We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campland by the Bay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Campland on the Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campland on the Bay
Save
You added Campland on the Bay to your Saves list
2211 Pacific Beach Dr., San Diego, CA 92109-5699 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call us for Availability
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Campland by the Bay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The website looks so good. I was expecting so much. The place is really ran down. The campsites are tinny and the ground is a mess. The bathrooms are very clean I have to say. It was OK but I don't think we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    18
    17
    24
See reviews for
81
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a camp ground that is one of the cleanest I've seen. The ice cream store/mini restaurant needs some help but the whole camping experience is great. Bathrooms are cleaned several times a day, and staff on site is so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my wife have camped and bag rolled on holidays for many years, last year we slept on the desert floor in a canvas sleeping roll with the stars for company, and my wife and I loved it.

About five years ago we slept in a dovecott in france with spiders dropping onto us all night followed by a few nights in a tent with mice running under the groundsheet at night, this we had little of no worries about.

Therefore when I tell you my wife burst into tears at the thought of the four nights I had booked for us here you will have some idea how bad it is.

We were in an RV and pushed onto a site covered in ants, which unfortunaley were not put off by the litter and discarded nappies that had not been cleaned up by the wardens or the previous occupants.

I read before booking of another British family who thought this was a disgusting site, but I was swayed by the years of holidaying here by more local members.

I can only say that British and American levels of quality may differ.

The beach was a great disapointment, and the only food bar and shop close at 7.00.

We did get to switch sites, but no cleaning was done until we were about to leave.

The facilities were always dirty, apart from the laundry (which was the highlight of the stay)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

You are going to be given a tiny patch of dirt with no shade on top of your neighbors. You will have to fit both your car and your tent into this spot. Our neighbors were big families of 6-8 people camping in several tents and having a huge truck, so when in the morning I was leaving my tent I was bumping into their tale gate. No privacy WHATSOEVER. Terrible experience. Loved San Diego though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very popular RV park for the young crowd...fueled by beer, this RV park becomes a loud and rowdy place. The park staff encourage this, so if you are camping as a family, and you do not like to party hearty, avoid this place.

The park spaces are not all that great either. They have 50 amps but most are narrow and dirt. Most are too short for a large motor home. Prices are high as well.

Would not recommend this spot any time of year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a urban campground, with lots of activities, were you can set up a tent or rv, on dirt right next to someone else. It is crowded, noise all around, But most of the families that come here know that, and the kids and teens have fun! So if you want solitude, woods, stars, ect, head inland and go to a campground in the woods. But if you want to swim in a pool, dance to a band on a fri or sat. night, drink a cold one, get on your pc, drive over to sea world next door, roast a marsh mellow with a few hundred other people... this is fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed there a week in late July 2012 while in town for a family wedding. It was a great location, but it's a big noisy, crowded parking lot. The bathrooms are fairly clean considering the amount of people. They seriously enforce the 11 pm noise curfew which was good. Unsupervised kids are running, biking, and skateboarding everywhere. The private beach was so crowded we didn't even attempt to use it. Beware if you want to bring a pitbull or rotweiler or even a mixed pit or rottie. It doesn't matter how well behaved your dog is, they don't allow these breeds in their park. However, they do allow poorly behaved dogs of all other breeds. We wouldn't ever return to this park.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campland on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campland on the Bay

Address: 2211 Pacific Beach Dr., San Diego, CA 92109-5699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 568
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campland on the Bay is San Diego's premiere campground. Dig your toes in the sand on our private beach. Catch some sun and fun on a sailboat from our marina. Enjoy one of dozens of activities and amenities for kids and adults that make Campland everyone's favorite. You'll find hookups for RVs, spaces for tent camping and luxury amenties. With so much to do and enjoy you may never want to leave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campland On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Campland Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campland on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.