We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great feel and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Save
You added Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages to your Saves list
4500 Ocean Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great feel and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you are seeking a relaxing experience with the feel of a beach cottage, away from it all, but with the convenience of a good hotel, and the proximity of restaurants, shops,etc, then this is the place to spend some time.
Superb location, all you need for real relaxation, with the sounds of the ocean everywhere.
We will come back!,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    52
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a great 5-day stay. The cottage was clean and had everything you would need (including binoculars to watch the dophins & ships). The staff was friendly and helpful. They ordered us a towncar to take us back to the airport for $35 which was the same as the price for the cab that we took to the hotel.

We had breakfast right outside the gate at Kono's every morning. The food was great & not expensive. The view off of the cottage deck was so good that you didn't need to go far for entertainment and the restaurants within a couple of blocks were plentiful and good. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: A south-facing deck allowed for the maximum amount of sun when the temps weren't all that high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Vintage pier cottages, nothing like it anywhere. Would definitely stay again and recommend as well. We took a great cottage near the end of the pier. Only things to think about, the cottages do move/shake 24/7 from the waves, but once you get used to, fine (I made a comment that we wouldn't know if there was an earthquake and literally, 5 min later, an alert on my iPhone said there was one in Devore!!!), and the waves can be a bit constant and loud at times. BUT you go here for that experience anyway. Clean, nicely kept, great location, great view, can't say enough nice things. No amenities, but who needs them, no room service etc, except housekeeping and that was great. Our own private deck.
Location is great but this is real beach-town vs resort. Worth the getaway.
Great restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Service is minimal, staff is nice. Free wi-fi.
Very unique.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

What a great find,
employees were very friendly even their pet dogs trained you quickly to hand them a treat.
The Cottages were simply perfect. Hearing the waves underneath you was a wonderful way to go to sleep.
Sitting out on the pier in your own private space made us so relaxed we did not venture far.
I look forward to coming back for many years.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage "E"..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Book early to avid disappointment - We stayed on the pier with some friends as 2 families in April. We had to book 6 months in advance to get 2 cottages side by side.
Well appointed cottages located on a 1920's Pier on Pacific Beach. Close to many restaurants, the Hotel offers real peace and tranquility - The manager couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant experience. If you want to have a different place to stay that offers well appointed rooms at a reasonable price, you won't go far wrong with the Crystal Pier.

Room Tip: The pier faces slightly South of due West, so a room on the North Side of the Pier will get you view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Cottage 12, big, comfortable, complete amenities. Comfortable linens, enough towels, tissue paper, pots and pans, plates, utensils, knives all you need to prepare your food. There's a microwave, stove top,refrigerator, coffee maker, binoculars too. It was a great spot because we were near the exit area and the surf was high so we did not feel "danger. I guess if there is a high surf warning, our place was the perfect place to be.The veranda is great for relaxation and BBQ with chairs and lounge chairs for all. The view is great from this side also. Just a very short walk and you will be down the beach and you can walk to your cottage without any problems. One of a kind vertigo kind of feeling when the waves hit the pier. It is a complete comfort to have your car in front of your cottage too.
Stayed April 1-3, 2012. It was cold(bring sweaters if you come April) and the end of the pier was closed due to high surf but it turned out to be a very good advantage because we did not have people walking in and out of the pier. Only the residents can come and go. Loved the place! Will definitely come back! It is difficult to book because only a few rooms are available and you have to call to book. No online booking.I was lucky to get a booking 2 months before my visit but they say it is good to book 1 yr ahead. To save more, just bring food to cook, all the things you need will be in the cottage. Ask for a bbq grill when you arrive. Bring your own charcoal. It was like home away from home. A bit pricey $235/night weekdays for a 1 bedroom cottage but if you prepare your food there, you don't have to spend more. Great walking area around the place so bring your rubber shoes. Close to ralphs, 7-11 for all your needs.

Room Tip: Go get the cottages near the office if you are not sure if you want to feel the waves too much. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I had talked about this for years as we have lived in SD since 1991, but my birthday this March was it. Arriving Friday at 2:00 p.m., we enjoyed the sunshine and the wind, and immediately headed for the deck and a couple of beers to relax, take in the views, walk to the end of the pier, and back for more beer. Cottage D on the north side had great views of the beach, surfers, paddle boarders, and kite surfers. Cottage was great, neat and clean - separate living area and kitchen from the bedroom. Watched the sunset Fri. night, then to local bar (710 Beach Club & Sports Bar) in front of the hotel's entrance for burgers. Unbeknownst to me, it was a Chicago sports themed place, with banners from all recent championships. And I'm from Chicago, so that was excellent. Friday night we fell asleep to the sound and feel of the waves breaking under us! The place actually shook. Saturday we awoke and had coffee and coffee cake on the deck, and read. Then, Saturday afternoon delight, and some time on the beach before my birthday dinner at "JRDN" only a half block down the beach! Superb. (Interestingly enough for htis Chicagoan, JRDN's had a large white "23" on the side of the building. Hmmm). Sunday morning more coffee and treats on the deck before departure. A great weekend, but rooms a little steep at $275/nt - but have to pay for something that unique! Check that off the bucket list!

Room Tip: I would think the further out toward the ocean you can get would be best. But, those are the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

Address: 4500 Ocean Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Crystal Pier Hotel And Cottages
Crystal Pier San Diego
Crystal Pier Hotel San Diego
San Diego Crystal Pier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.