We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Let me tell you. If you really want to treat yourself or the family. Stay at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. Truly the best place on the beach. I was looking for weeks for not just a nice place or a good place that was small and cheap. I was looking for a Best!! This place is it.

I wanted a place that I could take my love of 20 years and treat her to wonderful time and spoil her But, not break me. Hey.. I work for a living. Well I found it here. You will meet a great and helpful staff. From the front desk to house keeping. Very warm and friendly people. The room was the best that I had ever stayed in (Presidential Suite). This is the first place that looked just like the pictures you see on the site and not were they did some photo magic and you end up in a cracker box. Worth every penny. You get what you pay for. Not so!!. Here we got more then we could do in a weekend!

The view was priceless.. Full view is the way to go. King size bed slept like a baby. All we could hear was the sounds of the pacific with the door open. Beach was right down the stairs Everything is within walking . We put 30 miles on the car that weekend most was to and from the airport the rest... I got lost and we call the hotel and they reel us right in.

Good place to eat is Nicks!!! Great food. have the SeaBass. Tip'em good. Nick's is Just pass the Denny's same side of the street and there is a food store also water chips ect. everything. I look foreward to staying there again and bring the family from the east coast to enjoy San Diego. The Pacific Terrace Hotel is the ONLY place we will stay Thank you guys You hit it out of the park.

Andree
Las Vegas NV and WE KNOW HOTELS

Room Tip: Presidential Suite full view are larger then some peoples homes super nice clean lot of room King Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    998
    216
    48
    37
    25
See reviews for
486
478
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I can't believe the great ratings people are giving this hotel! Yes the staff are friendly but very young. We were asked at breakfast 'do you have a last name?' doesn't everyone?
The rooms are ok but certainly not 4 star rated. We visited the Coronado on our way back to the Pacific Terrace & it is a true luxury hotel with rates about $100 less a night. We could have cried. The website really misleads guests - there is no spa as such, it is a door which is locked and you have to call a number. The pool is small and unheated with scruffy dated lounger cushions. The breakfast was lukewarm with no fresh toast or hot tea. The so called room service is from local restaurants not inhouse. We walked to see what they were like, they were jam packed with drunks, music thumping - 8pm. Then there were the vagrants, stinking on the benches we walked past along the beach which was badly lit - also people just staggering about, drugged up, smoking weed. We had our kids with us who were scared so did a quick walk round the block and came back without dinner. The hotel is in an area of small streets leading to the beach, some of the homes have furniture dumped in the gardens and it's generally a run down scruffy area with no fine dining. Fine for spring breakers, not families. Our dinner on our 2nd night was snacks from the CVS - great! Realistically the price per night should be $150. $20 for valet parking is also a joke - we got our own car out every time. It is more like an inn or motel that has been refurbished to look good with selective photography and wording. They should watch out for trading standards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Spend a Wed thru Friday here and was pleasently surprised at the accomodations. As most of teh reviews point out, the rooms are great and the the hotel has a lot to offer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to San Diego. We are delighted to hear how our rooms surprised you. So many of our guests comment that they look even better than the pictures on the website. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again on any future business trips or weekend getaways to San Diego.
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Every single person I enteracted with, from the front desk to the maintainance guys to the maids, everyone was absloutly delightful. Everyone said hello to you with a willing and genuine smile. They were there to answer questions when you had them and make arrangments for you. The hotel is beautiful. Excellent location. It was a delight to stay there. A+

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excellent service, the staff was friendly, pleasant, and helpful.
The room was very nice, comfortable beds, good shower, plenty of linens. The carpet was the worst part of the hotel, it was stained and funky looking. Loved the balconey. Location was tops. Breakfast at Kono's almost everyday. Enjoyed the Starbucks coffee in the lobby every morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff was top notch. Customer service was above and beyond. The location was great. It's just outside of the craziness but close enough to walk to it if/when you feel you need to get a little wild. The rooms were great. They had a boutique feel and not a hotel feel. The pool could have used more lounge chairs. However, you are right on the beach so go get a little sandy. The hotel has complimentary boogie boards and bikes which was huge for us. It's also directly on the boardwalk. Perfect for a jog or bike ride or people watching. It's on the pricey side but would recommend it over all the other properties we saw, including La Jolla. Do yourself a favor and stay here and visit the other wonderful areas of San Diego.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, which was the last stop on our 10-day California vacation, in October 2010. We traveled the opposite way most people do, I guess, and started up north in Sacramento and made our way down the coast. Loved the entire trip, but what a beautiful way to end it! The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the staff could not have been more helpful during check in and our room was spectacular! Nice big room, gorgeous HUGE furniture - 2 beds, big closet and sink/vanity area with an enormous bathroom (oddly laid out with a giant empty space where there should have been another vanity and sink) a large shower and toilet. The balcony overlooked the pool and hot tub and the view of the Pacific was perfect! The hotel is right on the path that runs along the cliffs and is close to the Crystal Pier and lots of restaurants and bars. The hotel had a concierge who was very helpful with directions, maps and advice. The free breakfast was OK - nothing fancy. We loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.