We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was my 3rd stay here, obviously I love it. This time I took my boyfriend for his birthday.

Pros -
1. Location - You are RIGHT on the ocean. Okay, you have to go down some steps. A lot of food and cool places within walking distance (I highly recommend KONO'S for any meal, and of course Pacific Beach Bar and Grill for some drinks or dinner ---taco Tuesdays are my favorite!) of good food and places to shop.

2. Room - Nice rooms! We had an Ocean View Junior Suite (1 king) on the 2nd floor this time, GREAT! We spent 90% of our time on the balcony listening to the ocean and people watching. Rooms also have sink, dishes, soap, towels, coffee/tea maker...everything you could need. Very spacious and clean! They also create neat towel animals (cute for children!).

3. Hotel - Easy to find, nice under the hotel parking with access keys. Very open front desk with friendly agents! Nice clean pool and jacuzzi area, with access to their little eating area that you can buy drinks etc.

Room Tip: Any room is really a good room here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear RachelH,
Thanks for writing about your 3rd stay with us. I am glad you brought your special someone with you for his special day and relaxing on the balcony sounds wonderful! Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    998
    216
    48
    37
    25
See reviews for
486
478
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

4th annual trip and stay here: rooms, property, views & staff certainly remain wonderful. However, rates had doubled to $665 for twin ocean view room since last year (and for that matter since sister-in-law stayed 2-weeks ago). We made reservations 1+ month ago and when medical situation (surgery) came up we were told our payment was "non-refundable." So, we made to trip: at check-in we were informed that the room type we'd paid for was unavailable, but an upgrade to a suite was = another $100 per night. The suite was very nice, but a couple of features were broken & looked at by staff, but not repaired while we were there (3-nights). Even though we had purchased a stay-two-nights & get 3rd night free package it apparently didn't include the "upgrade" which we learned at check-out. What a scam! A fifth stay here is very doubtful at present.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us once again for your 4th annual visit. I am happy to hear so many things are as wonderful as the last 3 visits you had with us. The room assignment and extra fee seem confusing and unusual and we would be happy to sort it out if you could please contact us. I am sure we can restore your confidence in us once again.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great hotel right on Pacific Beach. Rooms were great and bikes were provided for free to cruise the beachside footpath. Rates were quite expensive but you're paying for the excellent location. We would have no hesitation staying here again if we return to San Diego and wanted to stay by the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lovely location, great ocean access and rooms that are done fantastically with comfortable mattresses, spaciousness and fitting design. A couple of things I had come across was the parking situation, the only lot is valet only with a curb on large enough for two vehicles at a time. So in the morning when multiple people were leaving there was a lengthy wait for the car due to limited curb space. It meant we waited till others left and fingers crossed cabs don't arrive, then your wait is extended. Close to the beach yes but close to dining, no. I didn't feel like waiting for valet to bring the car so asked the desk for an idea of restaurants in the area are was disappointed in the limited selection. So I waited for the car and asked for some sushi suggestions, the closest recommended place was 15 miles away and to be honest not good at all. That is a whole other review but I'd plan not to walk to food or shopping...just the beach. Otherwise, could not be happier withy the room, the value or beach access. I would stay again without doubt, just better expectations knowing now what I know.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is stunning, could be featured on a television special "top ten amazing beach hotels in the world" and all the viewers watching would be envious, it is that nice. amazing location in pacific beach, stunning views, staff is great, personable and friendly. makes every other hotel you will stay at look like a motel 6

Room Tip: we got a junior suite, pricey but had an awesome balcony with a full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The warmth, friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff at The Pacific Terrace made our 7 day stay here memorable but unfortunately some other not so positive things did too!
Whilst very clean and well maintained, our room(s) were very old and VERY tired with decor more befitting the 1970's than today - Caribbean Island theme was way outdated (plastic/silk flowers - dust gatherers were located everywhere). The main hallways had old patterned carpeting which was well worn and the whole place was extremely dark (brown) and depressingly dowdy.
The small pool area (located on the beach boardwalk) was lovely (lots of tropical trees and plants) but was generally very noisy - kids used the pool area as a screaming play park! (Nice touches with the poolside sun lounger towels though!). Staff were lacking at the poolside and so it was difficult to get a drink etc.
The hotel doesn't have a restaurant (except for breakfast) but they'll order and deliver food ordered outside for you if you want to eat on your own balcony (good size).
Sadly, a local church feeds local homeless people on a Thursday (early evening), in the area immediately outside the front door of the hotel (next to the public restrooms). In the hours leading up to this honourable act, hundreds of homeless people descend on the area and it was, to us, quite intimidating! (Unfortunately, our balcony overlooked the area and we were subjected to listening to serious verbal and some physical abuse taking place - between a number of the unfortunate souls).
The hotel is located perfectly on the north side of Pacific beach - above the ocean and offering terrific sunset views. Take care if walking on the boardwalk outside though as it's a bit of an assault course - cyclers, roller-bladers, dog-walkers and vagrants all use the boardwalk and it can be quite hazardous trying to keep out of everyone's path!!
During our stay the hotel's WiFi was completely down for 2 full days (not ideal if you're trying to 'keep in touch').
All in all, while acceptable, I personally wouldn't recommend this place but it was full of return guests who were obviously happy to live with the hotel's shortcomings in order to feel welcomed by the amazing staff!

Room Tip: Pay extra to have a full ocean view or partial view on the north side of the hotel (the south side p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello in London!
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip. Thank you for pointing out one of our best assets, our team. I am very sorry to hear your stay was less then perfect and apologize for the abnormal Internet issues we experienced. It was a puzzling issue on the telephone company’s line and I am sorry for the inconvenience. We are actually in the process of selecting the design for our new hallway carpet and I will be sure to pass along your comments of the Tommy Bahama theme to our designer. Unfortunately, the circumstances in the surrounding area are beyond our control we will be sharing your comments with the local enforcement agencies. We hope you have been enjoying your travels and wish you the best from San Diego!

Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was our first time to stay in this hotel. Just based it on the reviews on tripadvisor. Sure enough it did not dissapoint! Sad part was we only stayed overnight! My wife and 2 kids. My eldest
Is 4 yrs old. He enjoyed every minute of our stay. He did not want to go back home anymore. Full ocean view room was perfect. Few steps away from the beach, heated pool, clean. Just open the sliding door to the patio and you can hear the waves all day. Close to restaurants!
Bike rentals. And much more!! We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.