We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Hut

Crab Hut
1007 5th Ave. #101, San Diego, CA 92111
619.234.0628.
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab Hut is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #246 of 4,133 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We heard about this place through this website. During our vacation ee decided to try it out. The crawfish was tasty and perfect. It had a nice spicy taste. We also had fish and chips which were amazing. The atmosphere was great filled with a nice balance of families and young people. You can tell this is a local hot spot

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    51
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Susanville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Family owned restaurant... I had the most amazing king crab legs ever! It was a little pricey, but worth every penny.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a crab combo which consisted of two types of crab legs, potatoes and corn on the cob. We didn't know what to expect but knew it would be a messy affair when the server gave us bibs and gloves. The crab legs were massive and the flavours were out if this world. The crab was fresh and the meat was easy to access. This place is a definite must if you visit San Diego!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Crab Hut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

While visiting the Gaslamp area in San Diego, my friend wanted to eat Dungeness crab for dinner. We were able to find one restaurant that had it on the menu - Crab Hut. The food was great as well as the service and the prices were reasonable. It was worth the trip going there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OMG! This place was even better than I could imagine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friends who live in the area brought us there and told us what it was. The Crab Hut! CRAB, who wouldn't love that? It was so much more than that. I ordered clams, crawfish, snow crab and it was all in delivered in individual "baggies". All the flavors were in each bag - the herbs and spices. They always ordered theirs with the Full House, which was every spice offered. I ate every bite and left there as "happy as a clam"! I'm not even sure where that colloquialism was invented but I was HAPPY! If you love seafood and you really only want the best without all the pomp and circumstance, this is the place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Hut also viewed

 

Been to Crab Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.