We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location plus People plus Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach
Ranked #3 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location plus People plus Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We could not have had a better experience. VIP treatment from Danielle and all the staff. From reservations to sadly saying good-bye we were completely taken care of in a first-class manner. This hotel is beautifully furnished, in a perfect location, and staffed with the most wonderful, helpful, and eager-to-please staff. The sound of crashing surf greets you on arrival and stays with you the whole time. I highly recommend this hotel for it's location right on the beach, it's clean and comfortable rooms, and it's extra-friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: From the way it looks and sounds, not a bad room in the building. Open the slider on arrival and let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Terrific review Guy B! We appreciate the review and I enjoyed hearing about Danielle’s VIP service. Her service is impressively personal and I am glad she and the rest of the team took good care of you. I agree with your tip- there really is not a bad room in the hotel, they all having something different to offer.
Thank you again and come back and see us soon.
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    233
    52
    38
    25
See reviews for
505
524
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here a week ago for a one night stop in San Diego and I'm so glad we splurged a little to stay here. The hotel is a little deceiving looking on the outside, meaning the outside doesn't at all tell you how nice it will be on the inside. Not that the outside looks bad, it just looks simple. The hotel is right on the pacific ocean, we had what was described as a "partial ocean view" but we looked directly over the ocean, I'm not sure how our view could have been any better. We had a Jr King suite and it provided us with a lot of room and would have been plenty enough space for a longer stay. The staff was very accommodating and made great restaurant recommendations based on what we described we were looking for. I would recommend valeting your car, there is public parking around but it's a very busy area of town and for us it was worth the convenience of not having to search for a spot. I'm not sure this area of SD would be ideal for a "family" stay but it was perfect for a couple or a friends get away. There was lots of night life and interesting scenery.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Jillianne G
Thanks for reviewing your stay. I am glad you stayed with us for a quick overnight.
I hope we always make it worth the “splurge” and next time you will have to plan a longer stay, 1 night just isn’t enough.
All the best!
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We wanted a nice place with ocean views and easy access to the beach and were not disappointed with this hotel. It is exactly what we had hoped for after researching hotels in the area and reading reviews. It is in a great location right on the boardwalk with the beach just a few steps away. It is also within walking distance of many nice restaurants, cafes, and shops. The room was nice and large enough for our family of 4 and had a nice patio with view of the ocean. The staff are very friendly and were very accommodating. Everyone provided excellent service. We will definitely go back when planning a vacation in San Diego again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with a patio on the south side of the property have a nice view and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Greetings in Phoenix!
It is great to hear we lived up to our reputation and everything was as you expected! I am glad your family enjoyed the hotel and the area. Stay cool this summer and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Diego.
Thank You,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were in town for my nephew's graduation at the Marine base. We wanted to stay in a nice hotel right on the ocean. While there, we did a lot of driving and walking and by far Pacific Terrace is the best place to stay in the area. Pacific Beach is a busy area and not at all the quaint and quieter beach town I thought it might be. That part was disappointing but if you're someone looking for busy with lots of places to walk to and a busy beach, you will like it there. Right in the middle of all this hustle and bustle is Pacific Terrace. It can't be beat. No other hotels in the area come even close to comparing. The views from the rooms are beautiful. The rooms were comfy and clean. The pool area is lovely. Lots of seating and even a couple tables with a firepit in the center for nightly fires. The customer service could not be beat....always pleasant and helpful. No matter who was at the front desk we got a smile and willingness to meet our needs. Joe was especially patient and kind! If I ever come back to PB, I will definitely be staying at Pacific Terrace.

Room Tip: Some side ocean view rooms are considered FULL ocean view. If this is important to you make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear GinaJ650,
Thank you for writing about your time at Pacific Terrace. Pacific Beach is a lively neighborhood this time of year. Luckily we are almost where the boardwalk ends so it can tend to be quieter up here. Thank you for letting us know about Joe’s great service I will be sure to pass along your comments and thank him. Please come back and see us again if you return to San Diego in the future.
Thanks again!
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during peak season in a suite. The room was nice but furniture was oversized for the room. There were very heavy sheets on the beds that desperately need to be updated. The air conditioner didn't work in our room. We had to call 3 times because the staff insisted it was working. When the engineer came to the room, he informed us it was broken. Due to being peak season the night was sold out so they couldn't move us. They offered 200 off that night and fan or a stand air conditioner with a hose that would have to connect to the outside thus not letting us lock out sliding door. We went with the fans which were mediocre at best. We then were moved the next day only to have the same issue when we were back from dinner. Again we had no air all night. We would have been able to overlook this had the staff been more courteous rather than accusing. 200 dollars off an over priced room rate is not what I would consider excellent customer service at a four diamond resort. It is VERY DISAPPOINTING that the staff did not properly handle the issues which now I will not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to speak with me last night. Again, I am so sorry for the inconvenience and glad to hear the staff also comp'd your last night entirely. I appreciate hearing it from the guest's perspective so that we can take better care of our guest's in the future. I will get you the information for Labor Day weekend and hope you will give us a second chance.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is right on the beach, and has its own outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. Right on a nice trail around the area, and is in a nice area with nice restaurants around. The hotel is nice, excellent staff and service. We were lucky to get a free upgrade to a full ocean view room, and this made us stay two nights longer :-) . Waking up and spending the night chatting on the balcony with the ocean view, was an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Full Ocean view, it worths the extra money you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Greetings in Vancouver!
It’s wonderful to hear you were able to extend your stay a little longer and that we had your room available. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable time and hopefully created some great memories relaxing on your balcony. Thank you for sharing and we would love to welcome you back again sometime.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel because we wanted to be right "on the water." I read such wonderful reviews online and even received a personal endorsement from a well-traveled friend who had stayed there.

As the other reviews have mentioned, it is right on the water. So beautiful. The front desk staff and concierge were warm, friendly and very helpful. The hotel is absolutely immaculate and beautifully decorated (kind of "Tommy Bahamas" if that can be called a style). While we were there it was overcast and a bit chilly so we couldn't take advantage of the gorgeous pool area (again, right by the beach).

The bed was incredibly comfortable and we opened the sliding glass door slightly (we had a room overlooking the water - well worth the extra cost) so we could listen to the ocean while we slept. The next morning we drank our coffee on the balcony while watching the surfers, runners, walkers go by. I also made a note to myself that I have to start an exercise routine. :)

They also provide a free, very delicious breakfast spread in the morning and a reception with drinks and goodies in the afternoon. They definitely are at the top of their game in terms of amenities.

OK, so this is what happened to us. We wanted to relax and watch a pay per view movie. When we tried to watch the screen was very pixelated so we called for assistance. A young man promptly came to the room and tried to fix it. He had to leave and come back several times. So for a good hour or so (perhaps longer), he kept popping in (he was very nice) but couldn't resolve the issue. He assured us that we wouldn't be charged for the movie (gee, I hope not).

The next day as we were checking out there was no mention as to the issue, no apologies for our inconvenience. I thought that perhaps they would have forgiven a part of the mini-bar tab (while this was going on my husband started raiding it) at least. For a hotel of that caliber I was kind of surprised about this. Also, please keep in mind this is not an inexpensive hotel. We paid a great deal for our room with the ocean view. Would I go back? Probably. Not in June, though. We were told that the area is often overcast during that time of year.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello in Phoenix!
Thank you for the review. I am glad your friend recommended us to you and that you enjoyed your stay overall. We always like to know how we can make our guest’s stay better and I think I have your answer here. I am sorry for the trouble you had with the movies and more than happy to adjust off your minibar charges. Thank you for the suggestion. September and October are the months with the best weather and we hope you will come and visit us again in the future around that time of year.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.