We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family really love here. Kids and we love here and services. It was on the beach and provided us for welcome drink, Morning buffet was nice on the beach. We have to pay the parking about $25 a day that is a bit expensive, but we love to visit here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello in Tucson-
What a great sunset picture, although I have seen some beautiful sunsets out in your area too! Thank you for writing about you stay and letting us know how much your family enjoyed the Pacific Terrace. We hope you will have a chance to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    998
    216
    48
    37
    25
See reviews for
486
478
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were picking our son up from college in San Diego and have walked by Pacific Terrace Beach Hotel many times. I decided to book it for my husband and I and it was perfect. For a little more money we went for the room with a full ocean view and I am so glad we did. We woke up every morning to the sounds of the ocean. The hotel staff is great. Everyone was super friendly and accommodating. The beds are very comfortable and clean. Everything was great and you just can't beat the location and views. Loved waking up to the surfers riding waves as I sipped coffee on my balcony. We visit San Diego often and have stayed lots of different places. We were always on a mission dropping off or picking up our son, having our hotel be our base.
No more from now on I will stay right here - we walked the beach everyday, great restaurants close to La Jolla, the college and there is plenty to do right at the hotel.

Room Tip: Get Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear sweetemily,
I am so glad to hear you were finally able to stay with us and found it to be relaxing. I love that you can hear the waves crashing from almost every room in the hotel. I agree, the surfers, and sometimes dolphins, provide perfect, free entertainment while relaxing on the patio. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to San Diego.
Warm Regards,
Angela
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

There could not be a better place to stay for lovers of beach culture , great restaurants and beautiful views of the ocean and distant hills of La Jolla . The staff had a genuine interest in "our days " and quickly established relationships with us . The 3 mile boardwalk was excellent running , walking and people watching . The rooms are amazing in decor and views , if overlooking the pool . The pool was open long hours and like the rest of the facility , has a casual , but well managed style . We were there for 7 days , and wished for 7 more .....2 of the best dining experiences are about a 20 minute walk away from the beach , through nice neighborhoods ( seafood and Italian )

Room Tip: 3rd floor oceanfront overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had gotten a last minute deal for a "non-view" room, but when we checked in, the room we were given DID have an ocean view if you were on your balcony or looking out the window (but not from the bed). However, we found that room to be too noisy due to the air conditioner machinery outside the back of that area, so we switched rooms to a "partial view" room (for a $30/night upgrade charge) on the other side of the hotel, which was nice and quiet. In the partial view room, you could see the ocean from anywhere in the room (except the bathroom).

I think that all of the rooms have some sort of view or something good about them (and if there is something you don't like, they seem happy to switch you into something that you like).

I really liked the decor. The windows had wooden shutters, and there were floral bedspreads and an overhead ceiling fan that gave the room a tropical feel to it. It was relaxing, and having a balcony was lovely, with the ocean waves rolling in and the surfers in view. There is a patio set, so you could eat out on the balcony.

The breakfast restaurant is on the main floor in the centre, and through it, you can get to the outdoor seating area and the pool (although there are also other entrances to the outside area -- you don't have to go through the restaurant in your beach wear). The restaurant does not serve lunch or dinner, but they do have some free drinks during the day for you to help yourself to (such as iced tea, lemonade, and chilled water), and in the afternoon between 5 and 6pm, they have free cookies both there and by the front reception desk. The front desk also provides free newspapers and loaner umbrellas if the weather looks inclement. Also, when we had leftovers from eating out, the restaurant staff reheated our food in their microwave, which was very nice of them.

I read a tip on trip advisor about parking which I found helpful and so am stating it again. Even though you could pay the hotel $22 a day for parking, it is really unnecessary, since there is a lot of free street parking very nearby. The street parking is well signed about which days and what times you cannot park there (eg. "No parking between 3am and 6am Thursdays for street cleaning"), and if the curb side is painted red, do not park there, but we never had to walk more than a block or two to get from our car to the hotel.

Our room had a mini-fridge and mini snack bar, both inside the bathroom (unusual, but probably makes the bedroom a little quieter). The bathroom was spacious and had a close-up mirror.

The one thing I didn't like was that the room designers didn't think about people stubbing their toes on the large bed frames or on the things stored under the counters in the bathroom. Use caution. We did find a cute little bed step ladder. (Unexpected.)

The gift shop on the main floor has long hours and some nice stuff for sale. Also, I can't finish the review without mentioning the excellent front desk staff, such as Angela Hansen (friendly and helpful) and McGarrity (professional and very helpful when we were switching rooms - she took us around herself to make sure we liked the new room, and offered us a choice). I do think that the management should consider hiring someone for the small jobs that crop up at a hotel, like the door to the ice room that won't stay shut, and other little things other reviewers mentioned in recent reviews, but nothing spoiled our enjoyment of our stay.

Oh, and by the way, the mattresses are very comfortable, the bedding is soft and pillows are plentiful. Get the turndown service for the yummy chocolates.

Room Tip: Room 227 had the hum of the A/C equipment in the background (nice ocean view from balcony). Room 125...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband & I stayed here recently for a week on our honeymoon. We loved everything about it! The ocen view from the room and the pool can't be beat! The rooms are always clean and the beds are comfortable. A kitchenette is available along with a coffee pot (with items refilled daily) and a toaster. The entire staff is friendly and helpful and willing to do anything to make your stay a pleasant one. In the restaurant - Marty even made a waffle for me - Thanks! One of the "perks" for us was being able to stay in a smaller more private hotel as opposed to the larger, "tourist filled" ones. We enjoyed the more "private" feel of getting to know some of the staff and meeting with the "locals" along the boardwork and neiboring shops and restaurants. We would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a "full ocean view" and try for the 3rd floor - to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our anniversary trip to San Diego and Vegas. The hotel is getting a bit dated in terms of decor, but the staff and management are obviously trying very hard to do the best they can with what they've got. There is a bit of a 'motel' feel to the place, but the rooms are a good size, the location is excellent, and the staff were generally very friendly and helpful.

With it being the last couple of nights of our trip, and our actual anniversary, I'd exchanged a few emails with Angela to arrange some bubbles for us that evening and the nearby JRDN restaurant to be booked. Both were arranged, although it did need a little double checking as Angela wasn't working while we were there, and it didn't seem apparent that anybody else knew about it. That said, on check in we were upgraded for both nights - it did involve us needing to move rooms, but this was sorted out by the hotel staff, and was handled seamlessly, so top marks for that! :)

Both rooms we stayed in were well appointed, a good size and comfortable, however the decor is a little dark for the beach location. Some brighter colours would help the place feel a bit lighter. The rooms did have ipod docks and pretty large flat screen TVs, and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Having a computer on each floor is a nice touch, and a printer was extremely useful for printing off vouchers for nearby attractions/airline tickets etc.

Some of the rooms could have been noisy being by the road, but we certainly didn't have any problems on that front. It was particuarly nice having a balcony on the first night to have a bottle of wine, and eat a huge pizza from nearby 'Amore' overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the ocean if you can... They charge a premium typiclally though
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Pacific Terrace during Spring break with our two children. The hotel has a relaxed beachy feeling and is much nicer than the outside would indicate. We loved the decor and the view from our balcony was lovely. My favorite thing was sitting each evening on the balcony with a glass of wine, listening to the ocean, feeling the breeze and seeing the outline of the palm trees and tiki torches against the sky. Our room was on the second floor just above the pool area. Even though there were a lot of families at the hotel, the pool was never crowded or noisy. The beach is beautiful here. We had just driven down from Santa Monica where the beaches were crowded and dirty. We really enjoyed walking on the promenade each morning and evening and the hotel supplied us with bikes too. The hotel breakfast was good and the kids loved the cookies each evening. The only downside to our visit was the house keeping service. Our room was skipped 3 out of the 4 days we were there- even after we let the front desk know- it still didn't get done. We would have to call down in the evening after being out all day to get fresh towels and coffee. One time while we were out to dinner someone put some clean towels on our vanity but left all the dirty towels on the floor and the dirty water glasses on the table. The front desk seemed unconcerned. In addition, one evening when my son got out of bed to use the bathroom a piece of the door frame fell off the wall and almost hit him in the head. Needless to say it startled all of us awake. We told the front desk the next morning and asked them to fix this and check to see if the rest of the door frame was secure- upon our return to the hotel that evening it was still laying on the floor and not fixed until the following day after repeated requests. The hotel is convenient to the beach and to Seaworld and I am glad we tried a stay at Pacific Beach. However, having traveled to San Diego several times, I feel there are other places I might consider for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.