We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room says it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Save
You added Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages to your Saves list
4500 Ocean Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The room says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed for one night and it was fantastic. With a location like that just give me the room and get out of the way. It is definitely not a lux area but sleeping over the water was pretty cool. Room are nice and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    44
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed her with my daughter and my ten year granddaugher. We hade to move cabins once, but was worth it to get to stay here. You are just a short walk to the beach which you are sleeping over. The sound of the ocean is wonderful and the views are great, especially the life guards training in the morning :) We had a one bedroom that had everything you would need for a 4 night stay. There is a barbeque which we used for hot dogs, hamburgers and smores.

It is very hard to get a reservation and I have not been able to stay here again, but will keep trying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were a little worried about some of the previous reviews, but our experience at Crystal Pier was fabulous. Service was excellent. 1 bedroom cottage was very clean, with a great, hot, shower we needed after a day playing hard on the beach and at the zoo. The neighborhood is a little gritty, but not scary... and the only noise we heard was the ocean. One tip - if you plan to barbecue, pick up charcoal on the way there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

COTTAGE B ..that's where we just left.This place has been on my "bucket list" it's all I thought it would be!the 2 end studios a and b ,I think are the nicest.they are studios that are pretty large.Bed was king size and comfortable.TV ,fridge,microwave etc.I would bring your own bar of soap..they are skimpy....the place is old...but clean There are binoculars in the room...the beach town itself is pretty DIRTY and if it was not for this place...there is NO WAY we would go.The surrounding restaurants are lousy and the streets are supper grimy...We thought we were in Venice Beach....BUT THE CRYTAL PIER ROCKS!!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in the cottages out on the pier. Although they are old and expensive, you can't beat the location. Beautiful Pacific Beach, San Diego, directly over the water! Many bars and places to eat within walking distance. Office staff is #1.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A great get away place. Stayed three days with friends on the Pier, what a wonderful place. The only view is the ocean and the only sounds are crashing waves to lull you to sleep. The staff is busy, busy taking care of everyones needs. GREAT PEOPLE! So impressed with this place we're headed back for lobster season. Everything is in walking distance so you get lots of exercise and great food and drinks too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

OMG you can walk everywhere. Take a stroll down the beach or on the boardwalk. Not a better spot to view the sunset than @ the end of the pier.Restaurants are all good & many have daily specials for either breakfast or dinner. Cottages are well maintained& each has it's own little deck for watching the dolphins & many birds. Not cheap but where else can you live on a pier!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

Address: 4500 Ocean Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Crystal Pier Hotel And Cottages
Crystal Pier San Diego
Crystal Pier Hotel San Diego
San Diego Crystal Pier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.