We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel in Pacific Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Redondo Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel in Pacific Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found this place through American Express Membership Rewards and the reviews were great, so we decided to book it for an over night stay in Pacific Beach. It was AWESOME! Right on the beach and close to everything there is to do in Pacific Beach. No driving necessary you can walk everywhere in the cute little sleepy surfer town.

The Hotel staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. I especially wish to mention the customer service director Jennifer. She was so kind and welcoming to us and helped us get an amazing room on the property with beautiful ocean views. Angela was great in helping us find great restaurants and getting tickets to the San Diego Zoo. Joe who works at the front dest was also very friendly, kind and welcoming.

I cannot say enough about our experience here. We decided to stay a 2nd night since we loved it so much. Our room was beautifully decorated and very spacious with an extremely large balcony. It was very comfortable.

I would love to go back to this hotel at the first opportunity. My sister and I have discussed making it a yearly visit to Pacific Beach and to stay at the Pacific Terrace Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    225
    49
    38
    25
See reviews for
494
501
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The service is first class here. Not a big place but just about right with a great location. Right on the beach. The boardwalk runs right in front of the hotel and is great for people watching. We loved San Diego and this will always be our go to place. Even the partial ocean view had a great view. I believe the way it is set up you always have a view from the side rooms. I enjoyed the secure underground parking too. Fun to watch the side streets as people start to show up after work and change into surf gear from suits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with our 5 month old. The staff was very accommodating and the location was perfect as it was right on the beach and very close to shopping and restaurants. The rooms and views were excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a 3rd floor ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was so great. First the location is right on the beach by a lifeguard station. Second, the staff is wonderful, third the rooms and view are true to the website. We had a partial view room but I would say our view was full view. Also we had 2 kids 6 and 3 and could have had our whole vacation just within walking distance. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

OH My Goodness!
This is the place to be! if you are looking for a beautiful, ocean view, quiet, romantic, hotel or spot to celebrate something special quietly, the Pacific Terrace Hotel in San Diego is the place to be. Service is WONDERFUL! The staff really care if you are enjoying your stay. This was my 1st visit to this hotel and it will not be my last. I highly recommend this hotel, The view of the ocean was awesome. It is worth your money.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Make sure you request is a double (queen)or king bed room with a full OCEANVIEW. It is really, real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived for a 4 night stay and booked a partial sea view. We were provided an upgrade to a jr king suite.
Room was fantastic, well located and partial view of the ocean from our balcony.
Right on the beach - valet at $22was too much, but we got street parking 1 block away without cost.
Happy hour at 2 for 1 on all drinks was great value.
Beach towels provided and chair & buggy board rentals, free dependign on your room package.
Will definitely look to return in the future.
First class service from all staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Pacific Terrace Hotel is in a great location, right on the boardwalk overlooking the ocean with the most beautiful sunsets.
We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and we didn't regret it!
The staff are fantastic and leave you wanting for nothing. They almost fall over backwards to ensure you have the best stay possible.
We arrived to a complimentary bottle of Champagne on ice and a lovely card congratulating us on our wedding.
The rooms are comfortable with a fridge and up to date coffee making facilities. There is also fresh starbucks coffee available and apples at reception every morning.
The hotel also provide both beach and pool towels.
We enjoyed room service and the food was very nice, although breakfast was average charged at $14 per person.
The only negative comment I can make is the air conditioning does appear a little dated and can be noisy.
Parking can be a nightmare, but we fell lucky with a good spot near the hotel, otherwise it is a little pricey at $22 per night for valet parking.
The hotel also offers the turn down service, leaving chocolates and details of which staff are on duty for the following day and what the weather forecast is. The maids also did an excellent job everyday keeping the room clean and tidy, leaving a new 'towel animal' every day.
If we returned to San Diego we would definitely stay here again.
We paid approx. $280 per night which I feel was worth it, especially for the location. The attention from the staff is excellent and they are all so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Believe all rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.