We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Currant American Brasserie

Currant American Brasserie
140 W Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
619.702.6309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Currant American Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #314 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: First and Front Street
Description: Currant, open for lunch, dinner and brunch (Saturdays & Sundays) blends New American cuisine by Chef Walter Manikowski with French flare. Currant offers fantastic ambience and decor including an outdoor dining patio. Currant Lounge is the perfect spot to unwind, sip and watch your favorite sporting event.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate there twice due to staying at the Sophia. Each time the food was good. Appetizers were excellent and the prices cheaper than I was expecting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    63
    23
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Happy Hour, Happy Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good HH specials that runs most of the night (except 7-9, I believe). If you like Mac 'n Cheese...GO FOR IT! Bar food with a definite upscale twist!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ask for Kyle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Kyle the bartender was very accommodating on a recent group happy hour to this streetside cafe. It is too noisy on the street for my taste but the inside is nice. I would skip the duck confit popcorn - I like duck confit and popcorn, but the combination was not a hit to anyone in our group. The calamari on the other hand was excellent and I ate way too much of it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on Open Table. Decided to try it out even though it's slightly off the beaten path from the gas lamp district. It was packed and now I know for good reason. Everyone one at our table thoroughly enjoyed their meals and the prices are refreshingly reasonable. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Must Every Time We Visit San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great atmosphere and food. Friendly service. I feel like I've been transported "across the pond" and back in time--there's a real European feel to the decor. We make it a point to eat here every time we are in San Diego.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Currant American Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Currant American Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Currant American Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.