We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gaslamp Plaza Suites to your Saves list
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 E St., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found this hotel by chance, we had booked in to a different hotel and it was terrible, so we took to the streets and found this gem of a hotel. The room was great, very clean and comfy. The location is spot on, the views from the roof terrace are amazing. Would recommend for couples. Great hotel wound definitely say again if I make it back to San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    175
    42
    23
    14
See reviews for
57
175
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites twice now in the last six months as we visited San Diego for Navy related events for our son. We enjoyed it so much the first time, we knew exactly where we would stay on our second trip. It is so much fun to be right in the middle of the energy in this 16 block area. So many restaurants to choose from! We enjoyed the spaciousness of our suite. I am a great lover of literature so I was thrilled to find we were staying in the Shakespeare Suite and then the Dostoyevsky Suite - loved the naming of the suites! The parking was a bit steep at $30 a day but the convenience of having our car brought to us whenever we wanted was great. The complimentary breakfast on the rooftop is very nice. The staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We do love our repeat guests. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We do value any and all input our guests might have. We hope to see you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and i found the desk staff to be a mine of information about s.d., the breakfast was ok, and plentiful, but limited, the views from the rooftop restaurant over s.d. were great, got a real handle on the place before setting out each day.
The biggest let down about this hotel, for me, was the room we were allocated. It was tiny, it masqueraded as a double, but there was no place to put our cases, as we were living out of them, only being there 3 days, resorted to standing them on end, which did our nice holiday clothes no good at all,
to sum up : nice victorian building, great staff, great position, but beware of the room sizes, they can be very small, insist on one with some cat swinging room!

Room Tip: don't accept a tiny double, complain immediately, we didn't ( being english y'know, we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Service was excellent from making the reservation to check out. Parking at $30 is a bummer, but its valet, right in the Gaslamp area, and in comparison public parking is $28 for overnight. One cool thing about valet is you can text your ticket number to them and they have your vehicle ready within a few minutes. Also, in and out privileges. The room was very nice, quiet, and requires the security pass card to even use the elevator, very secure feeling. Continental breakfast was rooftop, plentiful and fresh, with a good view. There's lots of restaurants within walking distance, and Happy Hours are plentiful with the only drawback being many places didn't open until 4. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The location is excellent being close to many restaurants and its also an easy walk to the harbour. Breakfast was very basic and could be improved with the addition of some yoghurt and cut-up fruit. Otherwise a great hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormond beach florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff and accommodations were great. While the rooms are small they provide plenty of comfort, allowing you to eat in if desired. Rooftop views of S.D. were great. Euro breakfast was adequate. The staff was over the top, they have directions to everywhere, day trip ideas. We had an issue with a purchase at a local jewelry store which was resolved after we left by one of the staff, who sent the product to our house. They made the trip fun. I highly recommend this hotel if you plan to visit and stay in downtown S.D. They do not have a pool nor a fitness centre, but that's ok, we didn't have time for these activities. Plenty of walking to do in downtown S.D.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are always very appreciative for when our guests take the time to review their stay with us. In this case, thank YOU very much for your nice words about our staff. They do truly enjoy making our guests stay memorable and enjoyable.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We never got to stay at this hotel because our cruise was cancelled. I tried to cancel our reservation 3 weeks before the date of our stay but they would not agree because I had booked a non-refundable rate. However, everything else I had to cancel was refunded to me whether it was non-refundable or non-transferable or not. People were very understanding, all except for the Gaslamp Plaza Suites. I'm sure they could have rebooked our room with 3 weeks notice of our cancellation. To top it off, I got an email about a "no-show" for this hotel. If they are that cheap or hard-nosed I'm glad we didn't have to deal with the hotel in the long run.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I am very sorry your cruise got cancelled. In regards to us not allowing cancellation of a non refundable reservation, it is clearly informed upon making the reservation that in order to get the 25% discount, the reservation will not be able to be cancelled, modified or refunded. There is always a choice when making a reservation to either select the regular rate without any restrictions or the non refundable reservation with restriction. In your case you selected the later of the two.
I am truly sorry you were not satisfied with your response from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St., San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaslamp Plaza Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.