We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we had expected when walking upon this place. Nice pool, great view, and very reasonable prices. The manager Enrico was very polite along with all the other staff at this hotel. We will definitely be coming back at his hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    238
    54
    38
    25
See reviews for
509
532
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just returned from a great week in San Diego and the first three days of our trip were spent at the Pacific Terrace Hotel in Pacific Beach. The accommodations were wonderful - we had room 117 - a junior suite with a patio facing the pool area and the ocean. The room was very nicely decorated and I just loved our little patio area. The attendants at the pool were great and I just loved the warm, soft chair covers. The concierge, Katherine, was very helpful with obtaining our tickets for the Zoo and giving us recommendations for meals. The buffet breakfast at the hotel is pretty good but since the hotel is centrally located there are many restaurants within walking distance. Our second part of the trip was spent in Coronado at the Hotel Del which, of course, is beautiful, but my family and I said more than once that we wish Pacific Terrace had a hotel on the Coronado Beach. Thanks to Pacific Terrace for making our stay with them so enjoyable and memorable and we hope to return in the near future

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with an ocean or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was my first time for staying at a hotel on PB. I have been to San Diego many times, but always stayed at Marriott. Read alot of reviews before deciding on Pacific Terrace and can only tell you it was one of the best surprises I've had in a long time. All of the staff were friendly, always smiled, greeted us every time, spoke English, helpful etc, etc. The room was very presentable.......although the bed was a bit challenging to get into, especially if you are short :)) The partial view of the ocean was a treat......breakfast was good (glad I was able to get it for half-price). Great location besides being right on the beach...the boardwalk was awesome for food, shopping and exercise (watch out for the bikers and skateboarders!!). The only item that I didn't care for was charging for parking. At the price I paid for the room, the parking should have been included. Overall a very good experience and I will book here again when I return to San Diego.

Room Tip: The partial view of the ocean was good, but I am guessing that the full view is even better, but cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Pacific Terrace was the last stop of our vacation, and it was a standout. Note that our perspective is gleaned from stays at other highly-rated SoCal properties, such as the St. Regis and Ritz-Carlton in Laguna Niguel. Here's a quick review:

First Impressions and Rooms: When you pull up to the hotel, you'll probably get a sinking feeling that you've booked a reservation at a seaside motel. But wait until you enter the property. It is a small, aging gem to be sure, but it is modernized and nicely appointed with marble, wood, granite and robust furniture in the rooms, which are spacious and comfortable (I would highly recommend a suite). The place is very clean, and we're picky. The ceilings are a bit low, but again, they are nicely wood paneled and finished beautifully. The bathrooms need updating: The old bathtub/shower combo has been retrofitted with glass doors. But step out onto your large balcony and soak up that view! It was nice being on the quiet end of the boardwalk, too.

Location: Pacific Beach is a hoot -- the prototypical Southern California beach and boardwalk scene with surfers, roller-bladers, sunbathers and skateboarders of every age. One rollerblader, in his late sixties, was singing opera as he skated lyrically to his grove. Nearby restaurants range from the Pacific Beach Ale House (great microbrewed Pal Ale) to Tower 23's upscale restaurant JRDN, which I highly recommend (opt for the bar/appetizer menu). Perfect weather, miles of beach only steps away, Crystal Pier, great food and drinks . . . what else do you need?

Amenities: The Terrace includes bikes, beach towels, beach toys, even beach umbrellas in the equation, and the place is loaded with families. There's no restaurant or bar per se in the hotel, although they provide a decent and relatively inexpensive breakfast buffet. My wife and I missed having a bar onsite for a nightcap or a place to grab a quick sandwich for lunch. Nevertheless, the area is brimming with restaurants and bars.

Service: Service was solid -- nothing spectacular, but sufficiently good.

Overall, I would highly recommend it for a family trip if a beach vacation is what you're after. Also, the location is great for a fairly quick jaunt to the Wildlife Safari or Sea World. I would say it's just shy of five-star territory, but given the location, I gave it a bump.

Room Tip: Go with a suite, and definitely get a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our family's at the Pacific Terrance were the second half of our California vacation. After leaving the Hollywood area, we were really ready for some quiet relaxation. There are so many positives to this hotel:
- location to the ocean... Literally right on the beach
- excellent service from everyone we encountered
- free use of bikes and beach chairs
- comfortable beds
- A /C and lights in the room are motion sensored which makes them ecofriendly
- balcony with an ocean view
- proximity to boardwalk
- very secure access from the beach and board walk
- close to Sea World and the Zoo
- free cookies between 5p and 6 pm daily
- nightly turn down service

Cons
- smoking is allowed in rooms. If you open your patio door and someone near you is smoking on a patio near you, it drifts into your room (not fabulous!)
- some foot traffic on the board walk late at night can be heard if they are yelling or drunk or both

Our family really enjoyed our stay and will look forward to returning in the coming years.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

First I would like to say I was not a guest but came on to do some work in the hotel and was absolutely amazed of this hotel !
Really what a great place...the rooms look great and the staff is really nice and polite .
I recommend it !
I am an owner of a carpet cleaning service and really enjoyed working in the hotel ..
http://www.carpet-cleaning-san-diego.com

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Salem
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Let me start by saying that pacific beach is a unique place. The hotel is outstanding, we arrived at 2:00 had an early flight and were allowed to check in right away. Service is wonderful, everyone from front desk to housekeeping did a great job!

Pros:

Location is great now keep in mind that PB is interesting area to say the least. Homeless yes, surfers yes and an interesting night life yes.

Clean with customer service above and beyond.

View excellent.

Pool small but warm.

Atmosphere excellent.

Safe yes it is never felt uncomfortable even with a 6 year old.

CONS:

Price $$$$$$$$$$$$

Car service provided by the hotel a bit shaky!!

General observations would I stay here again yes without question.

If the price is right would not hesitate to stay again lots of places to eat, located right on boardwalk and safe. Loved easy beach access. Would be a five ranking if price was a bit less expensive!!!!!

Don't hesitate to choose this hotel we enjoyed the service and the location. Several families with kids were staying when we were there. It is very friendly and inviting the choc. chip cookies and milk and hot choc. were out of this world.

Don't pay for breakfast at the hotel walk to Kona's much cheaper and tasty. Fat burger good, Duck and Dive good, Firehouse expensive but food decent.

Stayed at Homewood suites Liberty Station last two night of vacation the hotels are like comparing apples and oranges have a rev. for that hotel also.

Both places great!!

Room Tip: Ocean view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.