We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Secure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Bay RV Resort

Mission Bay RV Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Bay RV Resort
Save Saved
You added Mission Bay RV Resort to your Saves list
2727 De Anza Rd, San Diego, CA (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Friendly and Secure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Mission Beach has a great location right on the bay and close to Mission Bay Park. The park is clean with good security in place. Grab your bikes and go for a nice ride in Mission Bay Park. Close to I-5 so makes getting around easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
las vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The title sums it up. Located right off of the I-5 Freeway it is easy to get to everywhere. I read a bunch of reviews and expected to hate this place, but in the end, it just left me a little flat. We stayed in space 52 which had a great view of the Bay, but we were facing the wrong way to see it. The place was tight; apparently some evil architect was ordered to squeeze as many units into this parking lot as humanly possible. The laundry room was ridiculously small; only plan on folding hankies and panties in that place. We were traveling in a 40 foot RV (The intrepid Berkie) and were parked next to a beautiful and massive Newell RV. In order to attend to some of the ignoble necessities of RV'ing, I had to stand within inches of our neighbor's picnic table and make small talk while donning rubber gloves to relieve our RV. It made for awkward dinner conversation. The wifi was poor, the staff was aloof, and the maintenance on the park was below par. An acceptable base station if you don't plan to linger too long a "B-" at best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We go here about 1-2 times a year we go here if we can't squeeze into Campland... I perfer this park myself my family prefers Campland. There isn't a lot to do here for kids it's more for retired folks and adults without young kids. There's their bay infront and that's about it. Other then bike rides or heading to the beach.. I enjoy it because it's quieter and a nicer crowd here. Slower passed. And now there's the bridge they have that connects both parks so you don't have to travel the streets anymore that's real nice. Showers and laundry rooms are much nicer here as well and the best part to me is the price it's more affordable then Campland!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our family stays here for Christmas and we always love it. It is beautiful and the bay is gorgeous. There is also fantastic birding at this location and in the bay, if you are into that. The location is ok, depending on where you want to go.

Room Tip: Get a spot on the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Even tho it is a big paved lot...We still come here once a month from Arizona. The location can't be
Beat and the proximity to EVERYTHING is wonderful. Great bike paths right to the ocean! May not be the best for families, tho i see plenty of kids on bikes...it is perfect for couples. Check out the bayside sites and the sunsets!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed for 2 months, mid November to mid January as a solo traveler in a 27 foot trailer. I compared this one with other closeby resorts and this is the best one, in my opinion, for the Mission Bay location. Right out the locked back gate is a biking and walking trail that is right on the Bay where just gorgeous sunsets happen almost daily. You can walk or bike over to the Mission Bay trails in a few minutes, trails that can go 15 miles or so. Grocers and fast foods only a few miles uphill and you are close to other sights. The rv sites are wider than most other campgrounds nearby and there are some grassy areas on the ends of park and some behind the trailers. Restrooms are old but kept clean. Laundry rooms are older and small for size of resort but have newer machines and are kept clean.During the Thanksgiving and Winter Holidays it is almost completely filled so book early. The resort policy is that you must leave for at least 1 day every 30 days. This is inconvenient but the neighboring large resort requires 3 days out before a return. A big plus is the security team that seems on the ball with frequent drive through checks. They are very friendly also. This is a fairly quiet campground. The staff are fine and try to accommodate. I was personally assisted backing in, and assisted backing up to my hitch since I am a solo traveler. That was appreciated. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Okay, so this isn't a "kid's camp" resort but it suits us retirees to a tee! The spots are paved but there is a little strip of grass behind the units. We like the location, the security and the cleanliness. I will admit that the laundry room I was in was pretty tight - there were three of us trying to do laundry and we couldn't all fit in at once but we did get to know one another! The front office staff were very helpful and professional. The prices are reasonable. We have stayed here twice and both times the staff helped us get a spot deep in the park, furthest away from the traffic on I-5 and this meant little noise at night. While there are no fire rings at the sites, you can rent one and have a contained fire. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask to get further into the park for less noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Bay RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Bay RV Resort

Address: 2727 De Anza Rd, San Diego, CA
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Mission Bay Rv Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Bay RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.