We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in PB!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best in PB!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location. Rooms are always clean. Staff are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. They have added a breakfast buffet since our last stay which was nice. Pool area is always imaculant. I apologize I cannot remember her name, but a special shout out to the young lady whose husband is a wildfire firefighter. Super nice and friendly. makes you feel right at home

Room Tip: beware, local taxes really add to your overall room cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    222
    49
    38
    25
See reviews for
492
490
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent service and the best location at the beach. Few minutes from la jolla and sea world. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. The suite was great and clean and had all amenities.i would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Oh,this is the best Pacific Beach place to stay, the staff was so nice to our family. We had such a "Beautiful" view from our terrace of the beach. We wil defintaely be staying here again. The grandchildren could go out the elevator to the beach or out the door to the pool with us. Location can not be beat for the price.My Son-in-law had decided on here for family and he hit the "Jackpot"!

Room Tip: Best is the beach side from the stree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 adults and 4 kiddos and our stay was fantastic! Staff was extremely patient and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was a great value and being able to order food while at the pool was a big plus. The hotel had beach chairs, umbrellas and even sand toys and all were included in our room rate. Have stayed here now twice and would recommend it highly for families looking for a low stress vacation at the beach.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The Pacific Terrace is costly. We paid 500$ per night for a room with full ocean view. Breakfast is 14$ extra and for that you get a very simple breakfast. Parking is 22$ per night.

What you get is a great location where your room is separated from the beach by only the pool and a busy boardwalk. The rooms are quite nice with large comfortable beds and a 42" flat panel TV.

There is no restaurant in the hotel except for a small breakfast room. There are lots of restaurants along the beach but all are of the simple beach variety witout any real ambition. This is clearly an area targeting a younger audience on a limited budget.

If you enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony while watching the sunset then bring your own wine and your own wine glasses. This property knows nothing about wine and they do not even have useful wine glasses on the property. But there is a wine opener in the room.

The elevators are VERY SLOW and so is the free WiFi. They are supposed to have an optional fast WiFi as well at a daily charge of 5$ but I never got that to work.

To summarize: an ok hotel with a great location right on the beach in a very lively beach community. But vastly overpriced in my view.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spending July 6-10 here with our 19 and 23 year old daughters. Decided on Pacific Terrace because we wanted to have beach view. We were pleasantly surprised with our full ocean view room. The hotel is located right on the boardwalk. The pool is small but nice with friendly waitstaff. The only drawback is the food service with no true restaurant on site. But there are many places to eat within walking distance. The rooms are very clean with comfortable beds and a Tommy Bahama inspired decor. Front desk staff and concierge are so friendly and willing to help. We loved Wilson and the front door staff. We will definitely stay here when returning to San Diego. Thanks also to Danielle who I spoke with when making reservations. She went above and beyond answering questions and making suggestions for our trip.

Room Tip: Full ocean viee
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here with 2 young children in June 2013 and absolutely loved the hotel. We had a room with a partial view of the beach which was lovely and my husband and I would sit on the balcony listening to the sea and reading after the kids had gone to sleep. The staff were so lovely and helpful and each night, housekeeping would leave an animal made out of towels on one of the beds which was a lovely touch. While we took the tram to downtown San Diego one day, we chose this hotel because of its location and were not disappointed. The hotel is right on the beach, and gave us the chance to relax and soak up the sun after 3 pretty intense days at Disneyland. The complimentary use of bikes and beach equipment was also a great perk. The beds were also the most comfortable of all the hotels we stayed at during our 3 week holiday. We would have loved to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Rooms with partial views also offer great views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.