We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Hut

Crab Hut
1007 5th Ave. #101, San Diego, CA 92111
619.234.0628.
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab Hut is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 3,705 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Crab Hut is a fun place with delicious seafood in a casual atmosphere. It is located in a strip mall packed with locals in a non-touristy area of San Diego.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    59
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy cajon crab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is AMAZING! However you come here for the crab crawfish mussels etc. some ppl complain that their pastas and jambalaya a are "so-so" lol umm this is a crab restaurant! That's your problem right there! Their crab is out of this world yum! I usually come here with a group of ppl, since its always fun ordering buckets and sharing it with the table. For 3 ppl their $60 assorted bucket is a good amount of food. Also I can handle heat but I got a 3 and towards the end it's ridiculously hot, so eat at your own risk! Other than that, I love their crawfish and mussels. Their crab is great too but get ready to get messy! Don't wear your nice clothes because you will walk out smelling like crab hut... That's how you know it's good!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place is the best seafood restaurant I have found on a long ttime. Reasonably priced, Great Service, and yummy Food.
Great Oysters, great seafood combos ! Ten out of Ten for those who enjoy seafood in a rustic setting with plastic bibs and a shopping mall venue. i will be back !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“awesome seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I loved the dungeoness crab, the calamari was very good never had it serve that way. my boyfriend thought that the mussels were to dam hot/ he was accommodated with another dish

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Blew away my already high expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

With a rental car for just one night I did my research and decided to give Crab Hut a try. It was highly rated on this site and also Zagat rated, so it had to be decent. I was surprised to find out this restaurant was in the corner of a strip mall, but don't be fooled - this place is legit. I had the SnS that came with snow crab legs, shrimp, sausage, corn and potatoes. Everything was cooked in their house sauce (a mix of garlic butter, cajun and lemon pepper). It was served in a bag, no plate no silverware, just good old fashion digging in with your hands. Paired with a good selection of local beers I couldn't have been happier. Super fresh, fantastic food. I'll be back the next time I'm in town - it's definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Hut also viewed

 

Been to Crab Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.