We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Secure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Bay RV Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Bay RV Resort
Save
You added Mission Bay RV Resort to your Saves list
2727 De Anza Rd, San Diego, CA (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Friendly and Secure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Mission Beach has a great location right on the bay and close to Mission Bay Park. The park is clean with good security in place. Grab your bikes and go for a nice ride in Mission Bay Park. Close to I-5 so makes getting around easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
las vegas, NV
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The title sums it up. Located right off of the I-5 Freeway it is easy to get to everywhere. I read a bunch of reviews and expected to hate this place, but in the end, it just left me a little flat. We stayed in space 52 which had a great view of the Bay, but we were facing the wrong way to see it. The place was tight; apparently some evil architect was ordered to squeeze as many units into this parking lot as humanly possible. The laundry room was ridiculously small; only plan on folding hankies and panties in that place. We were traveling in a 40 foot RV (The intrepid Berkie) and were parked next to a beautiful and massive Newell RV. In order to attend to some of the ignoble necessities of RV'ing, I had to stand within inches of our neighbor's picnic table and make small talk while donning rubber gloves to relieve our RV. It made for awkward dinner conversation. The wifi was poor, the staff was aloof, and the maintenance on the park was below par. An acceptable base station if you don't plan to linger too long a "B-" at best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbkhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We go here about 1-2 times a year we go here if we can't squeeze into Campland... I perfer this park myself my family prefers Campland. There isn't a lot to do here for kids it's more for retired folks and adults without young kids. There's their bay infront and that's about it. Other then bike rides or heading to the beach.. I enjoy it because it's quieter and a nicer crowd here. Slower passed. And now there's the bridge they have that connects both parks so you don't have to travel the streets anymore that's real nice. Showers and laundry rooms are much nicer here as well and the best part to me is the price it's more affordable then Campland!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sanglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our family stays here for Christmas and we always love it. It is beautiful and the bay is gorgeous. There is also fantastic birding at this location and in the bay, if you are into that. The location is ok, depending on where you want to go.

Room Tip: Get a spot on the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerHannieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Even tho it is a big paved lot...We still come here once a month from Arizona. The location can't be
Beat and the proximity to EVERYTHING is wonderful. Great bike paths right to the ocean! May not be the best for families, tho i see plenty of kids on bikes...it is perfect for couples. Check out the bayside sites and the sunsets!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed for 2 months, mid November to mid January as a solo traveler in a 27 foot trailer. I compared this one with other closeby resorts and this is the best one, in my opinion, for the Mission Bay location. Right out the locked back gate is a biking and walking trail that is right on the Bay where just gorgeous sunsets happen almost daily. You can walk or bike over to the Mission Bay trails in a few minutes, trails that can go 15 miles or so. Grocers and fast foods only a few miles uphill and you are close to other sights. The rv sites are wider than most other campgrounds nearby and there are some grassy areas on the ends of park and some behind the trailers. Restrooms are old but kept clean. Laundry rooms are older and small for size of resort but have newer machines and are kept clean.During the Thanksgiving and Winter Holidays it is almost completely filled so book early. The resort policy is that you must leave for at least 1 day every 30 days. This is inconvenient but the neighboring large resort requires 3 days out before a return. A big plus is the security team that seems on the ball with frequent drive through checks. They are very friendly also. This is a fairly quiet campground. The staff are fine and try to accommodate. I was personally assisted backing in, and assisted backing up to my hitch since I am a solo traveler. That was appreciated. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanalover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Okay, so this isn't a "kid's camp" resort but it suits us retirees to a tee! The spots are paved but there is a little strip of grass behind the units. We like the location, the security and the cleanliness. I will admit that the laundry room I was in was pretty tight - there were three of us trying to do laundry and we couldn't all fit in at once but we did get to know one another! The front office staff were very helpful and professional. The prices are reasonable. We have stayed here twice and both times the staff helped us get a spot deep in the park, furthest away from the traffic on I-5 and this meant little noise at night. While there are no fire rings at the sites, you can rent one and have a contained fire. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask to get further into the park for less noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#119 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#87 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Bay RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Bay RV Resort

Address: 2727 De Anza Rd, San Diego, CA
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Mission Bay Rv Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing