We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Save
You added Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages to your Saves list
4500 Ocean Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Bishops Stortford
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a fantastic place to stay and enjoy San Diego - from the moment you arrive you feel yourself unwinding and falling in love with the cottages, the view, the sea and the sun. The cottage we had was beautiful and everything had been styled to compliment the view. As everyone notes the sleep you get whilst listening to the sea is the best my wife and I have had in a very long time - book early and stay a while

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    42
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
67
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Crystal Pier is a great place to spend the Fourth of July. It is a great place for families and the beach is awesome. The cottages are among the most unique places to stay and provide a wonderful place to spend an afternoon. The staff here is wonderful and after 19 years we've always felt welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

In Wisconsin, we call them cabins and everyone has, or knows someone who has, a cabin "up north". Crystal Pier Cottages remind me of the typical "up north' cabin. Nothing is really up to date, the cabinets and drawers don't quite close right, a little mold in the bathroom corners and a little water staining and few cracks on the ceiling somewhere. However, if you are at the lake (ocean) none of that matters! Waves crashing, birds squawking, somebody doing something on the water that is entertaining to watch. What more do you need for a relaxing, enjoyable vacation? Everything you could want was within walking distance of the Pier. Coffee shops, restaurants, groceries, and if in the mood for sushi or a tattoo or smoke shop, they had those too. I'm not sure we'll even get a car next time we come. If homeless people make you uncomfortable, you might want to re-think visiting the area. We passed a few every time we went for a stroll, and every morning there was one or 2 asleep on the beach somewhere. Not a problem for us but we were a bit surprised. The bed was too firm for my taste but not a show-stopper. We plan to be back someday.

Room Tip: The cottages farthest out on the pier have more privacy on their patios which we decided was worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It needed to be a special room as it was a weekend celebration of a milestone birthday and the Crystal Pier Hotel and Cottages delivered. The location is literally ground zero as our cottage was suspended above the Pacific Ocean below. I can't say I've ever had a better nights sleep listening to the ocean as the waves gently rocked our room. In addition to the accommodations the location, in Pacific Beach, is outstanding; plenty of coffee shops for those morning strolls along the beach, the best spicy shimp tacos I've ever tasted (Oscars on Emearld St.) and some fine late night dinning to be had along Cass Street (Enoteca Adriano & The Fishery) all within walking distance.

Room Tip: the cottages on the south side of the pier are definatly more desireable in the winter due to the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The level of amenities have changed since 1975 ( once I could see the ocean through a hole in the floor in my cabin) It remains the one place I can feel away from the crowds. I park on the pier after stocking up at the local market and don't leave. Myself and the ocean, a formless fantasy! Can't be beat, just wish I could spend more time. C,D,E,F cabins are pricey but I enjoy them the most.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel 25 years ago and we are finally back. They have remodeled these cute cabins since our first visit. The staff was all very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The cabins are a little pricey but with a kitchen available you can save money on eating in. The sound of the ocean is magical. Watching the surfers from your patio can be an all day activity. Walking the boardwalk and collecting shells in the sand all from your front door. A true beach experience. Sunsets to die for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have stayed here twice and each time we enjoyed our stay. There is nothing better than going to bed with the waves crashing below. The beds were comfortable, however, the place in general needs some updating. Since it is on a pier, I am not sure how much updating can be done, so I don't fault the property at all on that one. If you want a unique sleeping experience you can't go wrong staying on the pier.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the very end of the pier. Preferably rooms with a letter designation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

Address: 4500 Ocean Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Crystal Pier Hotel And Cottages
Crystal Pier San Diego
Crystal Pier Hotel San Diego
San Diego Crystal Pier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.