We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excellent service, the staff was friendly, pleasant, and helpful.
The room was very nice, comfortable beds, good shower, plenty of linens. The carpet was the worst part of the hotel, it was stained and funky looking. Loved the balconey. Location was tops. Breakfast at Kono's almost everyday. Enjoyed the Starbucks coffee in the lobby every morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    221
    49
    37
    25
See reviews for
491
485
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff was top notch. Customer service was above and beyond. The location was great. It's just outside of the craziness but close enough to walk to it if/when you feel you need to get a little wild. The rooms were great. They had a boutique feel and not a hotel feel. The pool could have used more lounge chairs. However, you are right on the beach so go get a little sandy. The hotel has complimentary boogie boards and bikes which was huge for us. It's also directly on the boardwalk. Perfect for a jog or bike ride or people watching. It's on the pricey side but would recommend it over all the other properties we saw, including La Jolla. Do yourself a favor and stay here and visit the other wonderful areas of San Diego.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, which was the last stop on our 10-day California vacation, in October 2010. We traveled the opposite way most people do, I guess, and started up north in Sacramento and made our way down the coast. Loved the entire trip, but what a beautiful way to end it! The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the staff could not have been more helpful during check in and our room was spectacular! Nice big room, gorgeous HUGE furniture - 2 beds, big closet and sink/vanity area with an enormous bathroom (oddly laid out with a giant empty space where there should have been another vanity and sink) a large shower and toilet. The balcony overlooked the pool and hot tub and the view of the Pacific was perfect! The hotel is right on the path that runs along the cliffs and is close to the Crystal Pier and lots of restaurants and bars. The hotel had a concierge who was very helpful with directions, maps and advice. The free breakfast was OK - nothing fancy. We loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a great time, but a little more than I usually would spend for a four night outing.

Room Tip: Stayed on 1st Floor, Excellent Access to the Pool and Still had a view of the ocean. Room was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I just got back from a one night stay. I have NEVER been so impressed by the service and staff at any hotel, ever. (Not even the Hotel Del Coronado in SD, which has NOTHING on this hotel except being famous and overpriced). Everyone was so extremely helpful without being insincere. They seem as if they enjoy their jobs:) (Must have a great management team). We found parking when we arrived, unloaded with help and later valet parked. Andrew (staff) delivered our bags to our room and even unloaded a box of capri suns into the fridge. Over and beyond expectations. We requested bed rails and they were delivered within 5 minutes. We loved the room #218. Beautiful furnishings, crown moulding, widescreen tv, ipod dock, etc. We borrowed their bikes and the staff helped us by attaching my trailer to one of the bikes and when we returned he collapsed it and stowed it in my parked car for me. The spa and pool were heated nicely. The only improvement suggestion would be to have a restroom outside or nearer the pool. It was inconvenient to have to go outside of the pool area with my room key, to go inside near the reception desk to the unisex restroom using my key. We were with toddlers so we frequented the restroom a bit. You also need keys to leave property. The outside shower was nice too, nice and as warm or hot as you like. The "Tommy Bahama" toiletries could have been some no frills brand but I brought my own so no big deal (but I did try them). Overall, I would recommend to anyone. Great place. I am so glad I got to experience it and hope to return one day when my budget allows, since it was $400.00 plus a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Having never been to San Diego before we wanted to experience the Pacific Beach atmosphere but having spent the first part of our travels in basic accommodation we also wanted some luxury. We chose the Pacific Terrace Hotel for both its luxury and its position and it didn't let us down. When we arrived the check-in was handled swiftly and perfectly and after a long drive south to SD it was so pleasant to be able to walk in and check in so quickly. I needed parking and I used the onsite basement parking, You can unload and put your luggage strait in the lift up to your room.

We had requested a room overlooking the sea and that is exactly what we got with a balcony and seating to enjoy the view. The reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful we used the beach chairs and umbrellas, which you can borrow from reception, a couple of times and nothing was any trouble. The staff all seem to enjoy what they do and are very helpful. We even had animals created from the towels placed on top of the TV unit or on the bed when the room had been cleaned which really was a nice surprise.

It was particularly nice to be able to open the doors of the balcony and hear the waves of the Pacific crashing on the shore while lying in bed. The position of the hotel is perfect, its right on the board walk to Pacific Beach but not in the centre of activity so you are not disturbed in any way as you might be if you were based more directly in the middle of things. Our room was quite small for a family of 4 but we managed fine. The room had a coffee maker and fridge which is great. There was also a 42 inch HD TV which was also great.

There are no restaurants in this hotel but having said that, the breakfast is well done and ample. This means that you have to consider that you have go out and find somewhere to eat every time. This is perhaps the only negative, all the restaurants we sampled in the near vicinity are mediocre at best. You have to go at least three blocks back into SD to find somewhere to have a good meal. Granted there are quite a few restaurants along the Pacific Beach boardwalk but they are not great as it seems that they are quite happy with the passing trade they have and seem to cater for the drinking customer more. The best we found was the Green Flash and they got our order wrong but what we had was OK. The pool is nice, clean and gets sun pretty well all day. We had a great few days here and would recommend this establishment but its quite expensive.

Room Tip: If you request a sea view then make sure you specify the top floor away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for three nights, and our family had an excellent and comfortable stay in a full ocean view room (318, I think).

Check in was efficient and extremely friendly; we seemed to be greeted with genuine warmth. We loved the room with its wonderful view (no sunset view from our room as it faced the pier - not an issue for us, but check which room you're getting if that's what you want). The facilities in the room were excellent.

The hotel's location is superb. You can easily walk to a number of eateries which was useful as the hotel does not have a restaurant. There are beach chairs for guests to use, and even buckets and spades for the kids.

We attempted to go for breakfast once but were put off by the air of chaos in the dining area, so we left and went to Denny's instead (a diner type place).

The kids (9 and 7) loved the pool area.

If we are lucky enough to return to San Diego this hotel would be high on our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;