We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We've just spent seven days at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. The room overlooking the Pacific Ocean was very spacious and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant, and we enjoyed their good breakfast on the pool patio. When we needed a dead battery replaced the staff were there within minutes to have it fixed. We also loved the location. In fact, within miles on either side of the Pacific Terrace you could not find a more pleasant and welcoming hotel. You're just minutes from great restaurants, cafes, the fishing pier and even Trader Joe's. We strongly recommend the hotel to all our friends and to anyone who wishes to spend a few relaxing days in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    979
    217
    46
    37
    25
See reviews for
468
472
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Everything about this hotel is first rate. Each employee we encountered was friendly, professional and strived to please. The pool was comfortably warm and very clean with ample chairs and lounges. You can walk from the hotel to many very good restaurants and shopping. There is definately something for every age, from children to seniors. The fresh cookies in the evening were great and I must say, we had the best coffee of all at the hotel. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are very handy to the pool which would be great if you have children. The sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just spent at week at the Pacific Terrace hotel. It was wonderful-, great service, staff is the friendliest and most accommodating. Right on the boardwalk and beach which was nice for walks to local restaurants. Beautiful view of beach and surfers from our balcony. Enjoyed riding bikes down the boardwalk and poking around the beach shops. Enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet and the evening cocktail hour. Delicious smoothies for the children. Getting to local sites was easy. Special thanks to McGarrity Harney and Andres. unfortunately weather was too cool to enjoy the beach although the pool was heated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Greetings to you in Massachusetts!
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your week with us. Our smoothies have definitely been a hit with our younger guests. Thanks for mentioning McGarrity and Andres, they are both customer service extraordinaires and will enjoy reading your post. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and really had a great time. We had a room on the third floor with a full ocean view. The room had a kitchenette and a table to eat at. There was also a balcony overlooking the pool and beach. The hotel has a nice layout which made it seem as if there was no one next to you. In the evenings it was nice to watch the sunset from the balcony. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They were very responsive and had lots of great advice for nearby eateries. The hotel was so close to the beach and was easy to walk to. They also have beach chairs and umbrellas that you can rent. They have an outdoor shower with warm water to rinse off after coming back from the beach. The hotel offers room service, but it’s not 24 hours and it’s from a nearby restaurant. They also have breakfast, but we didn’t try it. Location: The hotel seemed to be in a “young” part of town, but it wasn’t rowdy. My husband and I were traveling with our two kids and it felt safe. It isn’t close to downtown San Diego, but when you’re standing there looking at the ocean from your room it didn’t really matter. It was wonderful to open the patio door in the evening and just listen to the ocean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The breakfast is VERY good (we had the AAA rate which made it a really good deal). They loan out chairs and sand toys to take to the beach which is right out the back door. It's walking distance from many restauants and is close to the zoo. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked adjoining rooms on the non-ocean side of the hotel. While we only had a glimpse of the water, the rooms were plenty big and clean. The breakfast was better than most buffets. Getting to Sea World was an easy ten minute drive. Downtown was about 15 minutes (no traffic).

The staff was really great. We were cheerfully greeted every time we walked in or out of the hotel.

Only a walking path separates the pool from the cliff that the ocean is just beyond. Tall glass walls allow for a stunning view, but you still feel the breeze on a colder day.

There is bar service at the pool. Order a smoothie for the kids to make them feel special. For dinner, think ahead as there aren't that many great options close by.

All around great experience.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room on a higher floor that directly faces the ocean. You'll lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at the PT in a large executive suite this time. It was not crowded for 5 and we even entertained numerous guests! The bathroom was large enough to be a bedroom. The room was very large as well, with nice furnishings and a great view from the balcony. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating!!! The happy hour cheap wine was a very nice touch. We did not otherwise use the dining facilities for breakfast. There are many restaurants in the area. The pool was warm enough for the kids. I might have swum a bit more if it were heated to about 29 deg. C. The hot tub was clean and definitely hot enough. All in all we have no complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.