We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 268 hotels in San Diego
New Salem
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Let me start by saying that pacific beach is a unique place. The hotel is outstanding, we arrived at 2:00 had an early flight and were allowed to check in right away. Service is wonderful, everyone from front desk to housekeeping did a great job!

Pros:

Location is great now keep in mind that PB is interesting area to say the least. Homeless yes, surfers yes and an interesting night life yes.

Clean with customer service above and beyond.

View excellent.

Pool small but warm.

Atmosphere excellent.

Safe yes it is never felt uncomfortable even with a 6 year old.

CONS:

Price $$$$$$$$$$$$

Car service provided by the hotel a bit shaky!!

General observations would I stay here again yes without question.

If the price is right would not hesitate to stay again lots of places to eat, located right on boardwalk and safe. Loved easy beach access. Would be a five ranking if price was a bit less expensive!!!!!

Don't hesitate to choose this hotel we enjoyed the service and the location. Several families with kids were staying when we were there. It is very friendly and inviting the choc. chip cookies and milk and hot choc. were out of this world.

Don't pay for breakfast at the hotel walk to Kona's much cheaper and tasty. Fat burger good, Duck and Dive good, Firehouse expensive but food decent.

Stayed at Homewood suites Liberty Station last two night of vacation the hotels are like comparing apples and oranges have a rev. for that hotel also.

Both places great!!

Room Tip: Ocean view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    981
    217
    46
    37
    25
See reviews for
470
472
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had a "girls weekend" here in May. Can't say enough about the great location! No need for a car, plenty to do & see in the neighborhood. The hotel even loans out cruiser bikes for the trail right next to the property.
The rooms were unique, comfortable & stylish. The breakfast buffet has everything you can imagine, and the drink service at the pool was exceptional.
On the expensive side--but worth it for a special occasion!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, or first floor walk out to the hot tub~
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My honey and I went to San Diego for my niece's graduation and wanted to have a vacation tied into the stay. After calling around and checking online for hotels that had a "Ocean view" we found this hotel and it intrigued us. Further investigation into reviews on tripadvisor led us to make this our choice. We experienced a wonderful stay that will be a lifelong memory. The staff were the most courteous and professional people that you could ever expect. When my honey called to confirm the reservation and informed Rachael that it was kind of a anniversary for us as well, there was a bottle of Cabernet waiting in the room with a very nice card. The room was very nice with a warm atmosphere with the darker wood. We stayed on the second floor with a ocean view on the northwestern side of the hotel, and when we walked into the room and opened the balcony we noticed that it was right above the jacuzzi. I was a little concerned that it might get a little noisey, but to our pleasant surprise the only noise we heard was the ocean waves all night. And in the morning when sitting on the balcony watching the ocean I could not help but notice that the gentleman cleaning the pool/jacuzzi never once let a gate slam or make any noise that would disturb anyone sleeping in. The extra kind of attention to detail that the employees do here is what makes this a jewel. The ocean view was great, and you can watch people surfing and can walk right down the beach from the pool area.The breakfast omelette's were suprisingly good and we even saw some whales from the balcony. What else could one ask for? We will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
It's great to hear about your wonderful experience with us. We enjoy surprising our guests on special occasions! Our eggs and omelets are very popular and get lots of rave reviews, I'm glad you enjoyed them as well. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

OVER RATED!
OVER PRICED!!

I was recently 'star struck' with the great reviews and awesome pictures of this place so I decided to book it for a last minute weekend trip.
The pricing system at this place is annoying. First off the place is VERY overpriced with rates between $350-$600 a night for basically a 'standard' hotel room with a nice view of the pacific.
If you get the Internet special then nothing is included in the price of the room. I mean nothing! Not even WIFI. That will be an additional $10. Parking another $22. Bottle of water in your room $5.00. Breakfast $14.00. etc.. etc..

I would rate this place 4 stars if it was a $150 a night hotel. But for a $350+ a night hotel this place is only worth 2 stars!

We had a "full ocean view room with 2 queens". The room was decorated nice and a good size with a good size balcony. Again... great if it was $150, but not that great at $350+.
The bed was old school with one of those gross bedspreads that doesn't get washed after each guest and those dirty throw pillows that you immediately throw on the ground because they are used over and over as well. Most nice hotels do NOT use these anymore!!

The balcony was large with a nice view of the ocean. Unfortunately the pool is directly below and it was 'family time' every day from 9am to 9pm. At least 6 kids in the pool at all times, screaming and being kids, having fun. Definitely a family place and not a place to relax or chill out.

The balcony was covered with bird poop. I expect MORE for $350+ a night!
The pool gate was LOUD and slams shut every time someone goes in and out of the pool. If your balcony is near the pool you will hear it all day and night. Why doesn't the hotel FIX this!!??

The hotel has a great location right on the ocean and beach path.
Walking distance to pretty much everything.

The room was average clean. EXCEPT behind the headboard which was completely gross. They need to either clean that crap or push the bed back against the wall so it cant be seen!!! NASTY! ... see pictures... wouldn't you expect this to be clean at these prices??

I could go on and on.. but basically this place is not worth the money they charge!
Not even close!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Your concerns are very important to us and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. Although your comments are unexpected we are already reviewing and addressing the areas mentioned. I appreciate the feedback and I am very sorry you did not have the typical Pacific Terrace experience.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Excelent hotel right on pacific beach walking distance to shoping and resturants. Extreamly clean and the rooms vs price is comprable to a 5 star hotel with a small bed and breakfast feel. Customer service is over the top. Overall looking forward to staying again next time were in san Diego.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Pacific Terrace is a very nice hotel with a very friendly and personable staff. They work very hard to keep the property clean and in good shape. We had a third floor, two-room, ocean view with a great view of the ocean. We're from the Midwest and this was the first time we had taken a California beach vacation and we had a great time. Pacific Beach has a lot of local surfers that are out at the break of dawn and surfing until the sun goes down. We thought this was very cool! There is more of a local edge at Pacific Beach as compared to Coronado Island which seemed like it had many more tourists, had few locals, no surfers and a more controlled beach experience. We would stay at Pacific Terrace again. A block south is a great little local restaurant name Konos for breakfast and you can drive north a mile or two to go to LaJolla to George's for a terrific, high-end lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Wonderful stay, me and a few friends stayed here from 5/29-5/30 and the rooms were clean and great location! As we walked onto the beach late at night we saw a gorgeous Asian chick in a dark green bikini off the balcony, drinking wine.. it was a highlight of my night! The staff is nice and place makes the night feel forever young.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.