We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVE THE PACIFIC TERRACE HOTEL IN SAN DIEGO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WE LOVE THE PACIFIC TERRACE HOTEL IN SAN DIEGO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel twice now in about 18 months and we had a wonderful stay both times. The staff is completely dedicated to you and insures that you have a great time at their hotel.

From the front desk staff to the room service and concierge service, you will not be unattended to! The rooms are beautiful with amazing balconies and views. There is nothing left out of the rooms. I understand they will be remodeling in 2013; I cannot wait to return to see the upgrades to an already amazingly beautiful hotel.

Forever Fans,
The Perry's from Phoenix

Room Tip: The rooms directly in the middle of the hotel are the best! They have the biggest balconies with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    981
    217
    46
    37
    25
See reviews for
470
472
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the moment you step into Pacific Terrace you feel welcomed.

In our extensive travels, this small hotel stands out for its exemplary and friendly service, attention to detail and outstanding location right on the beach with a view to Crystal Pier. Pacific Beach has not always been a great address in San Diego, but we have no complaints whatsoever about the location of the hotel. The area has improved noticeably over the years and is VERY safe. We have been staying here since around 2007 and the hotel has remained consistent in it's top-notch service and beautiful room decor.

For example, on our last stay, we had requested a room transfer in order to enjoy a full ocean view. The staff was so accommodating and explained exactly how/when the transfer would occur. (They took care of EVERYTHING, down to the items in our refrigerator.) When we arrived in our new room after a day out, we found everything moved and a personal, handwritten note from the staff addressed specifically to us - we felt very special. And that says it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel certainly came up to my expectations during my five days. It really was an amazing experience. Rooms, staff and location of the hotel is simply perfect. One willing to attain a top notch view of Blue Pacific Ocean can’t forget the significance of this hotel. Swimming in the hotel pool was certainly a great experience for me and so as watching the sunset view. Oh! I just loved that view. 2nd and the 3rd floor are surely better for the ocean view. So, it’d be better to get a room on these floors, particularly on the 3rd floor. It wasn’t too hard for me to get top quality food as there have been many restaurants near to the hotel. However, a delicious breakfast is provided by the hotel and I really loved the breakfast (Probably I was too hungry). Overall, it was a great experience and it surely is one of the finest hotels in California.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is probably the best for a better Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise ID
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel lived up to it's solid reputation. The staff was very gracious in working to move us to a view room, which was unavailable when we booked. The happy hour sitting poolside and watching the sunset was exactly what you want in a beach front experience.
Two strange things that stood out were the in room bathrobes ( I wish I had bought one) and their lounger towels that fit perfectly over the chaise lounges. But it this attention to detail that makes the place stand out.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different suites, they are very well appointed with killer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samntha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This small hotel was perfect for our family vacation (2 adults and 3 children). I was impressed with the size of the rooms, the great staff, and the location of the hotel! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable! Nothing is better than swimming in the hotel pool and being able to see the ocean right next to you! Perfect! We were also able to take the kids to the beach below the hotel and this was super accessible from the back entrance of the hotel. We never ate at the hotel but there are so many restaurants located near this hotel it was never hard to find something to eat. Also, there was a CVS down the street where you could buy swim toys and other stuff children need.The staff at this hotel was AMAZING and super helpful! Like others have stated, the only issue we had involved pool towels not being available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Small hotel in a beautiful location at Pacific Beach. No restaurant but they do a really nice breakfast. Plenty of places along the oceanfront to eat. The staff are just lovely. So helpful from the time you arrive until the time you leave. Loved it and highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family of four recently stayed at the Pacific terrace Hotel for 4 days over Thanksgiving and we were blown away. Within feet from the beach and the Pacific Ocean this hotel and the view it offered us was out of this world. We travelled from PA for a western vacation through southern California and I can't imagine a better place to stay. The rooms were great and the morning breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever had.

The only complaint's I would offer up, and they are very minor, is that the pillows were less than dseireable, as they should have matched the value of the hotel. Also, the pool supply of towels was always out of stock. Both of these things is very minro and easily correctable.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Charming, Beach...
Show More
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
Boutique, Luxur...
Show More
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#10 of 268 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#4 of 23 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#16 of 23 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#8 of 23 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
The Grand Del Mar
The Grand Del Mar
#1 of 268 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.