We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for an intimate Anniversary celebration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House
5054 Narragansett Ave., San Diego, CA 92107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 B&B near SEA n OB
Ranked #7 of 40 San Diego B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torrance, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for an intimate Anniversary celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Katie and Susan were very sweet, competent and friendly hosts. We only saw them at breakfast, the rest of the time we were given our privacy.

Checking in was a snap and didn't even require signing in, just picked up our key (with directions to our room) and made our way up there. Very private and charming room with bath and private balcony.

Parking is on the street only or a couple of blocks away at a public lot. No refrigerators or microwaves in the room and not allowed to use the appliances in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhalen, Owner at A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for picking our Bed Breakfast to spend your anniversary .
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
It is our policy to give all of our guests privacy.

We want you to enjoy our B&B and the Ocean Beach community with great
food- good walking paths- fun beach-wonderful antique stores within a 5 minute
walk of the Elsbree House B&B.

We hope we see you two next year (or before) on your anniversary !

Thank you for staying with us !
Katie Elsbree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    29
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
81
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a charming place and I felt very comfortable and welcomed. I booked it over the phone and had a nice visit with Katie (she has and will share lots of knowledge about Ocean Beach and San Diego). The room was very clean and had fun furnishings...the linens were great. It was very obvious that she and her husband are working hard at making all of their guests comfortable. The grounds are very well kept and there are fun things to delight the eye. Breakfast was a very pleasant experience (the fresh fruit was tasty) and the dining area was beautifully set each day. The lit fireplace in the was a special touch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhalen, Owner at A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear guests,
Thank you for staying at the Elsbree House B&B.!

What a nice review. We appreciate your kinds words.
We do work hard trying to make our little B&B near the
ocean a good experience for ALL of our guests. Our new
Comphy linens are new. We are glad you enjoyed them !
If you want to order a set of sheets or blanket please call or email us.
Phil, my hubby, works daily in the gardens. He really appreciate guests
who enjoy his handy work. Thanks for mentioning our gardens.
Susan and I always enjoy spending time with our guests at breakfast
and offering suggestions of places to play-shop and eat in Ocean Beach.

We hope you will return soon to San Diego and the
Elsbree House Bed & Breakfast near the ocean.
Katie Elsbree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I relied heavily on TripAdvisor when planning our recent month long tour of California and on the most part found reviews to be absolutely spot on. Unfortunately our only real disappointment was Elsbree House, which didn’t live up to its reputation or our expectations as one of the top-rated B&Bs in the area. Perhaps we were unlucky but, if I’m to write an honest review - whilst Ocean Beach is just a 10-15 minute drive from San Diego for exploring the city and the property is very well kept, we didn’t feel it was value for money in comparison to other places we’d stayed during our trip. Our room was a decent size but the bed extremely uncomfortable, the sheets ill-fitting and the mattress in need of replacement. Breakfast time was restricted to just an hour between 8 and 9am and a somewhat stilted affair with no variety each day - we much preferred other B&Bs which laid out a self-serve continental breakfast and left you to enjoy at your leisure - and the dining space at Elsbree House would work well for this set-up. We were forewarned that parking is a problem in the area but if you’re happy to take a spot a few blocks away and walk it’s really not a big deal.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhalen, Owner at A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking your time to evaluate us. We appreciate your feedback.
We regret you having been disappointed in our our little "B&B near the ocean in San Diego".

Our goal is to make our bed and breakfast comfortable, cozy, very clean, with a warm staff
to help with directions and suggestions where to play, shop, and eat in San Diego.

Our breakfast is from 8 to 9 am in a formal dining room with antique dishes and lace table cloths. We set the time so our guests can get a good healthy start on the day to see San Diego's many wonderful attractions. We serve hot oatmeal, granola, raisin brand cereal, hot homemade muffins, strawberry & vanilla yogurt with fresh strawberries, blueberries, & bananas on top, home made bread toasted with butter, peanut butter and jams, a fresh fruit plate, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, 10 kinds of Stash teas, and coffee. We use to have a self serve and then we found our guests prefer to be waited on and San Diego County Health Department no
longer allows guests to come into B&B our kitchen.


We have purchased all new bedding from Comphy Sheets and Blankets. Again we apologize for your disappointment in our"A Beach Bed & Breakfast" at the ELsbree House in Ocean Beach San Diego.

We will continue to strive to make our little B&B a place where people find peace, joy, comfort,
and happiness while on vacation.

Thank you again for your review.
Katie Elsbree, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I recently stayed at the Elsbree House Beach Bed and Breakfast in Ocean Beach, California. What a charming abode. The room was decorated in an old English country style. The bed was heavenly with soft sheets and a firm mattress and the bathroom was clean with both a tub and shower. Every morning Katie prepared a nice breakfast with hot coffee, fresh fruits, toast, cereal and juice. The table always looked so pretty. I had a wonderful stay and would strongly recommend the Elsbree House to anyone wanted a nice little get away right on the Pacific Ocean!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhalen, Owner at A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for staying with us.
You are the "perfect guest" !
We hope you come again soon.
Katie & Susan
"A Beach Bed & Breakfast"
Elsbree House Vacation Condo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

What a wonderful B & B. It is within a block of the ocean. You can easily walk to the ocean, to shops and to restaurants. Public transportation was very convenient. The owner and staff were very helpful in suggesting sights to see and providing informationr regarding discounts. The room was very comfortable and we had a little patio to sit on in the evening. The gardens were lovely. It was a very relaxing and restful stay, and we would definitely return. Our only suggestion would be to change up breakfast options a little. We stayed three nights and had the same breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhalen, Owner at A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. When it heats up in Arizona, come back see us! Looking forward to your return.
Katie & Cheryl, and Susan, Innkeepers
Elsbree House "A Beach Bed & Breakfast"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here 5 nights for our own holiday together in San Diego after visiting relatives in another state. What a find! A wonderfully comfortable room with ensuite bathroom and walk-in closet, writing desk, chair, comfy bed, lovely decor and "our own" little outside patio. The rooms are quiet and restful. They're not huge nor are they tiny - they're really just right!
The breakfast each morning was nicely presented, delicious and filling: yogurt & fruit, a hard-boiled egg, delicious *homemade* toast & muffins, cereal, coffee or tea, and juice. Every afternoon there were homemade cookies, and every evening chocolate mints!
There's free wireless, too!
Hostess Katie is so friendly, and is very helpful if you have any questions about where to go or what to do.
Although parking is on-street, the only day we had trouble finding a spot was our first day there, which was a sunny beach Saturday - the B&B is only half a block from the ocean, so the area is popular. We loved the area - it's full of shops, bars, and restaurants (and host Katie provides coupons for several). We felt perfectly safe at all times. We especially enjoyed the Wednesday night market and the local brewpub, "Pizza Port".
We suggest telephoning to book your room, for best rates; the website may not be completely up to date. (It took a few emails before we established that we could get "spring" rates (rather than 'summer") and a discount for staying 5 nights - would have been faster & simpler by phone, even from Australia!) . Katie is so warm and welcoming, as was everyone there!
We can't imagine a better place to stay in San Diego, and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Tip: rather than email, phone and speak to Katie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhalen, Owner at A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for staying with us a "A Beach Bed & Breakfast"
here at the Elsbree House in San Diego.!

We are happy you had a comfortable, clean, safe, and enjoyable time in our B&B in OB !

We look forward to your next visit.
Katie Elsbree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This was a real treasure by the sea! We were very much in need of a restful weekend away and this was the perfect spot! It was only a few minute walk to the beautiful ocean, beaches and pier as well as to coffee shops & great restaurants! We were pleasantly surprised to find we didn't need a rental car! We found the people all to be very friendly - especially the owners and Cheryl! Breakfasts were beautifully laid out and all attention to detail was taken~ especially the homemade bread and muffins! We found it very easy to get a cab ( only 15$) to go to downtown San Diego one night for dinner, and again very friendly service! The rooms were quaint and we had the best sleep in the most comfy sheets we have ever slept in! We felt especially blessed by the extra care taken to make me feel welcome for my birthday - a surprise flower arrangement and special cupcake - with a candle even!! We will plan to go back to stay again - an amazing weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Call & talk with the friendly Katie or Cheryl
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhalen, Owner at A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you to both of you !
it was our pleasure to have you as our guests.
We appreciate you taking your time to write a great review of "A Beach Bed & Breakfast".
We love the pictures you have posted. We are glad you had a restful and comfortable
stay at our B&B. Remember if you would like to purchase our "special sheets "
just email us. We hope you return again for your "next celebration".
Happy Memorial Day !
Katie & Cheryl, Innkeepers
Elsbree House "A Beach Bed & Breakfast"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House

Address: 5054 Narragansett Ave., San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find yourself vacationing 500 feet from the Pacific Ocean where there is a pier with a magnificent view of the ocean, a beach to the right of the pier for surfing, swimming, or relaxation, and tide pools to the left of the pier for exploring. Ocean Beach is one of the last quaint true beach towns left in southern California. Ocean Beach or "OB" is known for its laid-back, eclectic charm. You will find 98 pubs/eateries within a 5 block radius, not to mention unique boutiques and a very large antique mall. Once you park your car or take a short cab ride from the airport you may not need a vehicle. Many of our guests utilize public transportation and forego a rental car during their stay. Our location is only 5-15 minutes by car from many major attractions including the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, La Jolla, the San Diego Convention Center, Petco Park, downtown San Diego, and the airport. Public transportation is available on the third corner. Our beach B&B has five rooms: 4 with queen beds and one room with 2 twin beds, all with private baths that accommodate two people per room. We also offer a two room suite with one queen bed and two twin beds with 2 private bathrooms which accommodates up to 4 guests. All of our rooms have full baths, private balconies or patios, and private entrances. All rooms have large closets equipped with beach towels, beach chairs, personal coffee makers, refrigerators, sound sleep machines, and ironing boards/irons. Our rooms are fully stocked for any occasion you may have planned. Thank you and Come B & B our guests! Katie & Susan - Innkeepers ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elsbree House Beach Bed And Breakfast
Elsbree House Beach Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Beach Bed and Breakfast and Vacation Condo at the Elsbree House to your Saves list