We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Globe Theatre

Old Globe Theatre
1363 Old Globe Way, San Diego, CA 92101 (Balboa Park)
619-234-5623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 500 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nation's top regional theaters, the Old Globe continues to draw more than 300,000 people annually.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Old Globe is one of the leading regional theatres in the U.S. (won the regional Tony a few years back). Many new musicals go from the Globe to Broadway. The Globe stages an excellent Shakespeare festival in the summer (the cast performs three shows in repertory), and the fall through spring season is a feast of classics, contemporary theatre, musicals, and the Christmas children's classic "How the Grinch Stole Christmas". If you're a San Diego resident, you should go -- a lot. If you're a tourist, be sure to include a trip to the Globe in your visit to San Diego.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    69
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved the Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited the Old Globe theatre to see "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder" and it was a wonderful experience. The show was very funny and cleverly written and we both enjoyed it very much. The Old Globe is a beautiful theatre and well worth a visit. We walked across the bridge into Balboa park and all lit up at night it was a beautiful sight. I did have some difficulty purchasing tickets online from Australia as the website would not accept an Australian address so I ended up putting in a friends US address and then it was fine. I just picked the tickets up at the box office so it didn't actually need my address. I did eventually ask them via email to change that and they did.

Our tickets were incredibly cheap (I think $35 each) for far right seats near the front but there don't appear to be any bad seats so we were happy with the cheaper price. We also secured a discount at Inn at the Park via the Globe Theatre website so look out for the promo code before booking accommodation.

"A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder" finished shortly after our visit but if you see this show somewhere else and you enjoy musical theatre I would highly recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Intimate Theater in a Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been visiting the Old Globe frequently over the last several years. The productions are generally first rate, the theater and seating is intimate and comfortable, and the setting, in Balboa Park, is lovely. What a oleasant way to spend an afternoon or evening.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, USA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great play in a great space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I saw the world premiere of the play "the Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder". A fantastic play in a fantastic space! It was a little pricey, but worth it. Not to mention all the free things you can do before the play in Balboa Park. Best day of the vacation. Tip- If you come early around 5 o'clock, you can get great parking. Also there are very cheap eats at the expensive Prada restaurant. It's a great restaurant with a great happy hour from 4 to 6.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great theater experiences!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Old Globe in Balboa Park is the premire venue for SanDiego theater and they have multiple options each night from a larger theater to one in the round. There is even a light snack venue outside. Great value for thequaity of the performances.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Old Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Globe Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.