We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great beach, ultra relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 270 hotels in San Diego
brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great beach, ultra relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived at the end of a 2 week road trip and a very long drive, and couldn't have picked a better place to spend our last few days. The hotel is welcoming, relaxing and luxurious, the staff friendly and down to earth, and the location ideal - right on the beach and a short walk from the main stretch, which had some very cool bars and restaurants. We booked the cheapest rate room but it was still huge and - we felt like we'd been upgraded. The only things I found disappointing were the fact you had to pay for the wi-fi code and for breakfast - the rooms aren't cheap, so we thought these would be included in the price. No other criticism though - we loved it here and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    932
    208
    44
    36
    25
See reviews for
442
454
30
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The location is convenient to beach and retail, but this place is just fabulous. Well kept, great housekeeping and front desk staff, fabulous views. Oddly, no grab bars in the shower, at least in our double room. Not a big deal unless you are older or unsteady, but it was the one thing that I noticed in a place that doesn't miss a beat. There is underground parking, and it's not cheap at 20-plus daily, but good luck finding a parking spot any old time. There's a small but useful gym, massage room, and even the mini-bar prices aren't outrageous. From robes to wall safe to microwave, coffee brewer and small kitchen in the room, this is a option that should exceed the needs of most travelers.

Room Tip: You don't need a lower-lever, ocean-facing room. There are rooms that look down the beach, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great location, nice rooms, great views of the ocean. The staff is very accommodating, very profession, know your names, continue to ask if there is anything they can do for you. Nice pool and spa, cookies at 4:00pm, coffee and newspaper in the morning. Close to La JOLLA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place is always top notch. You cannot beat the accomadations, price and staff.
Megan, Stephanie and Andreas as well as all the other staff were over and above accomadating. My wife and I usually come by ourselves but brought our 3 year old and 2 month old and it is perfect for all occasions. Truly exceptional and a MUST when in San Diego!

Room Tip: The St. Croix is awesome and the presidential suite but we truly love the St. Lucia room. It has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time with us and thank you for mentioning Megan, Stephanie and Andres. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to them. I am so glad to hear the entire family enjoyed the stay and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel twice now in about 18 months and we had a wonderful stay both times. The staff is completely dedicated to you and insures that you have a great time at their hotel.

From the front desk staff to the room service and concierge service, you will not be unattended to! The rooms are beautiful with amazing balconies and views. There is nothing left out of the rooms. I understand they will be remodeling in 2013; I cannot wait to return to see the upgrades to an already amazingly beautiful hotel.

Forever Fans,
The Perry's from Phoenix

Room Tip: The rooms directly in the middle of the hotel are the best! They have the biggest balconies with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the moment you step into Pacific Terrace you feel welcomed.

In our extensive travels, this small hotel stands out for its exemplary and friendly service, attention to detail and outstanding location right on the beach with a view to Crystal Pier. Pacific Beach has not always been a great address in San Diego, but we have no complaints whatsoever about the location of the hotel. The area has improved noticeably over the years and is VERY safe. We have been staying here since around 2007 and the hotel has remained consistent in it's top-notch service and beautiful room decor.

For example, on our last stay, we had requested a room transfer in order to enjoy a full ocean view. The staff was so accommodating and explained exactly how/when the transfer would occur. (They took care of EVERYTHING, down to the items in our refrigerator.) When we arrived in our new room after a day out, we found everything moved and a personal, handwritten note from the staff addressed specifically to us - we felt very special. And that says it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel certainly came up to my expectations during my five days. It really was an amazing experience. Rooms, staff and location of the hotel is simply perfect. One willing to attain a top notch view of Blue Pacific Ocean can’t forget the significance of this hotel. Swimming in the hotel pool was certainly a great experience for me and so as watching the sunset view. Oh! I just loved that view. 2nd and the 3rd floor are surely better for the ocean view. So, it’d be better to get a room on these floors, particularly on the 3rd floor. It wasn’t too hard for me to get top quality food as there have been many restaurants near to the hotel. However, a delicious breakfast is provided by the hotel and I really loved the breakfast (Probably I was too hungry). Overall, it was a great experience and it surely is one of the finest hotels in California.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is probably the best for a better Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.