We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in San Diego and the crowds prove it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Deli

Sushi Deli
228 W Washington St, San Diego, CA
(619) 231-9597‎
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #919 of 4,168 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Best sushi in San Diego and the crowds prove it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We passed by Sushi Deli (there are 3 of them in San Diego) and the place was packed - at 2:00 PM. That caught our attention. So we tried it and found the quality to be excellent, the variety surpassed anything we have seen, and the price is right. We spent 60% of what we normally spend at other sushi restaurants. The service is very attentive, atmosphere was ecelctic and energizing,food was great, price was right. Any more to know?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must visit if you love sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Even if you only like sushi, check it out! By far the best sushi we've ever had, and what great service! There was about a 15 minute wait to get in, but oh so worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Fantastic Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This place has great sushi at unbelievably affordable prices. They also have very good noodle dishes. Service is fast, the music is loud, and the vibe is energetic and fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Sushi at Burger King prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We love this place! First of all, be prepared to wait. There is a line almost every night to get sat, but they do get you in and served quickly. You write your name on a sheet and wait for your turn. I do not understand how they can serve such great sushi for such a reasonable price. I try something different every time I am there and have not found anything I did not like. Can be a little noisy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sushi at a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Opens at 5 o'clock and a line will form immediately to eat here. Music and staff are great, place can get very crowded and loud, good thing the music is good. Not recommended for children. It does seem they have a lot of rolls with a Mexican/salsa twist so if you are feeling adventurous without breaking the bank this place is great. I love the Verano Roll and the Ensenada Roll.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Deli also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.