We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beachfront Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach and Breakfast Pkg
Ranked #4 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Boise ID
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Beachfront Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel lived up to it's solid reputation. The staff was very gracious in working to move us to a view room, which was unavailable when we booked. The happy hour sitting poolside and watching the sunset was exactly what you want in a beach front experience.
Two strange things that stood out were the in room bathrobes ( I wish I had bought one) and their lounger towels that fit perfectly over the chaise lounges. But it this attention to detail that makes the place stand out.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different suites, they are very well appointed with killer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    251
    55
    38
    25
See reviews for
524
551
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samntha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This small hotel was perfect for our family vacation (2 adults and 3 children). I was impressed with the size of the rooms, the great staff, and the location of the hotel! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable! Nothing is better than swimming in the hotel pool and being able to see the ocean right next to you! Perfect! We were also able to take the kids to the beach below the hotel and this was super accessible from the back entrance of the hotel. We never ate at the hotel but there are so many restaurants located near this hotel it was never hard to find something to eat. Also, there was a CVS down the street where you could buy swim toys and other stuff children need.The staff at this hotel was AMAZING and super helpful! Like others have stated, the only issue we had involved pool towels not being available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Small hotel in a beautiful location at Pacific Beach. No restaurant but they do a really nice breakfast. Plenty of places along the oceanfront to eat. The staff are just lovely. So helpful from the time you arrive until the time you leave. Loved it and highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family of four recently stayed at the Pacific terrace Hotel for 4 days over Thanksgiving and we were blown away. Within feet from the beach and the Pacific Ocean this hotel and the view it offered us was out of this world. We travelled from PA for a western vacation through southern California and I can't imagine a better place to stay. The rooms were great and the morning breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever had.

The only complaint's I would offer up, and they are very minor, is that the pillows were less than dseireable, as they should have matched the value of the hotel. Also, the pool supply of towels was always out of stock. Both of these things is very minro and easily correctable.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Pacific Terrace. From the front desk always greeting us, to the housekeeping always having a smile. We got to San Diego early and they let us check in, having us look at two suite so we could have the view we wanted. Very helpful with restaurants and things to do. We slept great, no noise at all except the ocean if you had the slider open. The room was clean, they even came back at night to turn down the beds. Thanks Pacific Terrace for a wonderful Thanksgiving stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I got a really good deal on this hotel through Southwest Airlines vacations. It included our flights from Phoenix, a rental car, and five nights at the hotel. The staff was super friendly and helpful, especially our bellhop who told us about area restaurants and showed us all the amenities of the hotel and our room. It was a near flawless experience.
Our third floor room with a partial oceanview was incredible. I am always wary of “partial” views, thinking I would have to lean over the balcony and look around the corner to catch a glimpse of water. This was not the case, we had an excellent view of the north end of Pacific Beach and from our terrace could enjoy beautiful sunsets and sunrises, watch the surfers, or “people-watch” the folks on the boardwalk below. The hotel was quiet. One night I was awakened by some drunken revelry in the streets but that’s to be expected in a beach town.
The room has really handsome furniture. I’d love to have one of those beds in my house. The mattresses were very comfortable. It was great having a small kitchen with a fridge, microwave and sink for early morning coffee and breakfast in the room. Although the hotel doesn’t have a restaurant, they do bring in a buffet breakfast but we are light eaters in the morning so we just shopped for a few grocery items and saved our dollars for great lunches out. Every afternoon at 4pm there were warm cookies available and we were offered one complimentary glass of wine during our stay.
My only criticism of the hotel is the bathrooms could use some updating. The bathroom is quite large with a little alcove that was completely empty…..I ended up putting my suitcase there so it would be out of the way. However, being a plus sized woman, I was dismayed by the standard sized tub. There was certainly enough room for a garden tub or even a Jacuzzi and either would be a vast improvement.
My companion had a few issues with the maid service. The maid would leave the radio blaring when she left the room so my friend left a message asking her to turn off the radio….she unplugged it….which disabled the clock which we did want to use…ah well, communication snafu. Also, the maid seemed to have a problem leaving the right number of wash cloths….we had two, requested extras and got four, the next day she took them all away so then we had none….lol.
Normally I am a budget traveler so I would not have selected this hotel without the deep discount provided by the vacation package but for those that are not as frugal as I am, this would be a great destination hotel for a beach vacation....or maybe you can find a great deal like I did.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to book a partial ocean view...the 3rd floor is the top floor and probably the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for writing about your stay. I’m glad you enjoyed the room and I agree the partial view rooms still have incredible views. I like your recommendations for the odd bathroom space in those particular rooms and we will keep them in mind during our next remodel. Thank you for the housekeeping notes, I will look into them further and make sure we are all on the same page. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not for the business traveler for sure.
The view is amazing but who cares if you arrive late and leave early. You need a good night sleep.

Check in: efficient and pleasant

Location: lost of restaurants around + the usual Starbucks/Ralph/CVS

Room: very nice "island" feeling

BUT: very noisy guests who would not tone it down when the reception called them. The crowd that runs in the hallways and slams doors.
BUT: no tea in the room
BUT: no shower cap (not good for a female business traveler) and IMPOSSIBLE to get one at 6.30 am because housekeeping has not arrived and they are not even sure they carry some!
BUT: internet is not free
BUT: pool crowd and noise

I would not go back.

Room Tip: if you really have to go there choose a room with full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pacific Terrace Hotel and for writing about your stay. I am very sorry for the excess noise you experienced and that you were not able to enjoy the views or the pool. I do hope the staff was as responsive as they normally are in their assistance with the noise levels. We have tea bags available upon request and we now have shower caps at the Reception Desk. Our Internet Access is now complimentary and included with all packages. If any of the updates change your mind, we would love to have you back again anytime.

Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and BookIt.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.