We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Plays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Globe Theatre

Old Globe Theatre
1363 Old Globe Way, San Diego, CA 92101 (Balboa Park)
619-234-5623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 193 Attractions in San Diego
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nation's top regional theaters, the Old Globe continues to draw more than 300,000 people annually.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Professional Plays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love watching Shakespeare come alive at the Old Globe Theatre, and it is the main reason I watch plays at this venue. The Globe has the most talented actors and directors, and I especially love their $20 under 30 program. I honestly have no complaints about this venue at all since going there always makes my night so much better. Venue is ideal for dates.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    68
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“No Bad Seat in the House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went and saw Bethany at the Old Globe. We were actually in the Sheryl & Harvey White Theatre which was a little disappointing because I didn't realize that there were different theatre's at Old Globe. So we were not officially in the "Old Globe". But regardless, this theatre was round and we paid for the "cheap seats" as opposed to the more expensive ones. That being said, I believe that it really didn't matter, the theatre is so small and intimate that there is no bad seat in the house. The show was great and I wished that I lived locally so I could go and see more. The walk to the theatre was nice too – through Balboa Park. Just a quick hint though – if you wanted to grab a quick dessert or something before you went into the theater – for some reason why sell out quick so don’t place your heart on anything in particular unless you get there early. They advise you get there an hour in advance – we did and still missed out on the “good desserts”. But that really isn’t the point of the experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Winter's Tale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We caught a production in February 2014. I really enjoyed the seating - we had a balcony spot. There was food & drink available just outside the theatre which is located in lovely Balboa Park. The only down side is that it's a bit out of the way, which means public transportation can be a challenge so plan accordingly. Enjoy the show!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

All seats are excellent. The play was on the dark side, but the theater experience was top-notch. Highly recommended..

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Went and saw The Grinch Who Stole Christmas. Was the one of the best plays I have ever seen. Would go to San Diego to see it again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Old Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Globe Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.