We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time back - high expectations met” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Third time back - high expectations met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Superior hotel in Pacific Beach. Beautiful setting and close to Garnett Ave. bars and restaurants. Rooms were spacious with a view of the pacific. Rooney had a good sized fridge. Complementary wine served on the patio, and a good breakfast buffet in the morning. Underground parking garage available (pay).

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    230
    51
    38
    25
See reviews for
501
516
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My daughter and I just spent three lovely days at this gorgeous hotel. It had been many years since we had been there and wanted to enjoy a stress-free beach getaway. It was as nice or nicer than I had remembered with a welcoming lobby, nice breakfast room, beautifully appointed rooms with wonderful beds (slept very well) and in a location that can't be beat. Everyone was very friendly and we didn't want to leave! We rode bikes, relaxed at the beach, dined at nearby restaurants and did a little shopping. An excellent stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Honestly the rooms are not my style and the hotel is not modern or flash but what it lacks in "modern style" it makes up for with fantastic customer service and great location. We stayed in a ground floor partial ocean view room opening onto the pool area.. it was perfect for us as it was private with a huge patio area and the kids loved the easy access to the pool area. We could see the ocean through the pool area. The use of the bikes and sand toys was a bonus and the kids loved the complimentary cookies each day. We received a voucher book to be used during our stay and honestly it would have been nice for the inclusions to be given freely ie glass of wine on check in and photo memento when departing rather than having to rip out a voucher and take it to reception - because of this we didn't really utilise anything in the book. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful and the location made it easy to explore the area. Will definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I Stayed last year in September (late review I know). We stayed there for our wedding and when we told the lady at the front desk, she upgraded us to the Master Suite for the first night and then the Presidential Suite the second night for free!!! They were so nice and even congratulated us when we got back from the courthouse! We had champagne waiting for us in our room, courtesy of the hotel staff along with their congratulations! How awesome is that?! Of course, the rooms were amazing and extremely clean! The view from both our rooms faced the ocean and was incredible! It was right on the boardwalk and was close to a lot of restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is right on the beach. Steps away from staircase to beach. Request an ocean view on 3rd floor. Rooms are beautifully decorated in Tommy Bahama style beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys and bikes are all included. Bathrooms are a bit dated. Expected nicer compared to the style of the room. Valet parking for $25 a day. Service was outstanding. Rachel at front desk was wonderful and super friendly. Provide late checkout for a fee. I booked that at soon as we arrived. There was some confusion with that. Needed to double check. Then room key didn't work. Just double check everything. Happy hour poolside everyday from 4 to 5. Perfectly located. Definitely expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Ocean view on 3rd floor. I wouldn't want one overlooking pool with ocean view. Get one on the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chcago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have three kids under the age of 15, the beach access and the hotels amenities beats them all. Down in the lobby waiting for you are bicycles, or beach chairs, boogie boards, sand toys & umbrellas. Our room was great, the pool was very clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. If you needed anything, the awesome concierge Angela took care of it. Going back in September.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Visited hotel on accident while walking from Amore's Pizzeria, walked in and thought it would be funny to see the price, we thought we couldn't afford it, we were going to stay at hotel circle that night... Eric greeted us and did a great professional job showing us two rooms and their amazing views without us committing to stay, explained their service, helped us choose where to eat and it was/is luxury without being too stuffy, we are Midwest folks. Short of it we canceled our other hotels and are staying 6 nights. I am thankful I walked in to see the price, if it cost more than it does it would be worth it, La Jolla in 12 minutes, SeaWorld in 4, Old Town in 7 and the views and easy parking and the views

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.