We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oceanfront property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Lake Orion, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful oceanfront property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We decided on this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were so happy that we trusted it. We had an oceanfront suite with jacuzzi tub and two balconies. Not only was the room beautiful and spacious, but the people there were absolutely wonderful! Joe Sutherland was one that really stood out as being very friendly and helpful. Diego too. The buffet breakfast every morning was really good. We wish it would've been included in our rate, but not a big deal. The location of the hotel is perfect. You can walk to any restaurant/bar right down the boardwalk in front of the ocean. We were able to walk to a CVS also to get necessities. We didn't have great weather, but it was one of our best trips ever. We were able to sit at the pool and hot tub one day and that area is beautiful too.

Room Tip: spend a little more to get full oceanfront on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    988
    215
    48
    37
    25
See reviews for
479
476
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for a weekend and enjoyed our stay so much. The hotel was beautiful inside and out. We had so much fun, and would recommend it to friends and family. The staff was really friendly. We met the front desk manger Enrico, and he was very helpful made us feel welcome. The hotel was so cute! We will be back :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I just got back from 5 days at PT hotel. Had room 318. Very nice and clean. Spacious enough with a great balcony over the pool/ocean view. Drawback was the weather did not cooperate to see a nice sunset or sit on the balcony and watch the ocean, but great trip anyway. We are big walkers and you can walk anywhere from here. Ocean walk is very busy with lots of activity and great people watching. Everyone and I REALLY MEAN EVERYONE is friendly and nice at this hotel. Not one person, from maintenance to front desk, hesitate to greet you when you walked by even if they were very busy doing their job. We ate at the Fishery nearby which was great. Did not use pool or hot tub since it was cool although plenty of people were there. DId not do the breakfast although it looked good. I asked the housekeeping woman if we could have extra regular coffee packets and she handed me 3 of them. Several other places I stayed at made it such a hassle to get more than one packet. Pacific Beach is a unique area and even though it appears to be more spring breakish, it is family oriented. Just walk the neighborhoods. The main part on Grand and Garnet can be a little challenging. Certainly saw some interesting characters. This hotel is at the north end of the beach and seems quieter than further south. Not sure who is running the place, but GREAT JOB!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is nice. Be sure to get the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Pacific Terrace Hotel was such a great experience and the perfect choice for a quick birthday getaway. Right on the boardwalk our room had huge sliding glass doors out to a balcony that was so close to the water that the surf was the first thing I heard every morning.
The service was absolutely excellent and the employees clearly love their jobs and sincerely want to provide a good experience. They even put bottles of water in our car as we were leaving in case we needed a drink on the way out of town!
The hotel itself is lovely, the room was spacious (third floor suite), everything worked, very nice breakfast buffet option and absolutely the closest to the beach location on Pacific Beach. Everything PB has to offer is literally right outside the door. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in San Diego.

Room Tip: Oceanfront on the third floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just returned from this hotel. We bought the least expensive room category which turned out to be a good thing because the sun stayed behind the fog the entire weekend so I would have upset to have spent $450 on a room overlooking the fog in addition to being cold all weekend but the hotel cannot control the weather after all. I was a bit concerned after arriving Friday evening and hearing a fellow guest whining to an employee about being accused by another guest of stealing an elevator as he dripped water from the pool onto the tile floor. The hotel seemed equally visited by couples as wells as families with LOTS of kiddos running down the hallway which surprised me due to the price point. This transfers to the experience as the hallway ceilings are very low and hallways are tile so everything echoes down the hallway and into the room. My neighbor closed there door at least 10 times the first hour of the morning which rattled our room so it was a matter of we were up once the first neighbor got up.

The staff was very pleasant and I loved the self serve coffee in the lobby each morning.

The room decor was very nice and the bed comfortable.

I am not sure if I would return to this hotel as there are so many other Mission Beach options at a lower price point with similar pluses and minuses.

FYI. The secured garage is $22 a night but this is pretty common to all of the Mission Beach hotels.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms near the lobby and breakfast room. I cannot imagine how loud these would be. Possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

If there were an option to give this hotel 6 stars, I would. I have never felt so compelled to review a hotel, good or bad, as I feel to review this one. First and foremost the staff (everyone, without exception) is wonderful -- the best! They could not have been more friendly, helpful, polite, accommodating... I could go on and on. Our car was retrieved promptly (often several times a day) within minutes of calling down for it. Every time we came through the lobby the desk staff and concierge inquired as to where we were going today and if they could get us tickets, make us reservations or print us directions -- really helpful.

The staff in the Carribean Room for breakfast in the morning and for drinks (and the delicious chocolate chip cookies at 4:00 every day) in the afternoon were great, as well. Breakfast was good (two different omelettes, sausage, bacon, breakfast potatos, make your own waffles, muffins, yogurt and delicious fresh fruit) and is 1/2 price if you are a guest at the hotel. Coffee is complimentary in the lobby and/or the Carribean Room in the morning, too. Drinks and light food can be ordered from the pool area in the afternoon, and the service was always prompt, polite and with a smile.

The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are lovely and the view from the ocean front balconies is amazing. A couple of times we saw whales swimming by in front of the hotel from our balcony. It was fun to people watch and watch the surfers every day, as well. The rooms were very clean and one of the days our room was actually cleaned twice. Chocolates left on our pillow every day were good, too. My one and only VERY MINOR complaint is that the pillows on the beds were a bit lumpy.

This was our first time visiting San Diego, or the west coast for that matter; we were there to visit my nephew and his family. Though there are many hotels much closer to where he lives, I would never consider visiting the area again without staying at the Pacific Terrace.

We miss the PT and staff already but we will definitely be back. Keep up the great work, it really does make a difference!

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms, if you can get one, have amazing views. Second or third floor have better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Our first night, we were put in room 110, right by the lobby and so noisy. I was awakened and lost sleep. However, since then, we were moved to a quieter part of the hotel. The service is truly excellent here. The weather did not cooperate with our hopes to use all the amenities, such as pool and beach, but I would not hesitate to come back.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Bryan,
Thanks for updating your review. I am glad to hear the staff found a better room for you but sorry to hear about the weather. We hope you will visit us again soon and my personal recommendation for great San Diego weather would be September and October if you can travel then.
Best Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.