We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful suite in gaslamp quarter of San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Save Saved
You added Gaslamp Plaza Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 E St., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful suite in gaslamp quarter of San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the gaslamp plaza suites for 1 night. It's is right in the gaslamp quarter so walking distance to pubs and restaurant and the harbour. The room we had was absolutely beautiful. Living area leading into a double bedroom and ensuite. Accommodation is a little pricy in this area but you're paying for the location. Breakfast isn't included and they only have valet parking which is dear. There was a mix up with my booking and I was double charged but I was given free parking to compensate. Although thankfully I double checked this because I was actually charged for parking upon check out and had to be reimbursed. Other than this we really enjoyed our stay and would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    162
    37
    22
    14
See reviews for
49
158
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, this classic old-school hotel was a seriously great deal at $99/night. Due to the low season timing of my visit, I ended up in a suite. Great mattress. Huge room. Good TV screen. What a score! The free b-fast leaves something to be desired, but as others have noted, the view is superb. Check-in was easy. The morning check out staffer was incredibly kind and friendly. Internet access will cost you plenty, however.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Fantastic place to stay, Great and friendly staff. The rooms were big and comfortable and the views from the roof top were of the best in San Diego. Location is well located, close to all major bars, restaurants and attractions around the city. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is great to see you enjoyed your room as well as our staff. We hope to see you back soon again.
Thanks again and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I live just 90 minutes away from San Diego but after an evening business event, we wanted to be able to stay in the city instead of driving home. Got a deal on Hotels.com and had mediocre expectations. The hotel exceeded them! The hotel itself is very neat (an old bank) and the rooms are lovely. Our room was nicely decorated, clean and had all the amenities we could hope for. In the morning, continental breakfast was served on the roof overlooking the city. The location was PERFECT. We dropped off our car and walked all evening to various places in the Gaslamp district.

Room Tip: The hotel sits on the corner of two streets, so you can hear some traffic, but you are in the heart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better staff. Friendly, courteous, helpful and smart. Rooms are clean, well appointed and for a couple, the mini suite is the way to go. This could become my favorite. Centrally located, walk anywhere and cabs are readily available. Beautiful rooftop complimentary breakfast. Highly recommend! I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very honored to receive such a great review. From all the staff, "THANK YOU" and welcome back!
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We saw this property at the last minute from a hotel app. We tried to reserve it through the app but were unsuccessful. We drove there anyway and they looked up the app price and honored it for two nights. The hotel is within walking distance to the mall and the Gaslamp district with many restaurants and clubs close by. There were two rooms, a bedroom and living area with microwave, fridge and coffee pot. The rooms were clean and each was unique. There is a rooftop sitting area, the only one that we could see in the downtown area. All the staff that we talked to were informative and helpful. We would recommend this hotel highly for the downtown San Diego area. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I gave this hotel a five star because of it's great value. It's a neat old hotel in the Gaslamp section of the city. The room was small but in good shape and clean. The location was great and the staff was outstanding. The price was really reasonable compared to others in the area. I would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St., San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaslamp Plaza Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.