We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Globe Theatre

Old Globe Theatre
1363 Old Globe Way, San Diego, CA 92101 (Balboa Park)
619-234-5623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 188 Attractions in San Diego
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nation's top regional theaters, the Old Globe continues to draw more than 300,000 people annually.
New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dont spend your evening sitting in the hotel watching TV. Go see a performance in an out door venue where you can get a cider. But it is outdoors, even in August you need a jacket for the cool evenings. Locals know the deal and take blanket.

Only problem is the nearby eatery is just a snack/sandwich place. Go eat a big lunch the evening you go to a performance. It is located in Balboa Park, so after you find a parking spot, you will have to walk a bit to get to the theater. Not enough time if you go to a restaurant and try to get to the theater before curtain up.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    68
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Midsummer Night's Dream at the Old Globe Theatre was fabulous!
Every minute was VERY engaging. The cast members were multi-talented both acting and tech. The stadium seating was fine. We were glad we brought coats and blankets since the evenings are chilly, even in the summer. Hope to attend again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Tony-Award Winning Regional Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Anytime is a good time to visit The Old Globe Theatre. During the summer, three theatres are in operation: a large main stage, a small arena stage, and the outdoor Festival Stage where three plays are done in repertory. The repertory typically includes to Shakespeare plays and a third, more contemporary piece. Staging on all stages ranges from brilliantly creative to absolutely magical. Actors with excellent stage, film, and TV credentials are featured along with topnotch directors and designers. Centered in Balboa Park, this is the place for an evening or matinee of outstanding theatre. Backstage tours are also available for visitors. Simply call the theatre office to find out whether one is being offered during your stay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Live Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

There are three separate theatres in Balboa Park and we only managed to attend one performance. It was an excellent performance of Double Indemnity. I imagine the other plays are of the same caliber. The location is easy to get to by bus and the park itself is interesting and free.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a good theatrical experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'll be honest. I'm not overly in love with the Globe. I have other favorite theaters. Nevertheless, although I didn't renew my annual subscription this year, I'd did buy one for the Summer. I have no fault with the choice of plays, the actors or the theaters. However, it is very difficult to get a good to great seat in general. The patronage of the theater is very strong and because of that it just isn't possible to break into the first 1/3 of the orchestra seats. I've tried, but I'm always way to far back to really enjoy the performances. Also, be warned, the theater is cold. They do tell you to bring a sweater or something to keep you warm and you should. Sometimes it is so cold that you can't enjoy the play. I go to the theater in San Diego two to threes times per month, so I'm not unaware of the offerings. I think for your money the Cygnet is an excellent alternative to the Globe. Also, parking is nothing short of a nightmare on week-ends at Balboa Park.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Old Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Globe Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.