We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. We stayed a total of 5 nights in 2 weeks.
We came in April and was offered a full ocean view room overlooking pool. Loved the view and it was nice, we did hear a baby cry in room next to ours until 12am but I guess they felt since we had little ones we wouldn't mind the noise. A little insight "my kids sleep and not cry through out the night since they've been born." So that did bother me a little bit!
Second stay came with all 5 if my kids ranging from teenage to infant. My children are all well exposed to hotel stays and are very respectable to others and their quiet feet we teach. Anyway the second stay was disappointed at first they charged me more for my stay then last time and our room was in a hard location to lug stroller, carrier and the luggage for all the kids. The ice maker was out and we had to travel to the complete opposite of hotel for ice.
After being in our room and settling in all our clothes, luggage and food we discovered the carpeting was soaking wet by the bathroom, I also went to lay baby down for nap and the large decor pillow on bed was full if oils and black stains "gross". The comforter was also torn and I could see my 20 month old putting his finger and digging the stuffing out. So after that I felt I should call front desk Rachel answered apologized and sent up complimentary bottle of wine? That's ok but the room was in clear need of repair. Service showed up to look at water told us they be back with blower to dry floor, he never returned. Room service showed to replace pillow and comforter and she apologized, I just explained to her maybe it was rushed! But we had been waiting since 1245pm and it was ready at 245pm so not sure if the people who stayed their before us was just too ruff on the room.
Call back down to the desk while the older ones where at beach and talked to a Joe. He was AWESOME! He switched us rooms to a larger room not exactly where I wanted to be but it was nice! He also had Dan help with are luggage and transfer he was Great,too!! We finished out our Thurs to Sunday stay and we had a wonderful time!! Thank you Joe (supervisor) Angela M. And Dan Thomas. You all made our stay feel "top notch" and we appreciate what you did!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We are very sorry your stay got off on a rocky start but so happy that our team was quickly able to turn it around. We have addressed all of the housekeeping items you mentioned and thank you again for letting us know. Joe, Dan, Angela M. and the entire team are looking forward to having you back for another great Pacific Terrace experience in the future.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    231
    51
    38
    25
See reviews for
501
518
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The staff at this hotel are fantastic, everyone we had dealings with were lovely. The room was very nice, however we booked a full ocean view room and we were on the side of the hotel, when i questioned the room I was told they considered this a full ocean view. However the view was still nice and i was assured it was a quite part of the hotel, which it was for the 1st night. 2nd night a group of blokes booked the 2 room next to us and the noise was not great, also they smoked on their balconies and partied out there too. They werent as bad as they could have been but had to be told to quieten down repeatedly as the slammed in and out of each others rooms. Also pipe noise from bathroom upstairs was v v loud too.

This said the staff were very considerate and did offer us another room on the other side of the hotel which was also considered a full ocean view which had a full view of the hotel next doors car park so we stayed put and the staff made sure we were disturbed as little as possible.

The hotel is in an area that i would liken to Bondi , not our bag and thats one of the reasons we wouldnt recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get the 3rd floor ( top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Greetings to Sydney! Thank you for staying with us while visiting San Diego. I am so sorry to hear about the noise you encountered with other guests. I am happy to hear the staff was responsive with offering an alternate and only wish we had had more options to move you to. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and made it home safely.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want a beautiful property, privacy, great staff, and right on the beach. The pool/hot tub area is surrounded by glass for your privacy, the grounds are meticulously maintained, the staff is friendly & helpful. Great restaurants at reasonable prices all within walking distance. We'll be back to this property for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms give you the best view of both the ocean & pool area. However, even the partia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Greetings to you in Las Vegas! We are sure getting your type of weather here today- hot. Thank you for the great review of the location, staff and grounds. You are only a few hours away so we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

As a beach-front, family hotel, this is probably as good as you'll find in San Diego. It's right at the water's edge, though it is a very busy beach with the usual mix of eating places, etc. Might not be the best hotel for couples wanting away from it all.
Rooms are good, if not outstanding. Breakfast in the restaurant was very basic, but ok. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Just a pity that they got one big thing wrong...
Our daughter had been staying with us, but had to leave one night before us. She went to reception and ordered a bottle of wine to be delivered to our room. She paid for it by credit card.
Unfortunately, the wine was not delivered. The member of staff had completely forgotten about it.
She offered to give us a bottle away with us, but... we were driving to LA, and... the occasion had passed. My daughter's credit card was promptly refunded, but... that's the difference between a 4 star and a 5 star property (and a 4 star and a 5 star review!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Soar84,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and both surprised and sorry to hear about the missed wine. We will be sure to make up for it next time. Thank you for letting us know about it as we always strive for that 5 star service and certainly share in your disappointment. Thank you again and we hope to see you on any future trips to San Diego.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights recently and were upgraded to a junior suite on the pool level. That was so peaceful and serene. I found all the staff to be the most friendly and accommodating folks I've seen working in a hotel for a long time and I get around the planet frequently. The only thing I would say to the management is that to get in step with the rest of the world they should, at the prices charged for the rooms, include breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Found a junior suite with a deal online for 130 $. Don't be fooled by the brownish color outside. You wi be welcome by an incredibly friend staff that will make you feel comfortable right away. As soon as I walked in my room I was impressed. The interior might look a little dated but a fantastic patio with an ocean view will leave you breathless. Spacious room and details attention along with a huge TV will convince you of your choice. Enjoy happy hour poolside with a view on the ocean and the broadwalk. The location is within walking distance of bars and restaurant. The only problem is that you won't be willing to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is right on Mission Beach in San Diego. Almost all rooms have great ocean views some of which overlook the pool area. Gated underground parking is available. We had an ocean view, dual queen room overlooking the pool with a private balcony. The rooms had all the usual amenities plus a mini fridge. There were plenty of families with children at the hotel enjoying the pool and jacuzzi area. Just outside the gated pool area is a public walkway along the beach, so access is easy. The property is well staffed and maintained. They provide a varied breakfast menu for $14 adult, &7 child with discounts available with AAA membership. The breakfast area becomes a small bar area (right off the pool and deck area) where one can purchase simple drinks in the afternoon.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the shape of a large U with the open portion facing the ocean. The outside rooms al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.