We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of ocean view family rooms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beware of ocean view family rooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

The family ocean view rooms are very dissapointing ,no view of the ocean .The rooms are situated on the corners of the hotel building on the ground floor,So the view is of shrubs and a public footpath.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    231
    51
    38
    25
See reviews for
501
518
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed at the Pacific Terrace in San Diego from 2-2-08 through 2-6-08. I have to say that this hotel is the cleanest beach hotel I have every stayed in. We had an ocean view room. It was a little smaller than I expected, but the view was absolutely beautiful. The maid service cleans your room twice a day: once in the morning, and once in the evening for turn down service. They do a great job. We brought our two toddlers and they brought their stuffed animals. The kids were so happy when we came back to our room at night to find our bed turned down, and their little stuffed animals propped up on pillows next to chocolates. The entire staff was very nice. I read reviews about them being so young, which is true, they were all young, but they were all very knowledgable, professional and exceptionally helpful.
The continental breakfast was very good, and it was great to have fresh Starbucks coffee, tea, lemonade and iced water available all day long.
Overall, our experience with this hotel was great. I only have one thing that I would warn about. The preferred driver service for the hotel. First, I want to say that Carlos was a very nice man. He was very insightful about San Diego, and told us about the best places for food and sight seeing. We spoke with the driver before we booked his service. He said he would have a car seat for us, and we do not need to bring one. When he picked us up from the airport, he came early and was in a very clean, beautiful car, but the car seat was only an infant carrier. Needless to say, I couldnt fit either of my children in it, so I had to buckle them in and pray to God that our ride would be short. Carlos does not use turn signals. Nor does he turn his head to check traffic before switching lanes or come to slow stop at traffic lights. We had planned on using him for all of our excursions, but after the ride from the airport, I was too afraid to use him. We didnt reserve a rental because we had everything planned out with the driver service. We called cab services in San Diego, but none had car seats available. We ended up taking a bus to Sea World. On the bus were a couple of local homeless people. We walked everywhere else. It rained all day on Sunday, and we were stuck inside the hotel with nothing to do but watch tv. It is not entirely Carlos' fault. He said that he had a car seat that we could use during our stay if we used his service, but he didnt know how big our kids were. When we asked him if he had a different car seat, he told us that was all he had. My very strong advice is to rent a car with car seats, or bring your own if you plan on traveling with your small children.

  • Liked — The view was amazing.
  • Disliked — We should have done our research about the driver service, and had a back up.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

We just returned from seven nights at this hotel. We traveled with our three children and all of us loved our time there. We have told everyone they have to stay here when in San Diego! The hotel is small, yet very nice, and close to everything.; Seaworld, La Jolla, and convenient to get to I-5. The beach is great-and easy to get to. Breakfast was great, wine between 4-5 pm, extra towels and chocolate every evening, and the pool was almost as warm as the hot tub! Our view was great of the beach and boardwalk, I believe every room has a view of either the beach, the pool, or both. Staff was extra friendly and accomodating!! We will stay here again everytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

This was a wonderful hotel in San Diego right on the beach! I have a 2 year old and it was perfect to walk down to the beach or swim in the heated pool in January. I am not a cold person and even though it was only in the 60's you could definately swim! We were upgraded to a junior suite with a partial ocean view for a small fee (I think like $20). We stayed in room 302 and it had a beautiful view of the coastline. The balcony doors you could leave open and listen to the waves. The hotel has several restaurants that deliver to the hotel. Gringo's is a really good! Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Great stay and we would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — The ocean view
  • Disliked — leaving to come home to snow and a temp of 17!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel from January 15 to 19, 2008. We chose it because of the glowing reviews and because it enjoyed a Tripadvisor #1 rating. I agree with the reviews citing all the good points. The hotel is very well located with an excellent view of the ocean and beach area. It is convenient to all areas north and south. The services, accommodations and personnel are top-notch. The downside is that it is pricey and on top of the room rate, if you use the parking garage on site, it will cost another $20.00 per day. Room tax and a "San Diego Marketing and Tourism Assessment" will add another $45 or $50 dollars per day onto the bill. also, in colder weather, the breakfast area can get quite crowded; in warmer weather this would not be a problem, as there are a number of nice tables outside near the pool. All in all, it is a super-nice place if you can handle the cost.

  • Liked — Location, view, quality of accommodation and service
  • Disliked — Cost, crowded breakfast area
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

We just got back from this hotel and had a great time! We stayed in a Partial ocean view room with 2 queen beds. They had a 42" plasma tv with HD channels and an ipod adaptable stereo. There were a few things missing though. There was no mirror in the bathroom (there was on with a sink outside the bathroom) and there was no hair dryer. I do agree with other reviews that you can hear people out in the hall. We could also hear the people above us get up at 3 am to feed their baby. Otherwise we had a great expeirence. The view was wonderful (ask for the South side of the hotel) and the breakfast was pretty good as long as you take it back to your room and watch the ocean while eating. The staff treated us well and even recommended we use thier preffered driver to get to the airport. It was 10 dollars cheaper than a cab and we were driven in a black mercedes.

I would and have already recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

I have stayed in lots of places around the world including the 7 star burj al arab in dubai, they have nothing on this hotel.
One word says it all: perfect

  • Liked — The sound of the surf
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.