We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11

Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11
1551 Shelter Island Drive, Kona Kai Resort and Marina, San Diego, CA 92106
+1 619-255-4705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 327 Activities in San Diego
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Public and private 3 hour sailing charters aboard the authentic 1992 America's Cup racing yacht, Stars & Stripes USA-11. Take the helm, grind the winches, or just hang on as this amazing high performance racer zips around San Diego Bay at twice the speed of the average sailboat. A truly unique and memorable experience. Soft drinks, water, peanuts, & pretzels are provided at no cost. Bring your owns cameras, but a crew member will be taking photos & videos of on board activities as well as the sights of San Diego Bay. After the sail, complimentary refreshments are served while viewing the days activities on our large screen monitor. The photos & videos will then be posted on Picasa Web Album for free access and use. The total cost of $100 for adults & $50 for children (18 & under) is the best value and most exciting venue on San Diego Bay.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vancouver, WA
1 review
“Great experience, Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our group of 18 company presidents and spouses booked Stars and Stripes USA-11 for an afternoon in September. A big hit. Lynn and his crew are great hosts, and the boat is a top-shelf real racing boat. The great thing about San Diego harbor, and this sailboat, is the easy action on the water, not the stuff that makes folks feel seasick. I'd rate this as a great way to experience real big-boat sailing without spending a million bucks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Kept San Diego Secret!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My daughter wanted to go out on a sailboat to get a true experience of sailing. I came across the Stars and Stripes USA-11 by accident. What a top notch crew. The whole experience was unbelievable. We had a great time taking the helm as well as learning what it takes to smooth sailing. This is on my list for when company comes to town! We enjoyed every minute of it!
Thank you Captain Lynn and All of the crew members!!
Dean C.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great crew. Well organized. Fantastic boat. Amazing how we had a great sail even on a relatively calm day. Definitely worth a try... novice or seasoned sailor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Sailed today on Stars and Stripes 11 what a great way to spend the afternoon. The crew were fantastic keeping us informed of what they were doing and involving us in the setup and sailing as well. Skipper John let each of us have a turn at sailing which was a great experience. Best views of the harbour and the city anyone could have. A must do when in San Diego would do it again and again. Thanks guys it was the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a great team building event! The crew was amazing - their sailing skills were incredible and so was their hospitality. As novices, we learned a bit about sailing as well as the historic boat we were on. We partook in the work required to get this boat under sail, getting some first hand experience. The crew took pictures and video of the event and provided it to the participants at no additional cost. It was refreshing to have this offered at the end of an event like this instead of being "nickeled and dimed" for more money after the trip is over. It was fun to share a cold beverage with our "mates" as we came back into port. This was truly a world class experience I can highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 also viewed

 

Been to Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.