We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach and Breakfast Pkg
Ranked #3 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here with 2 young children in June 2013 and absolutely loved the hotel. We had a room with a partial view of the beach which was lovely and my husband and I would sit on the balcony listening to the sea and reading after the kids had gone to sleep. The staff were so lovely and helpful and each night, housekeeping would leave an animal made out of towels on one of the beds which was a lovely touch. While we took the tram to downtown San Diego one day, we chose this hotel because of its location and were not disappointed. The hotel is right on the beach, and gave us the chance to relax and soak up the sun after 3 pretty intense days at Disneyland. The complimentary use of bikes and beach equipment was also a great perk. The beds were also the most comfortable of all the hotels we stayed at during our 3 week holiday. We would have loved to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Rooms with partial views also offer great views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    262
    61
    38
    25
See reviews for
567
572
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pardeeville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We loved the view of the ocean, the short walk for dining, the beautiful pool and free use of bikes. The room was a little pricey but the ocean front view was priceless. One of the best night of sleep we ever had due to the comfy bed and the sound of the waves. We booked this hotel strictly for relaxation after spending 3 busy days touring the San Diego area and it provided us with just that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had very high expectations for this hotel based on the website pictures and reviews. We have 3 young children and were looking for a family friendly resort with pool and beach access. Although this hotel may be a perfect fit for some, we decided to leave after an hour of walking around the property and boardwalk area.

Previous to booking, I had read that the hotel was located in a town close to many great shops and restaurants. What the reviews failed to mention was that these shops included smoke shops, tattoo parlors, adult entertainment shops, etc. Yes, there were some restaurants, bars, and typical souvineer shops, but overall walking through this "quaint" town would have prompted a lot of questions that we were not comfortable discussing with our children quite yet.

As far as the actual hotel goes, the staff could not have been nicer. They were very understanding of our abrupt departure. Our family suite was located on the corner of the first floor. The room was fine...a little dark and dingy, but we definitely would have overlooked that if it had not been for the surrounding area. The boardwalk runs just step off the room's patio. A smoking homeless man in a wheelchair had parked himself on the path right off our patio. There was a constant stream of very eclectic beach goers passing by....great for people watching, but not for a family with young children. The hotel pool was very small and happened to be filled with a large group of people who had obviously gone to the a nearby grocery store to stock up on beer....empty beer boxes and cans all around.

Please don't misunderstand....I have no problem appreciating the diversity and uniqueness of the people in this beach town. And this is where you go to vacation, after all, so kicking back with some drinks is certainly fitting. But, if you have young kids....just know what you are getting into, because, unfortunately, we did not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Jennirjohns,
I am so sorry you were not able to stay with us and did not enjoy the neighborhood. It is a safe area but certainly very busy at the beach this time of year. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and we too share in your disappointment. I hope you found suitable accommodations and enjoyed your time in San Diego.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the my favorite hotel in San DIego. The location is perfect ~ you are literally on the beach, with a pool, hot tub, luxurious rooms and impeccable service. They provide bikes to ride up and down the boardwalk and you are in walking distance to tons of shops and restaurants. It is the ideal place to stay for a romantic getaway or family vacation. I highly recommend Pacific Terrace to all of my friends and family. It's absolutely amazing! Big thanks to Angela who really made our stay extra special. Thank you, we'll most definitely be back!

Room Tip: All of their rooms are immaculate, but I highly recommend upgrading to one of their suites. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June. We upgraded to an ocean front junior suite to have a little extra room for my husband and two young children (9 and 7). The suite was actually overlooked the pool with the ocean behind it. The pros are an excellent front desk and valet parking staff. They were very friendly and courteous. Although the hotel is away from most of the crowds, Pacific Beach is a party town and not an ideal location for families. The cons were we didn't feel we got our money's worth for the room. Nothing else was included - we were charged for a mediocre breakfast ($30) and valet parking ($22). The hotel offered turn down service, but we had to pull out and inflate the air mattress for our children each night. The air mattress deflated by morning. The suite had a kitchenette but utensils were missing. There are only 2 elevators for the hotel which were very slow. We only had 3 full size towels for 4 people. Overall, the attention to detail from the management staff is lacking. To pay over $600/night we would expect much much more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you Martysue for taking the time to write a review, which we appreciate as we always try our best to exceed the guest’s expectations. We have taken your comments very seriously and I will research the utensils, towels and the sofa sleeper. There were many amenities included with the rate such as bicycles, beach equipment, sand toys and an extended 2 hour check out time and I do hope you were able to take advantage of some of those. It would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again someday, being at your service even better next time.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Absolutely awesome.
I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. Right on the beach. Right down the north end of the beach, so it's not as noisy and busy as the heart of the boardwalk. Our 'partial view' room was fantastic - we had a full view of the lovely wharf, just not all day sun. But our balcony was awesome. There was plenty of space in room for three grown adults. Just the right number of in room amenities - toaster, a few glasses, bowls, and microwave, so you can have a bowl of cereal in your room if you don't want to eat out every single meal. Comfortable beds, clean soft sheets.

Parking is bad all over Pacific Beach and their prices were comparable with everyone else's. That said we were able to find street parking every day.

Pool is small but perfect. Jacuzzi is excellent. There were some lovely little extra special treats - they had free lemonade and cookies poolside each afternoon. Coffee and a fruit bowl in the foyer every morning.

Fabulous staff, who actually seem to genuinely want to talk to you. They were solidly good on the basic things. I never felt like they were trying to up-sell us on anything and then they went above and beyond the call of duty too. For example, the day we checked out the front desk staff printed out a map for me with directions to my next destination.

Absolutely awesome. It is not cheap, but if you can afford it, it is worth the price, especially if you can get a deal somewhere. Go here and love your vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello in New Zealand!
Thank you for choosing the Pacific Terrace on you recent trip and for writing about your “awesome” time with us. I am glad you took advantage of the extra amenities in the room and enjoyed the goodies in the Lobby and the Caribbean room. I hope the rest of your trip is going/went well and please come back and see us again if you return to San Diego in the future.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel sits on a bluff overlooking the ocean. Perfect location as you are within two minutes of the beach, and just a short walk will bring you to shops and restaurants. The staff here is exceptional! Everyone goes out of their way to say hello and accomadate your needs. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you lojoh7 for your review. It sounds like you had a really good time at the beach and I especially enjoyed your compliments of the staff. We have a lot of fun around here and team does an amazing job with the guests.
All the best from our entire team!
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#5 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#53 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#1 of 273 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
#109 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.