We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can die now, we've stayed in the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“We can die now, we've stayed in the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spent a week here in mid October. This amazing property is just south of LaJolla, on the very North edge of Pacific Beach and its waterfront location was just what we wanted from this Southern California sojourn. Instantly greeted and welcomed by caring and considerate front desk staff (this upbeat attitude never changed, by the way, all week!) and swiftly checked in. I had made reservations by phone a month earlier and at that time, upgrade options were not available. At check-in, this inquiry resulted in an upgrade for a modest additional amount after the two weekend evenings had passed (porter came by on Monday and cleaned out the room, refrig, closets, etc and transferred it all to the new room). The rooms are wonderful! Room 302 on the south side, had a potentially wonderful view, tragically marred by a palm tree but was otherwise very accomodating. Our upgraded room, 312, was a luxury suite with a kitchenette, 2 balconies, full living room and separate bedroom with a jacuzzi tub and a two sink bathroom--ahhh, vacation amenities! The hotel had beach bikes for the asking and the very bike-able coastal trail lead all the way to the San Diego River outlet. Various bays, and their respective bike trails were just 2 blocks away. There was a surprisingly comprehensive gym as well. While we never had the breakfast, it was available for $15. There was no bar and no snacks. There is a Ralphs within walking distance and we foraged for our goodies given that we had a little refrigerator. The pool was enclosed with a wind shield and at night there were fire pits and torches. There was no on site restaurant but plenty of them were available, all within walking distance. The rooms were nicely appointed and very quiet. WiFi was marginal in the suite, interestingly, but room service was exceptional, to include turn down service. There was ample and secure parking in the basement, regrettably at ~ $25/night but it enabled us to come and go at our leisure and know our car was protected. The highways were close and we traveled at ease.
Stay here again? You bet! Again and again. This wonderful staff and this striking facility made sure we felt loved. Expensive? Sure...let's review--Southern California, adjacent to LaJolla, waterfront. Lessons learned? Go off season, pay for the suite. If you seek the consummate SoCal beachfront experience stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    982
    217
    46
    37
    25
See reviews for
471
472
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. We upgraded to an ocean view room which was beautiful. The staff was friendly and they went above and beyond to help us with our car trouble. Definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have a romantic stay in San Diego or bringing the kids to play on the gorgeous beach steps away from your room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alger, Alger, Algeria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've said it before, but I'll say it again. Sometimes location is everything ! The Pacific Terrace is a relatively small hotel where you can walk down the steps straight on to the beach and then start swimming in the Pacific. It really is quite something to go to sleep at night lulled by the gentle sound of the Pacific's waves lapping on the beach next to you.

Having said that, the hotel itself is great also. All the staff were very welcoming, from the car valet up to the manager. The room was enormous, the bed was big and very comfortable, everything was very clean, etc. The hotel is about 20 minutes out of downtown San Diego, but it is no hassle at all to go there.

Not cheap, but given the size of the room and the proximity to the ocean, why should it be?

All in all, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor with a full view of the Pacific
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is situated in Pacific Beach and is right on the beach. The staff are very friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has a great pool and hot tub with views across the ocean. The rooms are very comfortable and each afternoon cookies and coffee are provided free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Awesome hotel on the beach and boardwalk! We visited for 6 days in early December 2011. Very relaxing and awesome views from the room balcony. Close to many local restaurants with good food options. The boardwalk was amazing. The pier and Christmas tree was impressive during the holiday season. The room was very nice, updated and clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was above average for hotel breakfast options. Excellent choice that we just lucked into by looking on the internet. The green flash was amazing! Definitely would stay there again. Highly recommended! Fly in, no car necessary, bus rides effective, and trolleys a good option. Old Town was really impressive. We cannot wait for our next opportunity to visit Pacific Terrace!

five-gs from Louisiana

Room Tip: Full ocean view and leave the doors open in the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I lived in San Diego for 11 years and moved up to Northern California a year ago. My boyfriend and I decided it was time to go back for a little mini vacation and to visit friends. I have to say that staying at Pacific Terrace MADE our trip. The place is in a perfect location in Pacific Beach and the hotel is great! What really was the icing on the cake for us was the staff!! Enrico and the rest of the front desk staff were AMAZING!! I have been in the hospitality business for 15 years and this was BY FAR the BEST hotel experience I've had. They made us feel welcome and at home. Katherine the concierge was wonderful as well, even though we weren't the typical tourist (zoo, seaworld, etc...) she was determined to help out how ever she could. I will recommend this hotel to ANYONE and EVERYONE that I can and I will definitely be back, again and again!!

Room Tip: Every room in this place is great, No Joke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starvinog
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our third trip to San Diego and third stay at Pacific Terrace. The location is fantastic. Within walking distance from many restaurants, shops and ocean promenade.

The views from the rooms of the Pacific sunsets are beyond compare. the rooms are always immaculate and spacious with extremely comfortable bedding.
We love to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine in the afternoon and enjoy the view.

The pool and the spa both overlook the beach...need I say more!?

The Pacific Terrace is our San Diego home away from home.

Room Tip: We always opt for the full ocean view rooms but most of the partial view room are nothing awful by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.