We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for anyone on a business trip or a weekend away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Durango
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for anyone on a business trip or a weekend away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Spend a Wed thru Friday here and was pleasently surprised at the accomodations. As most of teh reviews point out, the rooms are great and the the hotel has a lot to offer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to San Diego. We are delighted to hear how our rooms surprised you. So many of our guests comment that they look even better than the pictures on the website. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again on any future business trips or weekend getaways to San Diego.
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    220
    48
    37
    25
See reviews for
490
482
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Every single person I enteracted with, from the front desk to the maintainance guys to the maids, everyone was absloutly delightful. Everyone said hello to you with a willing and genuine smile. They were there to answer questions when you had them and make arrangments for you. The hotel is beautiful. Excellent location. It was a delight to stay there. A+

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excellent service, the staff was friendly, pleasant, and helpful.
The room was very nice, comfortable beds, good shower, plenty of linens. The carpet was the worst part of the hotel, it was stained and funky looking. Loved the balconey. Location was tops. Breakfast at Kono's almost everyday. Enjoyed the Starbucks coffee in the lobby every morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff was top notch. Customer service was above and beyond. The location was great. It's just outside of the craziness but close enough to walk to it if/when you feel you need to get a little wild. The rooms were great. They had a boutique feel and not a hotel feel. The pool could have used more lounge chairs. However, you are right on the beach so go get a little sandy. The hotel has complimentary boogie boards and bikes which was huge for us. It's also directly on the boardwalk. Perfect for a jog or bike ride or people watching. It's on the pricey side but would recommend it over all the other properties we saw, including La Jolla. Do yourself a favor and stay here and visit the other wonderful areas of San Diego.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, which was the last stop on our 10-day California vacation, in October 2010. We traveled the opposite way most people do, I guess, and started up north in Sacramento and made our way down the coast. Loved the entire trip, but what a beautiful way to end it! The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the staff could not have been more helpful during check in and our room was spectacular! Nice big room, gorgeous HUGE furniture - 2 beds, big closet and sink/vanity area with an enormous bathroom (oddly laid out with a giant empty space where there should have been another vanity and sink) a large shower and toilet. The balcony overlooked the pool and hot tub and the view of the Pacific was perfect! The hotel is right on the path that runs along the cliffs and is close to the Crystal Pier and lots of restaurants and bars. The hotel had a concierge who was very helpful with directions, maps and advice. The free breakfast was OK - nothing fancy. We loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a great time, but a little more than I usually would spend for a four night outing.

Room Tip: Stayed on 1st Floor, Excellent Access to the Pool and Still had a view of the ocean. Room was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I just got back from a one night stay. I have NEVER been so impressed by the service and staff at any hotel, ever. (Not even the Hotel Del Coronado in SD, which has NOTHING on this hotel except being famous and overpriced). Everyone was so extremely helpful without being insincere. They seem as if they enjoy their jobs:) (Must have a great management team). We found parking when we arrived, unloaded with help and later valet parked. Andrew (staff) delivered our bags to our room and even unloaded a box of capri suns into the fridge. Over and beyond expectations. We requested bed rails and they were delivered within 5 minutes. We loved the room #218. Beautiful furnishings, crown moulding, widescreen tv, ipod dock, etc. We borrowed their bikes and the staff helped us by attaching my trailer to one of the bikes and when we returned he collapsed it and stowed it in my parked car for me. The spa and pool were heated nicely. The only improvement suggestion would be to have a restroom outside or nearer the pool. It was inconvenient to have to go outside of the pool area with my room key, to go inside near the reception desk to the unisex restroom using my key. We were with toddlers so we frequented the restroom a bit. You also need keys to leave property. The outside shower was nice too, nice and as warm or hot as you like. The "Tommy Bahama" toiletries could have been some no frills brand but I brought my own so no big deal (but I did try them). Overall, I would recommend to anyone. Great place. I am so glad I got to experience it and hope to return one day when my budget allows, since it was $400.00 plus a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.