We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time no matter which theater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Globe Theatre

Old Globe Theatre
1363 Old Globe Way, San Diego, CA 92101 (Balboa Park)
619-234-5623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 245 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Theaters, Performances
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nation's top regional theaters, the Old Globe continues to draw more than 300,000 people annually.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic time no matter which theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have been fortunate to see Shakespeare in the outdoor theater and another excellent show in the small theater in the round. I would say there is not a bad seat in either and the entertainment value is a 10.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    68
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful space and grounds, great productions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've seen two shows at the Old Globe and had a great time during each visit. Both shows have been in the enclosed theatre, which has a distinct 60s/70s vibe on the interior, but it doesn't take away from the productions. Seats are comfortable and the house is set up so that there really aren't any bad seats (and their online ticketing process is great-- you can actually choose to see what the stage will look like from the seat you pick). The theatre grounds are beautiful and the buildings evoke the British theatre from which it takes its name.

Their productions are top-notch and if you get to the theatre early, you can take in some of Balboa Park first, making for a perfect outing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Located in Balboa Park where excellent plays are given.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The location is prefect and it is a replica of the Old Globe Theatre in England. They have both old and new plays there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“Love the Old Globe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have seen many plays over the years. The outdoor theater is my favorite. Go, you will love it! The location in balboa park is a must visit. We go to San Diego several times a year, usually for a month at a time, and never miss a visit to the Old Globe complex.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California, United States
1 review
“Family Yelling Plays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Almost every play seem to be about family members yelling at each other. Why the Globe keeps putting these on, is beyond me. If it wasn't for my wife, I'd leave the theater within minutes for a least half the plays they put on. Yelling in not "ENTERTAINING"!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Old Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Globe Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.