for so many other good features the hotel offers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    222
    49
    38
    25
See reviews for
492
490
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Granada, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location of the hotel is right next to the beach so it was easy for us to take a moon walk every midnight. Everyone set foot on the white powdery sand and some took a dip even though it was very cold. It was fun walking around the hotel because when we get hungry the restaurants are just around the corner. We feel very welcome and even got some desserts and refreshments courtesy of the hotel. Though we experienced some technical problems like the a/c and the coffeemaker they staff was quick to respond and fix the a/c and brought us a new coffee machine. The amenities was a bit pricy like $14 resort fee but it was worth every penny to get you bikes, boogie boards, chairs, umbrella etc. Another thing is the room transfer. Though it look like a big hassle it was really pack and go. We packed our stuff out and left for lunch and when we came back, we got our new keys and went to our new room like nothing had happened. The staff are very attentive to our needs especially Kyla, she attended to my family very well, she even brought us coffee personally and played with my daughter. She provided an excellent service. I think that kind of service would really make us go back there yearly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Diego and Danielle were of great service with helping us book our rooms and accomodating a wheelchair. I appreciate all of their help! We have stayed here for over 3 years and have always had a great time an

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you are lucky enough to ever stay at this hotel, count your blessings…you live a charmed life. With that said here are few tweeks to make your stay even better. Bedrooms are big, but not too much drawer space so buy some cheap hangers and hang your clothes. Very little space on the bathroom counter, so bring roll-up toiletry bags to hang on the back of the door. PLENTY of towels here, thank the Lord and the General Manager, same at the pool  The balconies are wonderful and seem to get a lot of use from the guests, I wish we had brought binoculars to keep tabs on the steady stream of bikers, boarders, joggers, roller-bladers, surfers, boogie-boards, and helicopters going past your balcony. Also a steady stream of vintage planes seem to fly by. The pool does get loud at night with happy, shrieking kids – seems to be non-stop Marco Polo action in the pool. This may bother you if you are on the first floor, or not as those balconies open right onto the pool terrace. There is no lifeguard, so you are going to keep a sharp out on your kiddos. The hot tub is awesome and very clean. Breakfast buffet, meh seemed pricey for what you get and does not open till 7:30. We walked over to the Denny’s and got loaded veggie omelettes every day. We LOVED Isabel’s Cantina which is just a few blocks away. I hear they have an awesome breakfast, but we didn’t figure that out in time. The staff at the Pac Terrace seems happy, confident and gracious especially Kylie (?) at the front desk, they are happy to provide bikes, pool toys, boogie boards, etc. for you. There is a $14 per day resort fee, and an “upgrade” fee for enhanced wi-fi if you need to download docs. They thoughtfully provide computer kiosks on each floor for net surfing and printing board passes. YAY!! We dream of being back at the Pac Terrace listening to the sounds of the surf while snuggling in their super comfy beds.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and higher. 1st floor is RIGHT onto of the pool which might be good if you have children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Superior hotel in Pacific Beach. Beautiful setting and close to Garnett Ave. bars and restaurants. Rooms were spacious with a view of the pacific. Rooney had a good sized fridge. Complementary wine served on the patio, and a good breakfast buffet in the morning. Underground parking garage available (pay).

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My daughter and I just spent three lovely days at this gorgeous hotel. It had been many years since we had been there and wanted to enjoy a stress-free beach getaway. It was as nice or nicer than I had remembered with a welcoming lobby, nice breakfast room, beautifully appointed rooms with wonderful beds (slept very well) and in a location that can't be beat. Everyone was very friendly and we didn't want to leave! We rode bikes, relaxed at the beach, dined at nearby restaurants and did a little shopping. An excellent stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Honestly the rooms are not my style and the hotel is not modern or flash but what it lacks in "modern style" it makes up for with fantastic customer service and great location. We stayed in a ground floor partial ocean view room opening onto the pool area.. it was perfect for us as it was private with a huge patio area and the kids loved the easy access to the pool area. We could see the ocean through the pool area. The use of the bikes and sand toys was a bonus and the kids loved the complimentary cookies each day. We received a voucher book to be used during our stay and honestly it would have been nice for the inclusions to be given freely ie glass of wine on check in and photo memento when departing rather than having to rip out a voucher and take it to reception - because of this we didn't really utilise anything in the book. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful and the location made it easy to explore the area. Will definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;