We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Hut

Crab Hut
4646 Convoy Street, Suite 106A, San Diego, CA 92111
(858)565-1678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #272 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a tiny hole in the wall which is well worth the 3 block hike from the car once you find parking. I suggest the full mixture of flavor in your bag of goodies! Service is great, price is right. I suggest this little gem to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Crab Hut is a fun place with delicious seafood in a casual atmosphere. It is located in a strip mall packed with locals in a non-touristy area of San Diego.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place is the best seafood restaurant I have found on a long ttime. Reasonably priced, Great Service, and yummy Food.
Great Oysters, great seafood combos ! Ten out of Ten for those who enjoy seafood in a rustic setting with plastic bibs and a shopping mall venue. i will be back !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blew away my already high expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

With a rental car for just one night I did my research and decided to give Crab Hut a try. It was highly rated on this site and also Zagat rated, so it had to be decent. I was surprised to find out this restaurant was in the corner of a strip mall, but don't be fooled - this place is legit. I had the SnS that came with snow crab legs, shrimp, sausage, corn and potatoes. Everything was cooked in their house sauce (a mix of garlic butter, cajun and lemon pepper). It was served in a bag, no plate no silverware, just good old fashion digging in with your hands. Paired with a good selection of local beers I couldn't have been happier. Super fresh, fantastic food. I'll be back the next time I'm in town - it's definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We heard about this place through this website. During our vacation ee decided to try it out. The crawfish was tasty and perfect. It had a nice spicy taste. We also had fish and chips which were amazing. The atmosphere was great filled with a nice balance of families and young people. You can tell this is a local hot spot

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Hut also viewed

 

Been to Crab Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.