We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. This was our first stayat this unique hotel and fully enjoyed it. The hotel is a small one with an intimate feel to it. The entire staff was truly wonderful! The rooms were decorated beautifully and the bed was super comfy! Now this is not a cheap hotel and was told that the rates used to be much better, but they still don't seem to have any trouble filling the rooms. The breakfast that they have each morning is a really good one! The breakfast bar gives you everything from dry cereal to omelets and waffles. They also offer fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, toast, coffee,toast and juice. Something for everyone! You also get half off if you are in one of the upper range rooms. The pool area is beautiful with lots of greenery and is kept incredibly clean. The hottub is also very nice and a great place to go and meet other people. At night, the lights come on and you almost feel you are in Hawaii! Not to mention the sunsets you see from your balcony! They are very helpful in making dinner arrangements for you and can even give you VIP cards at various restaurants. (Thanks Katherine!) There is underground parking that is gated, so there is never a question of safety....no matter what time you are coming or going. This is an incredible place and would not hesitate to spend time there again on our next trip to California. The Pacific Terrace is a unique hotel all around! Love it!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor and face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    222
    49
    37
    25
See reviews for
492
489
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!! This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in San Diego and had an amazing stay here.

The staff are all extremely friendly, helpful and efficient and the service they provided made such a difference to our stay.

We booked the presidential suite and wow, it was wonderful!! The bed was huge (I actually had to climb up into it!), comfy and had a view looking right onto the ocean from it which was beautiful and very relaxing. We had a large balcony overlooking the ocean which is wonderful for having a drink and watching the sun go down. The balcony isn’t too private as it also overlooks the pool but with a view like that we didn’t mind at all.

The room was spacious with a kitchen/dining area and a good size fridge, the wood and kitsch tropical floral design was very fitting to the beach location. The bathroom was wonderful, with a huge Jacuzzi bath – pure luxury! Separate walk in shower, WC and large marble top dressing table area with terry cloth robes. The hotel offer a turn down service in the evening with chocolates on the pillows and this was a really nice touch.

The pool is nice, clean and a good size with views of the ocean. There is also a hot tub which stays open after the sun has gone down. There were lots of sun loungers and the pool area was really quite peaceful (we did stay out of season). The bar by the pool does happy hour from 4pm with 2 for 1 drinks and the friendly bartender made us some awesome frozen margaritas!

Location is amazing, couldn’t be better! The hotel is right on the beach, with beautiful views and beach walks and walking distance to lots of nice restaurants and bars.

Valet parking is available at approx $20 a day and we did use this service on the first night. It is pretty easy however to find free parking on the streets around the hotel if you didn’t want to pay.

I loved this hotel and if we are ever lucky enough to visit San Diego again, we will definitely be returning and recommending to all our friends!

Room Tip: Presidential suite had views of the ocean from the bed and large jucuzzi tub - well worth the splurg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your wonderful comments. Our team enjoys reading comments about their hospitality, such as yours. The Presidential Suite is one of my favorite rooms in the hotel and I am so glad you were able to enjoy it on your visit to San Diego. We hope you will make it back to both San Diego and the Pacific Terrace again in the future.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. We were greeted upon check-in and offered an upgrade which we graciously accepted. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We had an amazing view. The front desk staff were very professional, pleasant, helpful and knowledgable. There is no onsite restaurants, but many good restaurants within walking distance. There is room service to the hotel from two nearby restaurants vWe ordered twice and the food was delivered promptly and was good. Large portions so we saved by splitting an entre. We were well satisfied with our stay here and if in San Diego in the future will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great location overlooking the ocean. We saw dolphins passing by from our balcony. We have been staying here for the last 4 years, unfortunately others have identified this great place to stay. The prices have increased and availability is getting slightly tougher to obtain rooms based on the popularity.
Beach front location is good for those wanting to take in all that San diego has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Why would you stay here when you could stay at much better hotels in the same price range but with so much more to offer? Yes, the proximity to the beach and the views are great but there is no restaurant and no bar to speak of either. Rooms are drab and full of well meaning dust traps. I am sure the staff are nice but we had to carry our own luggage and had no further interaction with any staff after check in anyway. 2 of 246 in San Diego! I don't think so!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being honest and for sharing your opinion with all of us. We appreciate the feedback as we always try our best to meet our guest’s expectations. I apologize you were not offered luggage assistance at check in. This service is certainly the standard for both arriving and departing guests and I am surprised you did not encounter the bellman during your check-in process. We take all of our guest’s comments seriously and wanted to let you know that in addition to the Caribbean Room open for breakfast and happy hour, we have room service available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We also have a full wine and drink menu available in-room or in the pool and patio areas. Again, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in San Diego and happy travels to you in the future.

-Angela Hansen and the Pacific Terrace Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have stayed here many times starting back in the 80's to most recently last year 2011. Nice rooms, great location, great views, great staff!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We spent four nights there and were very pleased with the hotel, ammenities and the staff. We stayed in a Junior King Suite which was very nice to have the larger space for more than a one night stay. Nicely furnished and clean. My husband had arranged in advance for us to return to the hotel the first evening to a path of rose petals and candles. The staff paid attention to when we left the room so that they could execute his surprise for me. It was beautiful and perfect. We did not try their breakfast buffet although it smelled good. Instead we opted to walk down the beach and try some of the closeby local places. The pool was kept very clean and we enjoyed the hot tub too. We did not appreciate the many homeless beggars but found that to be quite prevalent in the greater San Diego area.

Room Tip: The second or third floor is a better choice for a better view. We were on the second floor. The d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;